We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
Ranked #120 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel compared to the palace next door just in terms of lobby and general I pression is very poor like a low 3 star hotel. The rooms are quite small for the location and the furniture and carpeting is just horrible looks like 20 years old. I had to call housekeeping 3 times to get all the bathroom amenities as every time I needed to use something I found it was missing. Plus they told me no conditioner is available they finally gave me one from the palace. The so called spa is very poor with small rooms and a tiny changing room. The lobby bar has no skilled bartender they do not even know how to make a cosmopolitan ..... And my room had a view of the street and was noisy...

Room Tip: Not with a view of the street for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    320
    149
    67
    45
See reviews for
140
374
68
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel. The moment you arrive you are treated with the greatest respect. Doors are opened, luggage is taken care of. We asked to upgrade to a suite, there wasn't one available in the hotel so they offered one of the bungalows opposite the pool. This was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The furniture was traditional but somehow made the rooms look dark. We were right opposite the pool which was ok but lacked a little privacy compared to a hotel room. It was extremely relaxing with the sound of water trickling in the pool and the birds singing amongst the trees. We used the spa so as to experience a hammam. This was definitely an experience! Good fun. The spa in the palace is luxurious but double the cost. We went into the palace part of the hotel....beautiful. The gym is situated here and is very clean and spacious. We went into the casino which can be very smokey, but had an enjoyable time. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with excellent service, not cheap but worth at least one visit. Breakfast was plentiful and very relaxing and you could enjoy it either indoors or in the garden.
We ventured away from the hotel to visit the souks etc, best to take a taxi, they can take you straight there, this cost 50 dirhams. You cannot get maps free of charge so might be best to print some off before hand. Overall, we had one of the most relaxing short breaks in a long time. We could not fault the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for 5* then you will be disappointed, like most of the hotels In Marrakesh there is an 80's feel to this place BUT that seems to be the case for most of the mid range hotels in the resort.. That is my ONLY complaint of this hotel

we booked into an Atlas suite and it was so spacious we started to refer to it as a flat, a small one mind !! we did take a peek in a few of the rooms and some had slightly better bathrooms but apart from that they were all very similar.. very clean and with spacious balconies.. The kitchen areas though needed some attention

All that said the concierge and the service in general was absolutely 5*. This hotel should pride themselves on their main attraction.. knowledgeable friendly staff and what felt like an extremely safe environment. The grounds are also stunning and the food superb in the evenings and just the ticket in the days!!

Be aware Marrakesh is only slightly cheaper than England though, this isn't a low budget holiday an 5 days is enough there is very little to see there.

Room Tip: Definately spend the money on a suite, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Honestly this is right on the cusp of being a five star review, but I get the feeling our stay was so excellent because we went off season.

We stayed in the Atlas Suite on the corner of the hotel and thought it was overall lovely.

Positives
- The suite was massive, and the cleaning staff were in and out every time you left to turn down the bed, hoover and tidy behind you. Incredible service.
- The concierge staff were incredibly helpful, polite and welcoming. The vast majority of the staff were, but the concierge's and the restaurant staff spoke the best English.
- The bed was enormous. You could go with a friend and share the double bed without ever even touching.
- The restaurant was absolutely delcious, half board would be a wise investment.
- The pool was kept clean and sparkling, and pleasantly cool when you were trying to escape the merciless heat.
- The grounds were beautiful, and use of the gym facilities in the palace was very welcome and extremely convenient.

Negatives
- the mountains were partially visible on a couple of occasions, the room is advertised for it's stunning view of them but the air is constantly full of sand/heat haze at that distance and you never see them.
- There was an incongruously grotty kitchen in the room. Everything was rather plush and lovely and freshly painted then there was this little box of crap tiles and lino. It was actually quite funny, in a surreal way.
- It's French Morocco, so the staff speak Arabic (faarsi?) and French, with English being a second language, not really a criticism but it made ordering lunches by the pool a bit of an adventure.

It's definitely a five star hotel from the 90's or so, but what do you expect in Africa? I can't even understand the one star reviews I've seen on here after having visited.

Room Tip: Get friendly with the concierges ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Es Saadi is set in luxurious immaculately kept gardens.
The staff are really friendly & charming-as are most Morrocans!
The hotel is a peaceful oasis only a ten minute walk away from the bustling Medina.
Go for a day into the Atlas Mountains-use a taxi driver as your guide for the day-agree your price first. Much cheaper than an official tour! Buy your souvenirs from the Berbers in the mountains-cheaper than in the souk-pay about one third of the first asking price.
Hotel mahmounia is worth a visit for cocktails but is certainly no more beautiful than the Es Saadi palace!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowersof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damerham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were nice and the breakfast area was very pleasant and a superb choice of food.. A very big complex with a variety of places to eat, boutiques and spa area. Our room unfortunately let it down though as it was very small with a minute, dirty balcony and the bathroom was not too clean with a cigarette burn on the toilet seat.

We had been told that the hotel was only 10 minutes walk from the Square and Souks but it was so much more than that and also along busy roads. We are fairly agile and fit but we did the walk once and got taxi's after that as it took so long and also was not a good walk to do at night.

Room Tip: Not a room facing onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of an organised tour of Morocco - as the cost was included in our tour we are unable to comment on "value".
We really liked this hotel, but would probably class it as more of a 4 than a 5 star. It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful with the possible exception of the pool area/bar staff who seemed very disorganised (too many managers, not enough workers) - it took approximately 30 minutes to get 2 beers! We had one dinner at the hotel, which was part of the tour and a fixed menu - pretty average. The breakfast is a great location by the pool, but again, average.
So a couple of niggling complaints, but overall a good hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Googsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#136 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#219 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
#114 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort

Property: Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#160 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#193 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing