We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing while you wait!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Ranked #112 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Despite an average rating this was a very comfortable and conveniently located hotel for both the new and old city.Pleasant grounds with pool to relax in after visits.The standard of the rooms and furnishing etc was very good.
The service, however, was terrible especially at the pool bar.Long waits for service even after ordering and a casual, could not care less attitude of staff. Several mix ups with bills and it was all very haphazard.,The final straw was a mixed grill with raw chicken and sausage in the restaurant. There was no concern expressed by the staff and I had to raise the matter with the restaurant manager before there was any acknowledgement of the seriousness of their failure, especially in a 4* establishment.
The breakfasts were poor and suffered both from inadequate provisioning ( no yogurts on 2 mornings,insufficent cutlery esp for cereals) and inefficent staff apparently working without direction.Tea/coffee took 20 mins to arrive after ordering on one morning and waiter took a similar length of time to even take an order despite attempts to attract attention.

Other members of the tour group were equally unimpressed by the poor standard of service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our room faced east which was good, it was clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good. The location of the hotel was good and close to the attractions, the kallesh (horse carriage ride) at night was excellent and went much further than we expected followed by dinner in a marquee, arranged by the hotel. The bell boys need some training in the care of handling suitcases as they have broken the sliding handle on one of ours, obviously by pushing it down without pushing in the button.

Room Tip: best to get easterly facing room to avoid afternoon sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Twenty seven of us have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and attentive. All of the front of house staff spoke very good English although the waiters didn't, which wasn't a problem as they just went and got someone who did. The waiting staff were pretty slow and we felt the need to ask several times for whatever we had ordered but this is Africa and they are very laid back people.

The only 'complaint' is that we found the night times very noisy with people going to and from the Casino, which is situated in the grounds of the hotel. We always carry earplugs and therefore had no problem, so go prepared and all will be well.

We go as a group to a different city each year and this is the first time we have had a pool and we certainly preferred it. We had an excellent guide, arranged through the hotel, who was prepared to stay on with us for the afternoon as well as the pre-arranged morning tour.

We had a super meal in the hotel on the first night and then visited two restaurants on the other nights. The first was a French restaurant only five minutes from the hotel called The Villa Hivernage. It was SUPERB. The food, the staff and room were perfect. It is a bit more expensive than the others but well worth it. The second was an Italian/Morrocan restaurant 10 minutes walk from the main square called PepeNero which was really good. They were very attentive from the first e-mail to the end of the evening. The only issue with this restaurant was that the portions were enormous and we simply could not finish what we had ordered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days end Aug-beg Sept 2012. The hotel is lovely, clean and staff friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who speaks fluent English. Most staff speak English but French is more common.

The pool is very relaxing with no loud music being played. Just the sound of the fountain in the background. Pool boy is very attentive and will move parasols and sun loungers if needed. Might not be very older child friendly in terms of teenagers wanting to play ball games or jump on lilos as this wasn't allowed but it was refreshing to not have loud booming music being played
all day!!

The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the Medina Walls and prob a further 10 min walk to the Square. Well worth a trip both at day and night. The concierge can arrange for you to have an English speaking guide should you want one (around 200d) and well worth it! Be prepared to haggle for everything and don't worry about offering a low price and offending - its part of the fun!

Trips - we did the historic bus tour and the oasis tour and hopped off when there was something we wanted to see or explore. Tickets are valid for 24 or 48 hours. We also took a 4x4 to the foothills of the Atlas Mountains and saw the Orika Valley - well worth it but tiring in the sun! The Moroccan evening was a bit disappointing but the food was very good...a bit like an African Wild West Show!!

We felt completely safe and did some of the walks ourselves as set out in the guide books but do take a French phrase book if your French is a bit rusty!

No upset stomachs, food at hotel was excellent. We were half board so the evening meal was a 3 course European menu (choice of three starters & main, with a desert trolley or ice cream). Alternatively, you could have the Moroccan dinner of either a meat or fish tangine - whichever was on offer but delicious! We didn't have a bad meal the whole ten days.

We went to the Casino as it was attached to the sister hotel (the Palace) and this was a bit disappointing as it was very smoky, full of men and they didn't speak any English. So, for the beginner it was very difficult to understand what to do and how to play.

All together a brilliant time and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a view of Atlas Mountains (in the distance!) and were on the road which was busy but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 763Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Propriétaire at Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your kind review about your pleasant stay in our hotel.
The Hotel is well-known for its friendly and helpful staff and we are glad you were pleased with the service. The 450sqft meters heated pool with the fountain is calm and really nice if you want to relax. As you wrote it, the Hotel is located in the heart of Marrakech, just a few minutes’ walk from the bustling medina, which is a really good point for our guests. We are happy to know that you really appreciated the cuisine offered at Le Restaurant Gastronomique, famous for the quality of its dishes.
Thank you for sharing your feelings about your experience, our team will be glad to know they managed to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to seeing you in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

In spite of booking rooms for 2 adults & 2 children on the morning of our arrival, we had to fight to get 2 rooms together. Initially we were allocated rooms at opposite ends of the hotel and when we requested 2 rooms together or at least near to each other, we were told that the hotel was full. This was in spite of there being availability only 2 hours before we arrived. When it was clear that the hotel were not going to budge we decided to leave and at this point we were offered a 'free upgrade' to adjoining rooms which were identical to the ones that we were initially offered?! It was not clear how they were 'upgraded' and is not the service expected from any hotel, let alone a 5 star one.

We only ate breakfast here which was poor for this class of hotel. The staff were not particularly friendly and the hotel is worn and dated.

There is a large pool but you need to be up early to 'book' a sunbed otherwise you'll be sitting in the shade?!

The hotel is in a good location and there are local restaurants within walking distance and it's only 10 minutes to the Medina by cab.

Overall a disappointing 5 star hotel but as we were only staying for 3 nights we put up with it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Responsable relations clients at Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Apparently you booked your stay on booking.com the day of your arrival. Did you mention that you would have liked two communicating rooms? If so, we would like to apologize because we didn’t get this information. Two floors are currently under renovation, and this is one of the reasons why our room capacity was reduced during your stay.
Considering all these facts we could book only separated rooms for you.
On your arrival, when you asked to change for communicating rooms, you were upgrated in two pool view communicating rooms- instead of two separated city view rooms. As you point it, we are located 10 minutes away from the medina which is a great advantage for our guests. We are really surprised you didn’t like the breakfast composed of fresh fruits, French pastries and Moroccan crêpes because it is one of the meal our guests like the most. Concerning the number of sunbeds around the 450 sq ft meters heated pool, if the capacity is full, we arrange additional sunbeds.

We are sorry your stay didn’t fit your expectations but if you come back to Marrakech, we hope you will give us another chance to make the most of your stay in the Red City.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was a little concerned having read mixed reviews about this hotel, however my teenage daughter and I are on the last day of a weeks holiday at Es Saadi Gardens and Resort Hotel and have both had a wonderful time and want to come back. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area away from the madness of the medina, which, trust me, is a good thing. A taxi to the main square is about 20 dirham or it is a 20 minute walk.

One thing you should be aware of is that "Hotel" Saadi and the "Palace" Saadi, whilst part of the same group and also in the same grounds, sharing the same facilities (restaurants, nightclub, spas etc), have separate swimming pools for their respective guests. The Palace is a more expensive accommodation of the two and if you are looking for the ultimate in luxury and have the accompanying budget, then go for this one. The only difference in your experience will be the room you stay in and the size of the pool. Other than that the service and facilities available are of the same high standard.

The best thing about this hotel is the food in the gastronomic restaurant which is exquisite. We came full board, which I would recommend and so have eaten there nearly every lunch and dinner. My grandfather used to be head chef of the Savoy, London many years ago and so I know my food. I had the best roast beef I have had in many years for dinner last night, their home made ice cream is a delight and I could go on and on.. If you enjoy good food their main restaurant is a must, even if you are staying elsewhere, dine here as you won't be disappointed.

The staff are very polite and helpful (we speak French and this is the language we have been using)

The grounds are lovely and an after dinner stroll amongst the palm trees is a must.
There is also a lovely spa and a Casino, and although I haven't been to the nightclub, it had people from outside the hotel queuing up on a Tuesday night so it is clearly popular.

The hotel itself was built in the 1960's and the decoration is traditional and a little faded but the materials and used are top quality and it still has a sense of grandeur . The reception is mainly marble with a piano lounge bar and ample seating. We are staying in a Standard double room with a garden view, which is good size and the air conditioning is set to a certain pre determined temperature so cannot be regulated, but you have your own off and on switch. We are staying at the hottest time of year and we have been comfortable. There is a mini bar, safe, small balcony, flatscreen TV, small desk and wardrobe with plenty of space .The bed is very comfortable and big. The rooms are not high tech, but are comfortable and I would advise a garden or pool view as opposed to city (road). The towels are changed daily and the maid has been charming and efficient.

The pool boys and pool restaurant staff are very helpful and the loungers are wooden with nice thick mattresses. The pool is a good size and clean. Unlike a previous hotel we stayed in, there is full sunlight all day, which is what we wanted. There are large parasols for those who are looking for shade. The pool is surrounded by gardens and palm trees.

The only two constructive criticisms I have relate to the buffet breakfast:
1.The pigeons at breakfast time as it is served outdoors. I have a bit of a phobia about pigeons I have to say and dislike them coming close when I am eating. I hope the manager will try and sort out this problem before my next visit as they are a bit off putting. A continental breakfast can be served in your room at no extra charge if booked in advance.
2. The breakfast is buffet style, with waiters coming to the tables to bring tea and coffee. I think it would be more usual for a five star hotel to have someone cooking eggs (fried/poached/omelette) to order as opposed to pre cooked scrambled eggs.

,
These are minor points and there is a good range of sliced fresh fruit, pastries, salad and cerial, sausages, tomato and scrambled egges and mint tea, tea or coffee and fresh orange juice.

We have had a splendid time and found it to be very good value.hotel with great service and excellent range of facilities, with the chef of the gastronomique restaurant and staff making the difference between a good stay and an excellent one. I am hoping we can come back again next year.

Room Tip: Pool or garden view suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simone6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Propriétaire at Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate to know that our guests had a great time with us. There is nothing more inspiring than guests sharing their positive experiences with us. This is true we have a lot of pigeons on the Resort because of our large park and lush vegetation.

Thank you again, from all of us here. We are looking forward to welcoming you another time.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel bespeaks of its somewhat historic status. It perhaps is not run like more modern hotels, but generally the staff are very helpful and friendly and will definitely do their best. The grounds are wonderful--a nice place to stroll and breath when Morocco gets to be too much (and it can). The location is pretty good. The food decent, but breakfast out-of doors can lead to raids by songbirds that are a bit disturbing, if not particularly violent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kowloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Room Division Manager at Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Kowloonie
your kind review is very much appreciated by all of us. While we encourage all kinds of reviews to be posted we certainly love to read about positive and satisfying experiences with the hotel and the services offered. Again, thank you very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#176 of 501 in Marrakech
553 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#123 of 501 in Marrakech
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#189 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $101 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing