We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The poor relation of the Palace es Saadi but very good in parts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Ranked #119 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The poor relation of the Palace es Saadi but very good in parts.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

First impressions of the hotel on arrival are that it is a little dated, though very well presented. The welcome from the staff was warm and genuine. We booked a room with a rollaway bed, (3 guests) but were given just a double. A bed was provided speedily, but it was not possible to move around the room, and to be fair to the hotel they offered to change the room before we ventured to suggest it. It was referred to several times as an 'upgrade' however, and not simply what we had paid for. The air conditioning did not function well, making for some very uncomfortable nights. We booked half board, and ate each night at the Gourmet restaurant next to the pool and were never disappointed. Exquisite food and excellent service. Breakfast was an odd affair, with the usual buffet selection supplemented by cooked, but cold items - cold fried potato anyone? The tables were invadede at any opportunity by sparrows and pigeons, who helped themselves to sugar etc between sittings. They would have been more useful eating the ants making their daily pilgrimage across the pastries. We were encouraged by everyone we met at the hotel to go and look at the fantastic pool in the same grounds - a huge affair the size of a small pricipality. Sadly, when we went to join the (literally) half a dozen other people there to swim, we were told in no uncertain terms that it was for the use of The Palace guests only. Walks around the grounds near to the private villas also elicited concerned questions form hotel security. A shame, as the website boasts use of 20 acres of grounds and two outdoor pools. The Casino was mostly closed for renovations, and the nightclub was never to be found. Not a problem for us as a family, but not mentioned on the website. Our only disppointment with the otherwise excellent staff was with the pushy concierege who phoned the room several times to push the sale of excursions, and several times again later in the week asking for payment. The Palace looked amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyTrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    365
    172
    75
    53
See reviews for
174
438
80
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Well-located in the new city, the hotel is a bit frayed around the edges. Air conditioning in the room couldn't be adjusted; beds were very soft (and low!). Service in the bar was slow, even though the place was empty. Grounds are very pretty; pool is nice. Overall service was fair--no one seems too enthusiastic about assisting the guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kestrel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Horrible horrble trip. First be advised that the star system in Marrakech is not consistent with the rest of the world. I was expecting to stay at a 5* property. I have stayed in a best western that was nicer than this falling apart junky property. The shower handle came apart in my hand on my shower after checking in. I reported the problem to staff, and they moved my room. The new room was not as bad as the last, but had its problems. I tried to meet with the Owner at this point, as I had conferred with tripadvisor after checking into the hotel - instead of before booking - big mistake!!!! After reading other reviews which stated the owner was around and available, I tried meeting with the owner to discuss my problems, as well as the fact that the 5* star property I booked was a run down 3*. The staff suggested the owner was unavailable the night I checked in. I tried to meet with her the next two days, even making an appointment on the day prior to departure. Prior to meeting with the owner I asked housekeeping to let me into the first room I occupied. Sure enough the staff had replace the broken shower without fixing it!!!!!!! I brought the broken piece to the meeting. The owner did not show, but the manager tried to put me in a suite, a bigger lousy room to appease me. I wanted to discuss with the owner why they purposely marketing there property as a 5* when they know it is not. The manager actually said, "Stars stay at this hotel!!!" I think he was talking about Bogie and Bacall when the property was built. The food buffet is gross! Even the omelette station food was nasty. The boxed cereal and day old leftover bread from the palace where the best bets. For a family that is looking for a bargain this could be an alright property.

Room Tip: Book at the palace instead of the es saadi hotel - so confusing!!!!! Better yet stay in the medina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoLoMature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Saga half board package. Couldn't fault it for cleanliness, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was superb with a different choice of courses every evening and the presentation and service was excellent. It was an easy walk from the hotel into the hustle and bustle of the medina and the souk.

Room Tip: Best rooms have a pool view and look across to the Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm17450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We spend two very enjoyable weeks at the Es Saadi. The staff are professional and quite charming. There was a good breakfast outside round the pool and garden. We thought the dining room food and staff was wonderful.

We came to relax and sit in the sun as well as sightsee, so the hotel and location were great for us - close enough to walk into the fascinating but mad old town but located in the beginning of the pretty and much more quiet new town. The room was a little tired with a bit of a chain hotel feel but it was spacious and comfortable. We were perfectly happy with it.

We wanted a good sized pool with loungers so we didn't want to stay in a riad and the hotels a level up cost the earth. The good hotels in Marrakech all seem overpriced but we came with a half board package deal that seemed reasonable to us. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesandMarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Es Saadi HOTEL must not be confused with the Es Saadi Palace. The latter is a good hotel, but the former is THE WORST hotel I have ever stayed in.

Wildly overpriced, shabby, dated bedrooms and communal areas, and dreadful food. It was such an enormous let down. What was meant to be a relaxing luxury getaway turned into a nightmare - we felt incredibly ripped off. If you are used to enjoying high end hotels and are looking with true 5 star luxury and pampering do not stay at the Es Saadi Hotel, it is beyond VILE. A complete rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Cannot believe some of the poor reviews this hotel has received. We travel extensively and this should be much further up the popularity index. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Food was fresh and gourmet quality and the restaurant was fine dining. No manic all inclusive buffet here. The grounds and facilities were very pleasant and the pool attendants were always hard at work keeping eveywhere spik and span. A week in Marrakesh is possibly too much, 4 or 5 days would be ample. A nice break at this relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathlycett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Property: Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#191 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing