We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #25 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Somerford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We don't enjoy large hotels so this was perfect for us all the 5*luxuries we expect but in a small hotel excellent food lovely room with a roof terrace plenty of places to sit and relax with out being very close to other guests ( I like my own space) the staff could not have been more attentive without being intrusive. We walked to the market easily about 5 minutes away there is usually a taxi outside if you don't want to walk, you can change money in the hotel and it has a small shop you just need to check the opening times. We could not of had a better first visit to Marrakech and The Villa des Oranges was the icing on the cake

Room Tip: If you can have a room with a roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    43
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
342
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Across the road from one of the King's many palaces, and next to a garage and used tire shop where repairs are done on the street, the sign for the hotel was discreetly not visible unless you looked for it. Marakesh was our last stop after two weeks of adventure in the Rif and Atlas mountains and the deep Sahara close to Algeria. Immediately upon our arrival, we were greeted by Hassan who took care of our check in and provided a tour of the premises. The pool area is gorgeous and the many rooms to chill on the main floor were comfortable and well appointed. We had the 2 level suite which had a fireplace in a small sitting room, the softest bed (it's all relative) during our entire trip, a private terrace where breakfast was served with a great view and very clean and up to date bathroom and shower. The staff were always helpful and service was always with a smile. Priscilla and I travel a great deal and we always save our "luxury spot" to the end. The Villa did not disappoint in that way. We also used the Hamam where we both had a tradtional rubdown and couples massage which was very professional leaving us feeling fresh and revitalized.

We don't usually dine at our hotels as we like the local fare and prefer to get out and about. But after a long drive and spa services, we decided to have dinner at the Riad. I had also o'deed on couscous and tagine and needed a change. The dining room was pretty but the lighting could use some more thought. We found it too bright. The service was very professional, (although a tad corny). We both ordered fish, (me the turbot and Priscilla the sea bass) and a bottle of Moroccan Sauvignon Blanc. The wine (not cheap) was meh. Both of our fish mains were way overdone, rendering them sort of rubbery. The reaction from our waiter was that he would let the kitchen know. At the equivalent of about $40.00 (CAN) a shot, I would have expected more. (The following day we went to a local fish place in the new city and had fresh grilled fish and prawns for less than one entree). Lunch which was included was also sort of meh and tasteless although the presentation and service was very good.

I really like this place. You would like it too. The staff try really hard and are very helpful. The place is gorgeous. Can someone please talk to the Chef and tell him fish needs to be flaky and there is nothing wrong with a little seasoning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DansLeZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had dinner there with some friends and the food was simply fantastic.The atmoshpere is very relaxed and pleasant, the place and the fornitures very elegant. Staff members are nice and professional, although there is some room for improvement... The price is not low (actually, it is quite expensive, with a limited list of - expensive - wines only). But a place where I would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vialiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As Tony suggests - what is inside is an interesting contrast to the street! I have been fortunate to stay in many outstanding hotels (through work) and the Villa ranks up there with any. We had split our visit to Morocco with a trip to the mountains in the middle of 2 stays here. The interior has been really well developed, sympathetic to the style and culture and yet comfortable. The rooms were really well finished too, although we had to resort to using the A/C and having the windows closed because of a dog barking several times through the night.

The staff were exceptional with the efficiency and friendliness throughout. Obviously, well led, managed and trained! The breakfast and lunch were good - and a plus was having them included in the package. Elements such as the free non-alcoholic drinks and launddry were also nice touches. Locatiion was good, within easy reach of the main square and also the Kasbah area - and a reasonable taxi ridde to the "new" town and Gueliz. (We had what we felt was a good deal with Karim who happily came whenever we wanted and called!)

My only negative would be about the price of the dinner - and wine! The quality was good but I do not want to have to pay about £120 - 140 each night for 2 of us. Surely it is possible to offer a set meal at around 300-350 DH and wine at a proportional rate. I do not object to paying the premium price now and again - but willl not be compelled to doing so. A shame, becuase the setting for dinner was great and Mohammed and his team were great.

Room Tip: If it is within your budget, have a suite with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraYemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful hotel proves the adage 'don't judge a book by it's cover.' Located on a not so pretty street the whole world changes once you go though the welcoming front gate. Exquisite decor throughout. Great attention to detail. Prompt and courteous service. Our room was a dream. Fabulous bathroom with voluminous rain shower. And the food!
Served poolside with a plethora of candle- lit lanterns. We dined out one night at the vaunted La Mamoulia. Over priced and over hyped. Save your money. Rushed back to dine at La Villa and couldn't have been happier to be home. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tony3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My mum and I spent a week here and everything was perfect. The Villa is a peaceful oasis with a beautiful pool, and lovely sitting areas that helped to make the riad so peaceful and quiet. All the staff were exceptional in every way, and a special mention must to go to Mohamed the restaurant manager. The food was delicious with excellent choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This was one of the best holidays we have had, and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyantsLouisville_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is a small place to be! It is located just a few minutes away from the medina an the schmaa al fna'. The rooms are very nice furnished and very cosy. We got an upgrade to a suite with roof terrasse, absolutely fantastic. The breakfast was served outside next to the pool. Very delicious with a good variety of food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. Just to stay there a couple of nights and enjoy Marrakesch.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with roof terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Property: La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing