We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Place to Stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #22 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
279 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

La Villa des Orangers is the place to stay in Marrakech. In planning the trip, I went back and forth between a few other larger hotel. My wife and I were glad we stayed at La Villa des Orangers. Is off a busy street, but once you enter through the doors – relaxing sanctuary; it is quite peaceful. Villa des Orangers is beautiful. It’s a few blocks to Jemaa el-Fnaa. Personally, I was glad to be slightly away from being directly in the old city (medina quarters). It's within the walls, but not in the craziness of the markets. We were there during shoulder season in December, so the weather cooled down at night and days were wonderful. Our room was a beautiful one with a sitting area. The bathroom with bath and separate shower was just as large as the sleeping area. Outside of ours doors, our room had a stairs that led to a rooftop sitting area larger than our room. It was very cool to sit up at night and see the lights of Marrakech.

Breakfast felt like sitting in someone’s living room. The choices are basic, but the staff works very hard to make sure you get what you need. Fruits, breads, eggs, bacon, etc. After breakfast everyday, the location of Villa des Orangers was a walk to many tourist sites. We had dinner at various places in Marrakech, outside of the hotel, but everything was walkable or a quick taxi ride, which the hotel staff would always easily hail. My opinion, La Villa des Orangers is the place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    45
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
366
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary, the hotel organised transport from the airport and back again which was a little relief.

Upon arriving at the hotel we honestly thought where on earth did we book as the surrounding area is a little bit rough, but once you walk through the doors its like a little paradise with birds singing. We were immediately shown around by a member of staff which was great as you got a feel for the hotel, once in our hotel room we were offered fresh orange juice and Moroccan tea (both amazing)

We were looking for a relaxing get away and this is exactly what we found, the staff were very attentive and even tried to get you items of food that may not be on the menu (eg/ tomato and cucumber) We ate at the hotel 1 evening by the pool and again, the food was amazing, the bill came to around £115 for 2 people which include drinks. If you're looking for a nice meal you'll be paying around this anywhere you go.

If your looking for a relaxed break this is a great hotel and it's very close to the Jemaa el Fna if you fancy leaving the hotel although crossing the roads are a bit of a nightmare :)

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with terrace onto the roof-top pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at La Villa des Orangers for 1 night (only!) at the end of June and have been delighted by our stay! The "Villa" itself is typical of these big mansions in the center of Marrakech, with multiple floors and courtyards. The room has beautiful moroccan furniture and all amenities you could wish for. We got upgraded to a room with terrace and could enjoy a wonderful breakfast there. So romantic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After booking and cancelling at least 4 hotels prior to booking this hotel, I'm so delighted that we booked this one. From the moment you walk into the huge doorway you will not be disappointed in what you find. It's just beautiful, pure luxury , tranquil and tasteful we definitely made a wonderful choice. Loving every second.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janejohnson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived from the Four Seasons and they claimed not to have our reservation; hard to tell who dropped the ball. In any event, the set up a table for us. The warmth, hospitality, and the food were all exceptional. A lovely night, a musician, and a great wine made for a perfect evening. Pricey, of course, but well worth it. Save this one for a special night. Also, this is one Marrakech restaurant that books early, so don't wait to the last minute to reserve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel , a relais and chateau, is lovely. We were treated to a dinner here. We ate alongside the pool on the terrace. We watched the fading light as the birds darted in Nd out of the shrubbery. Our food was wonderful French food, prepared and served with care. Romantic and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Riad is exceptional. The courtyards are lovely and it is a very peaceful place to be. The staff and owners are wonderful and treat each guest special. There are two pools, one in the main area and one on the roof top. Delicious breakfast and lunch selections are included along with transportation transfers..Sitting around after dinner listening to live Moroccan music and sipping mint tea was a nice way to end a perfect day. They are located easy walking distance to the Medina. We used a local guide recommended from the Riad for 400 Mad/day which was good value as the Medina is a maze of 3500 shops and interconnecting passages.
We highly recommend La Villa des Orangers. What a wonderful experience-thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#31 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#14 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Property: La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing