We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #24 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived from the Four Seasons and they claimed not to have our reservation; hard to tell who dropped the ball. In any event, the set up a table for us. The warmth, hospitality, and the food were all exceptional. A lovely night, a musician, and a great wine made for a perfect evening. Pricey, of course, but well worth it. Save this one for a special night. Also, this is one Marrakech restaurant that books early, so don't wait to the last minute to reserve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    43
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
342
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel , a relais and chateau, is lovely. We were treated to a dinner here. We ate alongside the pool on the terrace. We watched the fading light as the birds darted in Nd out of the shrubbery. Our food was wonderful French food, prepared and served with care. Romantic and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Riad is exceptional. The courtyards are lovely and it is a very peaceful place to be. The staff and owners are wonderful and treat each guest special. There are two pools, one in the main area and one on the roof top. Delicious breakfast and lunch selections are included along with transportation transfers..Sitting around after dinner listening to live Moroccan music and sipping mint tea was a nice way to end a perfect day. They are located easy walking distance to the Medina. We used a local guide recommended from the Riad for 400 Mad/day which was good value as the Medina is a maze of 3500 shops and interconnecting passages.
We highly recommend La Villa des Orangers. What a wonderful experience-thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a lovely riad located very close to the heart of the action on the main square. The staff are friendly and responsive. The courtyards are pretty with a nice pool. There is another pool on the roof with comfortable loungers. We were surprised to learn that both breakfast and lunch were included in our rate. The lunches are fantastic - 3 courses of outstanding light French food. If you are trying to decide between the nearby Mamonian and this riad, stay at the riad and just have a drink at the Mamomian if you have shoes other than sneakers. The Mamonian really does enforce the no sneaker rule.

Room Tip: If possible, and you can do steep steps, select a rate for a room with its own rooftop patio. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktw53721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent three days in Marrakech and returning to the hotel after long walks under the heat was always a pleasure. Our suite was overlooking the pool, with a beautiful bathroom and even a massage room (which unfortunately did not have time to use). The food was excellent. Well located to visit the market and to peek at la Mamounia where fortunately we were unable to get a reservation.


Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In the "dwell on the negative" world we currently live in, travelers are constantly nitpicking about thread counts and the number of square feet in their Junior Suite. Instead, focus on how the hotel makes you feel. La Villa des Oranges was a spectacular hotel experience. Every time I returned from a morning exploring the Medina, I was so happy to return to the oasis that was our home for four nights. All staff was friendly, courteous and well prepared to assist in any way possible (restaurant reservations, directions and guides). Specifically towards guides, we liked our guide so much we elected to use him three more days. You cannot explore the Medina and learn the culture without a guide. I saw other groups from the hotel using guides and each time it appeared the hotel connected guests with guides of similar age and interest level in different features of the city (Historical Sites vs. Souks / Shopping Options). It made a big difference for us and I very much appreciated the hotel's forethought on that matter. It could have been total luck, but I believe the staff sized my wife and I up and tried to connect us with the right guide. Our room was well appointed and our terrace on the roof was fun to use as a lookout over the city.
The location of the hotel is excellent as it is not right in the middle of the Medina, but a five – seven minute walk. There is no sense of Souk claustrophobia at the hotel as I imagine there could be at other hotels within the Medina.
The food was excellent. My wife prefers believes nobody boils a better soft boiled egg than her, so I was impressed when she complimented how well the kitchen had prepared her egg in the morning. Lunch includes seven – eight regular items, with three specials of the day. The special skate-wing was a delight. We ate at the hotel one night and it was excellent.
The final bit that sparked me to write this review was what happened upon our return from three nights in the Atlas Mountains. We had prearranged to stop at the hotel to pick up some clothing that was being altered for my wife. When we arrived, the hotel invited us to stay as long as we wanted until our flight left. Rather than spend time at the Marrakech airport, we were able to spend 90 minutes back in La Villa des Orangers paradise.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a private terrace. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences of my life to date. The staff, the facilities, the location, the food; all were excellent. The other reviews cover so much. I just want to add my vote of enjoyment for this hotel.

Being in a riad is so much more interesting than an ordinary hotel. This one is on the outskirts of the old city so walking into and through the Media is a short journey. Once there, however, get a guide or prepare to be lost a lot.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a terrace. It is a great place to end a long day's walk with a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#20 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Property: La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing