We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #117 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

On arrival the staff were nice to us and gave us a drink. The rooms were nice and cosy with aircon to make the room cool. There was a swimming pool which you could cool down. The restaurants were really good,all of the food we had in the restaurants were good. Beds were comfortable so it was a good night sleep. Lots of plants are greenery which make the view of the building look good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    971
    348
    91
    40
See reviews for
602
1,161
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a last minute holiday to Morocco and, having spoken to a few of my friends, I was a bit wary as Morocco seemed a bit like Marmite, I would either love it or hate it! I have to say I loved it. The hotel was amazing, really beautiful gardens, friendly staff and the food was really good, okay it wasn't like eating in a 5* restaurant in the UK but it was lovely food and the Moroccans know how to cook! We did go to the traditional Moroccan restaurant one night and it was a lovely experience.

Having been used to doing a lot of activities on holiday this was the first holiday where I just relaxed the first few days and then we went on a couple of trips, one to the traditional Moroccan evening where we had a night out and entertainment and then another day travelling around Marrakech. Highlights included the Koutoubia Mosque and the Majorelle Gardens where Yves Saint Laurents ashes were. We also went on a horse and carriage ride which I wanted to do during a visit to Egypt but were told to avoid previously due to the owners mistreating the horses, this wasn't the case with the horse we chose and it was a lovely experience riding around the walls of the city.

When out and about in the market, yes there are monkeys and snakes but a polite but firm no thank you seemed to do the trick and there is no more hassle than say the markets in the Canary Islands. They do rely on the tourists and the main thing we were told is to haggle otherwise the prices will go too high for locals to pay.

All in all I fell completely in love with Marrakech and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I just got back from a week long holiday in this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and is a lovely relaxing base from which to explore Marrakech. The staff at the hotel were excellent: all the staff were smiley, friendly and made us feel at home. We particularly enjoyed the yoga each morning with the entertainment team, a salsa lesson with Salim and the table tennis with Samir.

There is a regular shuttle bus from the hotel to town - they didn't run late into the evening (last bus about 6.15) but this may be different in peak season. A taxi from the centre of Marrakech to the hotel was not expensive (about 50 dirham for a taxi for 3) so when we did stay later in the evening it wasn't a problem.

I would recommend this hotel to people who would like to relax in the sun, or those who would like to combine some relaxing with some exploring of Marrakech and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCM808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a lovely week at this beautiful hotel. It is truly a haven to return to after the exciting hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We have never done an "all inclusive" before and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very relaxed and all the staff are cheerful kind and thoughtful. Compared to the newer Palmeria further out the gardens at our hotel were lush and established giving a lovely place to walk round in the morning. You can also walk into the local village where to see local life going on. The people are carrying on with their lives and don't bother you at all.
Because the mealtimes span a couple of hours you can eat when you like and there is always plenty of choice as some dishes change daily. I don't understand the grumble about the food. We found it delicious and were sorry to leave. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel provided exactly what we expected. It was excellent value, very clean and the staff were ideal. BUT the food was rather dull after a week, little variety and not very interesting. Secondly, for lifelong non-smokers like us it was awful. The lobby, the bar and around the pool were constantly smoky and while I truly understand it must be wonderful for smokers, it was a severe disappointment that you couldn't get away from it.The hotel's website should carry a warning. The manager was not particularly impressed by the complaint and explained that by law smoking is allowed in Morocco. True, but smoking is banned in some of the bedrooms so it could be done. Black mark.

Room Tip: First floor looking onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. They encouraged people to join in with the day activities but werent pushy.

Food was good quality and there was plenty of choice. I dont understand people who in their reviews state that choice was minimal There was a choice of say 12 to 15 different dinners each evening, As long as you dont have a bit of everything each night you can have something different every evening. There was also a morrocan 'theme' restaurant which was excellent.

Drinks fluctuated in quality - couple of times i couldnt taste any alcahol in the 'cocktails'. Then on other occasions i was handed the bottle to create my own.

Hotel rooms was spotless and the general maintenence of the hotel was excellent.

The wifi worked fine in my room (despite review suggesting it only worked in the foyer).

The biggest negative is the 2 'bars', One is essentially a kids disco and the bar smelt unpleasant. The main adult bar was far too smokey. My partner refused to sit in it so we were left with knowhere to sit on an evening.. In summeer you could sit outside but (it was far too cold in january to do this). This meant most evenings we retired after dinner and sat on our balcony. They really need to sort the smoke issue in the main bar - needs better ventilation.

Shuttle bus dropped you a little far from the medina but it was walkable and down one straight road.Approx 20 minute walk.

Overall a Very good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went to Tikida Gardens in June and September 2012. The first time with wife and two children and the second time just my wife and myself. We really enjoyed our stay here, From the food, to the staff (especially the annimation team)
Rooms were comfortable, gardens lovely and the pool was ideal.
Taxi to main square cheaper from outside hotel grounds and remember to agree a price before you get in.
Do go for a walk locally and experience the local way of life.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#105 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
7.4 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#145 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing