We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything and everyone was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #123 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

From the start, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Everyone had a can-do attitude. From the catering staff, room service, porters and gardeners, all had a pleasant smile and greeting. Main restaurant food selection was good and plentiful. The 1001 Nights restaurant food quality and selection was not as good, but the pool cafe was excellent for lunch. Everywhere was kept spotless and the gardens were amazing. I went in May and it was a very acceptable, mostly cloudless, 40 degrees! Nothing much to see in the immediate vicinty of the hotel but enough to do on site. Very professional entertainment programme throught the day and night for those who want it. 15 minutes taxi or bus ride got you into the centre of Marrakech and there were daily trips available elsewhere. My only mistake was booking 8 days - next time I will book three weeks! I would like to see more responsive security to crack down on the few noisy british youth late night revellers.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for outside facing rooms, which may be quieter than those overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,981 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from spending 11 nights in Marocco, staying in the Riu Tikida Garden. The hotel is listed as 4 star which, by my standards as a Brit who has the luxury of living in London where there are loads of great hotels, isn't an accurate reflexion. The hotel is a very good 3 star in my opinion as I felt there wasn't anything overly luxurious about Tikida Garden to be one star off 5 star.

Location-wise, it's ideal if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The hotel is situated on the road to Fez and is 15/20mins away from the Medina of Marrakech by cab. We purposely choose Tikida Garden for this reason. We wanted this holiday to be relaxing but at the same time have a choice in how much hustle and bustle we wanted.

The hotel has all the facilities you'd want from an all inclusive - a big pool, a spa, sports activities, good selection of food, bars, a hard working animation team and generally good service all round. On service, something I think worth mentioning is that if you make an effort to learn some phrases in Arabic or French that'll stand you in good stead. The key people you need to talk to at the hotel have a good understanding of english but waiters, cleaners etc don't. It's important to stress that English isn't that widely spoken in Marrakech so do learn to speak something people will understand.

The key people to speak with are the head chef Yousef (you can't miss him, he wears a grey chef hat and sports an quality tash!), the hotel manager Pablo (who is spanish) and the go to guy for booking the lovely Moroccan theme restaurant called 1001 is Mustafa.

The animation team consists mainly of Samir, Bob, Salim (It says Slim on his name badge though) and Husna. They are all great and work hard to ensure you have a good time. Ask them about night life outside of the hotel, places to visit and generally their opinion on excursions, they are really helpful.

One thing I heard from other holiday makers is if you go out to clubs with the animation team, some of them (not all) will give you overall costs for travel and entry that includes their costs which means you effectively are paying for a night out for them so be careful. You can still smoke inside in Morocco and after a while we found it difficult to breath and our clothes really smelt of cigarette smoke. There is a club on the same land as the hotel but isn't connected to it called La Carre Rouge. It's mainly for local high rollers with a caberet band with singers and doesn't get busy until 2am.

The Key person who made our holiday is the Thomson rep Rachid. This guy is awesome. He gave us lots of time and advice on the excursions available, what they consist of etc. But he was most useful for organising nights out. We asking him to recommend good shisha bars, night clubs and restaurants and they were all bang on. Really trendy, really good people and really safe. He is a fountain of knowledge and I highly recommend anyone staying at Riu Tikida Garden to speak to him at length and get hooked right up!

One thing we organised with Rachid was a visit to a Riad to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Rachid recommended Lotus Privilege where we went there for the day, had a full hamam, body scrub and massage treatment, use of all facilities and a gastromonic 6 course meal with transfers. A real treat and really good value for money too. The place is so luxurious and well worth a visit.

You'll read a lot of reviews that comment on the food. The main issue I had was labelling. I don't eat Beef and my wife is vegetarian and doesn't eat fish either. Many of the dishes at breakfast, lunch, snack time and dinner were not labelled well. The cooking staff weren't well trained and didn't know for sure half the time what was what. On a daily basis you'll find certain things will always feature with varying degrees of change. For example the salad and deserts are largely the same with some changes, there is always couscous and a tagine of some sort.

Overall I did think the food was slightly unvaried however there is always so much choice that I didn't have the same meal twice at any point. They do change the main things like the meat and some of the other main dishes so I won't worry too much about this. You need to be ready to mix up you plate and be adventurous!

On checking out be sure to reserve a complementary room to shower and change in before you leave otherwise you'll end up paying 200 dihrams to use your room until 2pm and 500 to use it until 5pm.

The bed rooms are fine and are cleaned daily. They weren't luxurious in my opinion and our balcony had a lot of bird poo when we first arrived which wasn't ideal but was cleaned up shortly afterwards.

Overall this holiday was brilliant, we took it upon ourselves to have an itinarary of activities during the day and evening and days where we chilled near the pool. This served us well and we found by the end of the holiday we'd really made the most of our time and felt rested by the end of it too. The hotel caters well for all needs and is a good choice if you're happy to away from the noise and don't mind getting involved in the activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor. That way you've got easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DevinParmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I went to Marrakech for one week with my friend.
We had lots of fun. The animation was great. During the day you could join their activities and in the evening there was a show and dancing afterwords. Samir, Bob and Salim made our trip nice. They are friendly and sweet.

The food was also really good. I advise people to go there!

Greetings from Belgium!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The UK weather was unremittingly grim so we booked a last minute deal at the Tikida Garden and one day later we were basking in the sunshine. The location of the hotel borders upon one of the less salubrious areas of Marrekech, but it's perfectly safe and it's not a big city, so everything's still close at hand. The welcome we received when we arrived set the tone for the whole holiday. The staff worked exceptionally hard, yet they were always friendly and upbeat. As with any all inclusive hotels the restaurant resembles a canteen, but that goes with the territory. Nonetheless, the food was of a high standard, with some local dishes and lots of family friendly options. Again, the head chef worked his socks off, but always looked like he'd just won the lottery. The drinks were much better than I'd expected. The wines were very pleasant and far superior to anything we've experienced in the Greek Islands. As the hotel is popular with French guests there was also a healthy supply of Pastis which I love, so I never bothered with the cocktails. The rooms are pretty standard, but we had no complaints. The lobby would benefit from more information for tourists, but the tour companies like to push their own tours, so I doubt that'll happen. The sun shone every day and the temperature never dropped below 25 degrees centigrade and hit highs of 41 degrees centigrade. However, the low humidity meant that the heat was never unbearable. The only problem we experienced was from some of the English guests - The usual loud, boorish behaviour of some Brits abroad (some openly discussing why they were proud to be racists). Of course they were a minority, but a loud minority all the same. Picking a spot away from the pool's edge helped matters. We weren't really interested in the evening entertainment, but the other guests we spoke to thought it was terrific. All in all we had a wonderful week away and at £800 for the two of us it was incredibly good value. Last year we spent a fortnight in a 5 star hotel in Kos and it wasn't a patch on the Tikida Garden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Tikida garden has become all inc since our last visit. The day time eaterie looked a little more canteen than restaurant, but the quality of the food didn't disappoint.. Indeed the furnishings were very practical for the lotioned bodies!
The high quality of customer care, cleanliness and maintenance remains as high as ever. The gardens are a work in progress and beautiful, the rooms (we had a suite) were immaculate. All the staff were cheery and helpful, and it was good to see the managers around and about at all times of the day. They certainly appear to have a team of which they can be proud.
The Thomson's rep, Rachid, was brilliant, and seemed ever present and ready to help with any questions about the area as well as trips.
The brochure says there are two pools, but there is no separate pool for kids, just a large shallow area of the main pool. The indoor pool is available at a charge at restricted times thru the summer months.
We picked up a good deal, much less than brochure price. The saving meant we could make more use of the spa, which is quite expensive, but very beneficial.
We look forward to another visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms in the Katoubia block overlook a would be building site, the the even numbers get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WLindeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Rui Tikida Gardens for 3 nights from the 7th May to 10th May. The Hotel was excellent - great staff and service. There was a great variety of food from the moment we arrived at 11.30pm to the moment we left. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant and lunch is served in the pool restaurant. There's a variety of food including salad, pizza, pasta, bread, soup, puddings.

The hotel grounds and pool area were immaculate. There are a good selection of sun loungers around the pool and in the garden area. You will need to reserve you lounger by 10am to guarantee a good position.

Our room was in block 200, near the main building. Rooms were standard - 2 twin beds, tv, bathroom and separate toilet. The maids cleaned and tidied the room each day to a good standard.

Our Thompson rep did a great job, he was always busy so hang around for a slot to become available. We did the Medina and Souks excursion, I would recommend it! It was a great experience! It is approx £16 per adult.

Currency could be exchanged at reception at a decent rate. Always ask for a written receipt as this will be needed at the airport when converting money back.

Negative: The porter took our luggage to the room on arrival and expected a tip. We had just arrived and had not had a chance to change any money. The porter did state that he would except English money. This experience was fairly awkward and could have been prevented if we had the opportunity to take our own luggage.

Overall I would rate this hotel 3*/4*.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyashford26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have just returned from the Riu Tikida Garden after a 7 day holiday with my family and friends (5 adults and 2 kids) and we all had such a lovely time I had to write a review.

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with cocktails. The staff were very friendly and we were checked in quickly. The porters took our bags straight to our rooms which were nice, spacious and very clean. Be aware that the porters do want a tip for this and as we had only just arrived, we had no Dirhams to tip with! The hotel itself is well laid out very well and all the facilities were well maintained.

The bar and restaurant staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. The animation team were also fantastic and they kept us and the kids entertained with activities throughout the day such as water polo and then later in the evening with their shows (the shows aren't that great, but they are fun and they certainly try hard to get everyone involved). Sam and Bob should get a particular mention as they were just ace!

Food is available throughout the day both at the main restaurant and the poolside snack bar. It was of good quality and there was always plenty to choose from. I was most impressed with the poolside snack bar because in comparison with other all-inclusive holidays I've been on it offered so much choice. The salad bar and fresh home made pizzas were my favourite.

Drinks are plentiful and the local spirits were very tasty. I was impressed to find that gin and tonic (real Schweppes tonic too) was served as part of the all-inclusive. The kids were happy because various fizzy drinks and fruit juice were self service throughout the day.

We had a trip into Marrakesh and due to reviews on Trip Advisor and stories from friends, we were a little apprehensive to go alone so we hired a tour guide through the hotel. His name was Isham and for a very reasonable price, he took us to see the sights. I can't recommend him enough as he was friendly and very knowledgable. He took us to see a riad which we would not have otherwise had the chance to see (it was unbeleivable) and toured us around various areas in the sook and main square.

If you're thinking of booking this hotel, you should go for it. We all agreed what a great time we had and none of us would hesitate to go back there given the chance.

Happy holidays :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Redambergreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#113 of 500 in Marrakech
2,367 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#88 of 500 in Marrakech
5,482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#137 of 500 in Marrakech
1,323 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#153 of 500 in Marrakech
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $117 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive Hotel Riu Tikida Garden opens all year round and lies 3 km from the old inner town of Marrakech, a vibrant metropolis with approx. 800 000 inhabitants, lying at the foot of the Atlas mountains. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Marrakech-Menara Airport RAK (7 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 257 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 1 outdoor pool, 1 indoor pool and 1 children's pool. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant and Moroccan specialty restaurant, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing