We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #113 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent a week here at the beginning of March. The weather was amazing. I was not expecting it to be so good. Clear blue skys everyday and really warm in the sunshine. It was not too warm however if you wanted to go sightseeing etc...
The pool at the hotel is freezing. I did manage to get in it once and it was actually very refreshing. The grounds are beauitful and lots of choice of sun lounger in the gardens which I preferred to right by the pool. You will notice that people will put their towels on the pool sun loungers really early and then go elsewhere for a few hours or not even use them. This is not unusual as it goes on at most hotel but I still don't understand why people do it.

Took a trip to the Atlas mountains which was amazing. So beautiful up there and quiet compared to the madness of Marrakech.
We went into town on a few occasions and really enjoyed it. Took a hamman and a massage at a gorgeous spa and general mooched about going into the souks.

We do not usually do all inclusives and this holiday was a bit last minute. I did find the food repetitive but appeciate that the hotel do a really good job considering how many they are catering for. There was always a new dish on in the evening and they seemed to cater for most tastes. I was a bit dissapointed that there was not more authentic morrocan cusine as would have liked to have seen more tagines. We did eat in the restaurant one night which we booked in advance. The main was nice but the starter and dessert was still a buffet which I had really had enough of by the end of the week. I know alot of people have mentioned that the food was amazing but maybe thats because they have other all inclusives to compare it to. Both my partner and I were quite ill for 24 hours while we were there so that did put me off the food also. Breakfast was by far the best meal of the day with fresh orange juice available and freshly cooked eggs and pancakes.
Our room was nice. We never had any special towel decorations in our room but it was always spotless. Staff were ok. Some bar staff in the pool bar/restaurant could be a bit miserable sometimes but all the animation team were friendly enough. Lots of activities to do if you want to.
Did not like the fact that you could smoke in certain areas and the bar. There is a downstairs bar which is smoke free but thats more for entertainment.

All in all a good hotel. Not 4 star, more like 3.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,072
    382
    103
    42
See reviews for
677
1,272
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just got back my hubby and I from an 20 yr anniversary
This hotel is breathtaking so quite and peaceful and spotless the standard room are good too to food id good great selection something fo everyone they snack and drinks are always available through out of hours .... Lunch is at the pool restaurant fantastic place eat near the pool chilling ice cold drinks local beer ,,we don't drink but guest enjoyed themselves ,, we where always stuffed the lunch meals times are excellent break 7.30 -10 12-3 lunch 7-10 dinner brilliant we used to go out thinking we would eat out but we always managed to do some sight seeing and always having time for lunch o dinner back at he restaurant try to keep you're excursions early leave so you can come back o the hotel to freshen up and relax and have a lovely meal at th in dining with crispy clean Cotten table clothes with dim lighting very so relaxing then after dinner make you way into the lobby or the separate bar very smockey I must admit even the lobby was too smokey too so being used to no public smoking in uk there isn't anywhere to escape smokers they should just be allowed to smoke outside or in the bar And not in the main lobby ,the shuttle was very punctual and dropped you off and pcked up in the min area in marrakesh then u could discover the city by walking or hop on a taxi pay 15 dh for small taxi to the media or 2odh max for middle size taxi mind you the so called grand taxi mosques you should pay 40 dh but over all the hotel is in a fantastic area if you want to discover outside the hotel ,once you leave the seclusion of the hotel take a right walk down then passing the school coming into the main rd take aright passing the shops cafes on Tuesday's there's a market for the local residents u must go there to pick up ur kaftan and slippers slippers are 30 dh £2-60 this is a residential area of shopping where the local go and not tourist prices so prices start very low anyway unlike rip off town and main market al Jemma al Fena which they start from 80-90 dh and haggle all the way down to 30-40 if you buy more than one morracan slippers But please don't let the rundown residential put u off the people are are very nice and gentle and are fascinated by us tourist so do give that market a. Go ,,,and one more thing along side outside the hotel again just slightly opposite the school is a newly built hammon for both ladies and men you might need to take you're supply of beauty product but at the entrance of payment I think they sell all you need ata bargain price for a hammon there was 20 dh!!! A bargain or what the residents use it pay 100 if you have to for the full montey. Better than paying 400-700 dh in the ripp off tourist centre so give it a go it's on the doorstep or stay in the garden grounds get the hammon there they offer lots once again great staff and chef and the hotel director fantastic bloke once of our guest friend daughter had a upset tummy the chef and director would off t make her something special if she wasn't up to anything in the dinning room how brilliant is that Rui takidA keep up the good work and we will come back to youuuuuu

Room Tip: All the room where lovely all set amongst the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sajila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I looked at the two rui hotels in Marrakech for our honeymoon and even though the other looked slightly more luxurious I felt it had no Moroccan character, where as this one exudes it. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we knew we had made the right choice. Not only is this hotel set in beautiful grounds, but it caters for every need, the staff couldn't do enough for us and we where left an array of honeymoon gifts in our room. The first night champagne, followed by a bunch of roses, towels shaped in swans with rose petals scattered on the bed and the rose petals scattered in bathroom. The food was great and lots of choice (even for someone as picky as me!). The weather was glorious - much better than I imagined it would be for March. I can't wait to go back to the tikida gardens.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sally n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The pictures of this hotel although good do not actually do it justice. The place is spotlessly clean and is kept that way through the dedication shown by all the staff from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. They are extremely attentive but not overbearing. The rooms are very adequate and well attended by the maids and tipping them 20dh (about £1.80) every day (no more than 100dh per week though) is well worth the cost. Food is very good albeit sometimes repetitive, but there is plenty of it throughout the day. Take the excursion trip to the Medina and the Souks and hopefully you will get a guide called 'Najeab' absolutely nuts but he is a scream the whole time! I wished they sold whatever it is he was on, maybe they do? If you feel like hiring a car, don't! - there are swarms of mopeds everywhere in the old city, Medina, Souks etc. and they do not have a care in the world or road sense, you need to keep your wits about you all the time! Overall it was a great experience. Would we do it again? - Definitely!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sctxob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e sussex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel is 4x. 24 hr reception is efficient & friendly. Very clean. Pool area nice. Gets busy. Pool bar service is a bit slow. All inc drinks are locally produced. Bars open from 10:00 to midnight. We had room 290 on the 3rd floor overlooking pool, it wa lovely and quiet. 3rd floor rooms have big balconies. Ages varied. From early twenties to retirees. What suprised me was how many french holiday makers there were. Food was ok. There was lots of choice but we have been spoilt over the years. The food was good quality but for me not enough authentic food, tajine etc, They catered for my wifes allergy well, preparing seperate food freshly for her.
Wifi is free but a bit hit & miss. Usually ok in reception/lobby area. The room is intermittent during the day.
They always state satellite tv. Ok, but the only two English channels were cnn news & bbc news. All the rest were foreign. I don't go away to watch tv but not the point. Room had fridge and bottled water left each day. More water avail from reception or zanzibar bar (for free). Maid does a good thorough job.

Early morning the hotel is a hive of activity. People cleaning everywhere. The gardeners work hard, pruning, planting and watering. The hotel is very clean. Staff very friendly. The entertainment team try and get you involved but do take no for an answer. I just wanted a chill out holiday.
There is no where nearby to walk to so you are stuck in resort unless you take the free shuttle or take a taxi. Walking can be intimidating as the locals do stare as we found when we walked to the local pharmacy 5 mins away.

Did a trip through Thomson called discover Marrakech. Well worth £30. Full day. You do go to a rug coop with a spiel, hopefully to buy a rug. Also the spice shop. This is a little more interesting and there is no pressure to buy anything. The lunch provided is really good. They take you through various areas of the souk and you have 1 hour free time at the end to experience haggling, snakes, monkeys and beggars. Beware of motorcycles weaving in and out, this includes down some of the narrow alleys.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room. We had room 290 on 3rd floor overlooking pool but away from main building. Was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed the last full week in february this year. In my opinion I would class the hotel as 3 star. Room was lovely and clean and towels changed daily. Bar staff and entertainments team were hard working and very friendly. The food however was not up to the standard of other RIU hotels we have stayed in and the pool was that cold that only a few people ventured into it. Glad to have experienced Marrakesh but once is enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we have just come back from here we went for a week in February 2012. i went with my husband and our 10 year old son. the hotel was beautiful the staff are very helpfull and the food was out of this world. however i found that there was not much goingb on for children unless they are french.!!!

also do not take travellers cheques as morocco are phasing them out and you can not change them anywhere

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank happy1Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#112 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#251 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
#142 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing