We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite Rui standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not quite Rui standard”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just arrived back after a week wished I had booked the other Rui at Marrakech this hotel although the staff are very friendly and helpful this is certainly not a 4 star hotel. Although the Rui chain have just taken this hotel over they should have put more effort in to the entertainment side and food side of the hotel before it is even good enough to be called a Rui hotel. There is nothing to do at night other then sitting in a smoke bar listening to Karaoke or a keyboard entertainment. All other Rui Hotels I have stayed at and I have stayed at many have shows at 10pm with either the animation team or professional shows being put on. Thank god I was not there at high season with everyone crammed in this very hot bar. There was a spa on the site but you had to pay approx 10 english pounds to use the indoor swimming pool and the gym was only available between 3 - 7pm for any hotel guests. The Rui Group have a lot to do before this hotel can really be included in their chain. They need to build a place for the evening entertainment, sort out the terrible food in the Moroccon restaurant we walked out after the second course. The food in the main restaurant is fine but no special evenings or cooking stations. The rep Sandra is quite helpful but sometime very ecconomical with the truth about some of the trips. One highlight was when my partner and I went on a tour of Marrakech on the red open top bus this is very entertaining and very cheap and you can see all of Marrakech hoping on and off as you wish. On the whole I would at one point go back to Marrakech but not back to this hotel unless it had been revamped and certainly deserved to be included in the Rui Group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexbird15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    1,103
    390
    106
    44
See reviews for
693
1,301
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just arrived home after 2 weeks wished we where still there. Found the staff and animation team friendly and funny, Could not fault anything its one of the first places that myself and my
partner have stayed where we found the food to what we like with no upset stomaches.The Thompson rep Sandra was so helpfull and made our stay pleasurable. Thanks to All.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed 12th Sept '11 for 1 week. Great hotel with high standards. Beautifully presented from the entrance through to the room we stayed in. The gardens, bars, pool, & dining areas are great. Food was excellent at ALL times, the chef's always made an appearance at each meal time and all staff were very approachable and accommodating. Entertainment staff were all lovely and if you wanted to join in there were lots of activities arranged by them. If you just wanted to chill out & relax by the pool or in the gardens they were happy for you to do just that. No loud 'banging' music playing near the poolside made a pleasant change from some hotels we have visited. Marrakech is an amazing place to visit and we booked the Discover Marrakech tour with the rep (circa £32 each). This trip was fabulous value for money. A full day, 8.30am until 7pm. The guide was excellent and we saw places we’d have never found ‘going it alone’. Lunch was included which was to a very high standard, drinks were extra. The bookable Moroccan Restaurant was very, very good. Music and singing and a great atmosphere. You don’t need to tip here to get good service, it was included! However we did tip as we felt the staff had provided above what we'd expected. We wished we had booked a 2 week stay and were sad to leave, but would certainly stay at this hotel again without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy1964Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned from a weeks break at this hotel and I have agree with most comments that the Staff and high standard of food (A bit repetative but fine for a week) make this a good value hotel.The Riu group have recently taken over this hotel and I have based my review on the current state of play and for that reason this is not a 4 star hotel ,more 3 star.The rooms are clean and bright with an excellent standard of cleaniness across the hotel . It has a nice authentic ''Moroccon '' feel about it with the decor and it's almost central location. At present the Evening entertainment is almost non existant ,what is offered is a bit of Karaoke and the worse Keyboard entertainer in the world.I have to say the daytime animation team work hard ,however they need to develop some sort of night time entertainment programme.There is a brand new theatre ready ,so hopefully they will make best use of it.The Pool is an old fashioned rectangle shape with everybody packed around it like sardines,if you want a quiet area then use the magnificent gardens.In conclusion the Riu group have a fair bit of work to do to improve the overall quality of this hotel,this can only be achieved by redressing some of the issues (Evening Entertainment ,Additional Pool,More Umbrella's and Cooking Stations and touch up those areas around the hotel that need it) If this is done ,then I feel it will compete well with it's sister Riu in Marrakesh with the added bonus of location and that real Moroccon feel.

Room Tip: Room Tip Ask for a room in the 400's Newer Block ,Second Floor Balconies are the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Spent 2 weeks at this hotel, just arrived home, and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is advertised as a 4* but in reality it is a 3* - 3*+. this is because some of the room fittings are either damaged or just old. However don't let that put you off going there. The 400 rooms are just a little "posher" having a power shower with massage facility and better quality furnishings. They aren't any bigger or quieter than the 200 or 300 rooms - they do however have more french guests. The food is fantastic - yes it is buffet style but there is such a variety you can always make it a new experience. The rooms are kept clean and the army of people who clean the gardens and communal areas deserve a special mention - go out around 7.00am and you will see why. The pool is quite large but if you want a sunbed by it you have to be on a bed at 0745, wait until 0800 and then you can reserve it. You are better off just having a bed in the garden area, because unless you get one of the beds in the top right hand corner of the pool area you will lose the sun. The bar is limited on drinks in that the staff only have a very limited knowledge of cocktails and only stock local brand drinks. On the plus side - the measures are BIG! There are plenty of activities going on during the day if you don't want to leave the hotel but you should take time to explore the local areas. Don't accept any offers from the locals to guide you - they will expect a large tip for doing it. A good way to see the city of Marrakech is to get the "toy train" from where the hotel shuttle bus will drop you off. It is 50dhm for an hours tour and very entertaining. It leaves the area around the at about 1/2 past the hour. The optional excursions are different, but beware of the Sahara aventure 2 day tour. It is a 13 hour drive, each way, in a four wheel drive vehicle around some extremely twisty passes and is about 15 minutes into the desert. If you suffer from travel sickness don't bother. Check the traveling times for all the excursions before booking. I would definitly go back to this hotel and would recomend it for either a relaxing holiday or an activity holiday - your choice.

Room Tip: For a pool room , ground floor odd 300 rooms. For a "posher" room any 400 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vstarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have recently returned from 1 week at this hotel - firstly let me say the staff were fantastic- always happy to help and try to cater to all requests; let me give a couple of examples: We had read on a post about the newer part of the hotel having larger and quieter rooms (rooms starting with a 4 incidentally)- on arrival we asked if this request could be accomodated and we were instantly given a room that met our request. Secondly we had pre-booked a couple of excursions, but left the paperwork at home- again not a problem at all, we forwarded the emails and the staff delivered the hard copies to our room within the hour. Other positives: Rooms were nice, very clean and comfortable; the food was typical buffet style, but good quality and variation.

From our perspective there were 2 negatives- firstly the pool - whilst nice enough it is just too busy, there are huge amounts of unused land (grassed areas rather than wasteland) and the hotel would benefit hugely from investing in an additional pool area. Secondly the entertainment - you are a little way from the centre of Marrakech at this hotel so you will doubtless spend some nights in the hotel - the entertainment consists of Bingo, Karaoke and Belly dancing.

Overall I have rated this hotel as very good, mostly because the staff and rooms deserve that rating- the entertainment and the pool will not spoil your vacation, but don't expect to much from them. I doubt I will go again but I would recommend it to friends who wanted a good value vacation with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building (rooms 4xx)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K15hy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Me and my husband recently stayed at The Tikida Garden for our honeymoon, couldn't fault any of it! Very clean, hard working friendly staff and a high standard of food. If i did however have anything that i would change it would be the variety of the breakfast buffet as this was the same every day...that's it!
Our Thomson rep was brilliant and gave very valuable advice for visiting the city.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms will be cooler as they don't get any direct sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 499 in Marrakech
2,333 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing