We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern dream of 1001 nights come true”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #16 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Köln, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A modern dream of 1001 nights come true”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

To be honest - it's not cheap. But it's a bargain considering what you get: lovely people who care for you, the most delicious breakfast, good food in general in case you don't want to go out, two pools - one in the country, surrounded by a beautiful garden, and one in the city which can be a life saver in hot Marrakech - , a very comfortable, clean room (I could not afford the more expensive ones and heard that they are really splendidly decorated but I was perfectly fine with mine in the newer wing of the hotel) you really have the best of both worlds. That's why I call it a modern dream: You get the the service of a modern hotel but with this special oriental fairy tale flair. I would always go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    99
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
370
1,068
65
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I've never written one of these reviews before - but having just returned from La Maison Arabe i feel compelled to share our experience. We had a truly fantastic weekend (Friday to Monday). We looked at reviews before we booked and plumped for Arabe. The staff are incredibly polite and attentive and the food in the resatuarant is first class. The monkfish tagine is a must! It is perfectly situated in The Medina and good walking distance from the square etc. The short mini bus ride to visit the Country Club shouldn't be missed - we had an incredibly relaxing time at what can be best described as an oasis. Taking lunch around the beautiful swimming pool and the attention of Ahmed during the day was superb. We will definitley be returning to La Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atko42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated and situated in a way that makes you feel like you're home. The lobby/check-in staff members are friendly, helpful and very efficient. The lobby is also small leaving more space for interesting furniture, artifacts and art work throughout the hotel. Once we were quickly checked in we discovered something special and interesting around every corner of the hotel and up and down every staircase.

The hotel is small by some standards, but spacious. You can easily "get away from it all." Aside from the guest rooms, there are both outdoor and indoor semi private areas. In addition, the bar/lounge area is large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The friendly and fun staff there will make sure of it. The restaurant food is terrific and the staff is warm, helpful and always smiling. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet. The buffet food is fresh, and some items can be made to your specifications. If eating a very healthy breakfast is important then this alternative will work well for you.

One of the concerns we had during our trip (Spain and Marrakech) concerned noise outside the hotels since we had never stayed in any of them prior to this trip. At La Maison Arabe we were within an easy walk from the Souk and otherwise on a small but somewhat busy street. We never heard outside noise in our room. We stayed in a deluxe suite (there were three adults) and we were very comfortable. We had only a few special requests and the staff was happy and quick to assisst us.

The on-site pool and the surrounding area is very clean, refreshing and relaxing. I used it several times. We also spent a few hours at the off-site pool. The drive to the site is short. Once you get there, there is a 100 yard walk through a nicely landscapted area and then another surprise. More to see and do and terrific service. This was another comfortable place to relax, play, eat, drink and socialize with other guests and staff. There was no pressure from anyone to do anything! (Including from my travel partner!)

We had never been to Africa prior to this visit. Our experience, in large part due to the hotel and the staff, was unexpected and pure delight. We intend to visit La Maison Arabe again, soon. If you choose to stay there, please say hello to Mahdi, Rachid and/or Brahim from Bruce, Shelley and Daniel. They were especially kind and helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brucewcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Our family had such a wonderful stay at this oasis-in-the-city. Small, elegant hotel in the heart of the old town. Minutes to walk to the square, the souks, and all they have to offer. Great food, which they seemed to serve at our convenience. But what really put this hotel over the top was the truly outstanding personal service we received. At some point in our Moroccan trip, my husband contracted a bug. By the time we reached Marrakech, it was clear that he needed medical attention. The hotel manager of La Maison Arabe personally escorted us to a doctor! On a Saturday morning!! Even without this extraordinary attention, we can enthusiastically recommend this very special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camelNaples_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This hotel was by far was the highlight of our trip to both Spain and Morocco. The attentive and friendly staff made this a very relaxing and enjoyable retreat. The decor was the best, the wonderful Hammam was very serine and perfect, the smells and sounds of this hotel just made us very comfortable. One special note to the best bartender (mixologist) in Morocco- Rachid. He created special drinks for us and even educated us on tea making. Mahdi the Front Desk Manager was very accomodating to all our requests. Food, drink, decor, spa, pools, even the offsite resort property was a hit! I can't say enough about how positive this place is. Don't go anywhere else in Marrakesh! It's a 10 for service, food and accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConchitaGris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

As a travel writer, I've stayed in some great places, but this one -- for so many reasons -- is my favorite. The service is friendly and generous. The hotel is full of amazing, eclectic art and has wonderful nooks and crannies to sit in with a good book. The pool in the new addition is beautiful (it's rare to have a property in the medina with a decent size pool), but don't let that you dissuade you from taking a free shuttle out to the hotel's "country club." The country club has nothing to do with golf, but rather is a country oasis, with some of the most amazing gardens ever (rosemary hedges) and a lovely pool area and casbah.

Located on the edge of the medina, shopping is convenient, but the overall area isn't noisy.

Their chicken pastillas are the best ever and even non-cooks can appreciate one of their cooking workshops.

I hope I get to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NutellaFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Only had one night, whats nice about this hotel is that it offers an alternative to the "pure Riads" where its little bit larger with outstanding public spaces to hang out and a restaurant which is a huge plus. EVERY DETAIL is thought through. Particularly spectacular is the choice of color schemes and night lighting that is so magical. This doesnt just happen, someone has worked hard with such attention to detail. The manager went out of her way to find me to make sure that my stay was going well. Note the historic restaurant was under renovation when I visited however, the restaurant by the poole is probably the most romantic beautiful setting I have seen and they had live music playing during dinner! Room was just as nice -- the turn down service litterally reorganized all of the toiletries etc so it was as if I just checked in -- some of the best I have seen.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLA011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
1,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#383 of 499 in Marrakech
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#297 of 499 in Marrakech
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing