We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #16 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Marrakech Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel and I definitely recommend it. Because of its 5 out of 5 Tripadvisor rating, I expected it to be perfect and that may have set my expectations too high. I really want to give it a 5 out of 5 but it missed the mark slightly on a couple of occasions.

It is beautiful inside - truly a paradise when faced with the chaos of the city. We had a suite that overlooked the pool and it was a gorgeous room. The only thing we were awaken by the call to prayer from the nearby mosque every night. I assume that you'd hear the same from any hotel in the city.

I took a cooking class offered at the hotel and it was wonderful. Since there were so many of us signed up for the course, they held it at their "country club" facility where they have a state of the art learning kitchen. I learned how to make a chicken and preserved lemon tagine as well as two delicious vegetarian starters and then we all sat down together to eat our delicious Moroccan food. I highly recommend taking this cooking course.

The hotel owns property in another part of the city and they call it the "country club." It is a beautiful garden (with lily pads, frogs and turtles) and pool hidden behind a gate. The hotel runs an hourly shuttle
to the property and you must go there at least once. We enjoyed the sunshine laying by the pool and ordered some freshly squeezed orange juice. This was served to us and tasted salty so we sent it back. They brought us another and this was even saltier than the first. Someone must have mixed up the sugar and salt containers!

The spa is lovely and relaxing although we had a disappointing time at first. My daughter and I went for massages and they thought our appointment was for 30 mins when we were expecting an hour and tried to just add on another 30 minutes but that doesn't work when it has been stopped in the middle of what is supposed to be a relaxing a massage. Also, they did not show us all the oil choices as their brochure said they would. Basically, they did not take the time with us that they say they will. When management got wind of our dissatisfaction, they immediately offered us massages the next morning and did not charge us for either massage. This was greatly appreciated. My "make up" massage was probably the best massage I've ever had.

We ate at the restaurant pool restaurant a couple of nights and the food is really good. One night we ate in the Jazz club and this was a fun and relaxed way to have dinner. Rachid, our server, was outstanding. He even made my daughter a special elixir of honey and ginger to help with a bad cough she had. He went above and beyond! There was one waiter we had at the pool restaurant who was terribly unfriendly and unhelpful and this left a sour taste in our mouths. Perhaps this was also a language thing, but, there were plenty of people who we were unable to communicate with fully but they still had a smile and tried to be as helpful as possible.

I should also mention that upon our arrival, the manager saw that we could get a better rate on one of our rooms and he immediately made that change for us. This was greatly appreciated, especially because it was completely the hotel's doing.

Please stay at this beautiful hotel. Just know that nothing is perfect and in Marrakech, it can be a struggle to be understood if you do not speak French or Arabic (Or even better - Berber!). So, to sum up: we are really happy that we stayed at this lovely hotel but there were several small issues that made it hard for me to give it the 5 out of 5 that I was hoping for.

Room Tip: We really liked room 240 - overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Esteemed Client,
Thank you for your critique and positive feedback regarding La Maison Arabe.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time you have
taken to let us know where we failed to meet your expectations.
It is true that in a Muslim country one is often awakened by the early morning
call to prayer, particularly in downtown areas where there are more mosques.
We regret that your initial spa experience was a disappointment, but am relieved
that you experienced an exemplary massage during your second visit to our spa.
Improving foreign language skills for staff is a challenge for the entire hotel
industry in Morocco. At La Maison Arabe we offer intensive English classes
every year to all members of our team. Although there is always
room for improvement, we feel that, on average, our staff's command of English
is much higher than the norm for the Kingdom. Most of our staff also speaks French,
and there are members of our staff fluent in other languages such as Spanish,
Italian, German, and Dutch.
I agree with you that nothing is perfect, but at La Maison Arabe we are striving
for excellence and would like to get as close to perfection as possible. Your
feedback has been most helpful to us in this regard.
We hope to welcome you back one day to La Maison Arabe.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    88
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
317
880
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this hotel through Kuoni for my Husbands 50th birthday and we were not disappointed. This is one of the most amazing and romantic hotels we have stayed in. It is a unique and charming boutique hotel where the staff are all so friendly, we really didn't want to leave ! We dined in the hotel restaurant both nights, the food was exquisite and the authentic moroccan music added to the romantic ambient atmosphere. They were also very helpful when we realised we left our car key behind in the safe, by delivering it to the airport before our flight home by a member of staff on a moped ! We will definitely return to this hotel for a mini-break in the future and have been raving about it to friends and family. Thank you everyone at La Maison Arabe for a truly wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a 5-star riad, and rivals any 5-star hotel I've experienced. The staff is incredibly accommodating. The light snacks and drinks at the Jazz Bar each night were a perfect ending to each day. One's eye cannot stop taking in the artistic detail of every nook and cranny of this hotel. You will truly feel you are in a different, wonderful world.

Room Tip: Might want to bring your own hair conditioner as I was surprised none was provided despite the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was very Moroccan: the décor and ambience seemed so authentic. The service was attentive bit not over the top (just as I like it). I was a sole female traveller and they catered well to my needs.
I did the cooking lesson one day, which was professional and very enjoyable. I also had a hammam and massage which was amazing - definitely recommend it.
I didn't get much time to explore Marrakesh, but the hotel seems reasonably central and is just 10 minutes walk from Djemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Everyone seems aware of who you are. Everyone wants to anticipate your needs and does so with a smile. This is service at its best and it's lovely!
La Maison Arabe is not quite in the mahem that is Marrakesh, but it is close enough to be accessible. Then you return to such lovely peace and luxury.
They don't advertise their pool and gardens on the other side of town. A shuttle bus takes you there and you enter paradise. Again, everyone wants to please.
Breakfast is not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, but the setting makes up for that.
Hard to fault.

Room Tip: 240 overlooks the pool and restaurant area but lacks a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The moment you enter the premises, you know you're in for a treat. Service was excellent, not pretentious and the staff seemed to want to do everything in their power to ensure that your stay went without a hitch.
We will certainly go back .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shobha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon this April. Staff were incredibly helpful and courteous, offering us a welcome drink on arrival , a tour of the hotel and then on our 2nd day, a complimentary upgrade to a room with a private balcony including sheltered patio. Rooms were comfortable and luxuriously furnished, breakfast delicious although the coffee was a bit weak! We went to the country club twice during our stay which was also amazing , pool very clean. Hotel also sorted out our bus tickets for us for the onward journey to Essaouria and negotiated a good rate with the taxi driver for us. If I had to give any negatives? The Jazz bar piano player couldn't really sing and the night we ate in the Moroccan restaurant, we found the staff there a bit less helpful and smiley. They were still pleasant enough. Meal was good but not outstanding. We really enjoyed our stay overall and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. You must try the hammam in the Spa!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nettoghett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing