We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Perfect setting for a family Christmas 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #19 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect setting for a family Christmas 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was everything we had hoped for and more . Apart from the comfortable setting and perfect location it was the staff that really made the stay very special. Nothing was too much trouble and they all took the time to get to know us over the week. Smiling at every turn. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    89
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
333
948
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Morocco is a country full of rich culture. Life in Morocco is full of contrasts, whether it be people, colors at the markets or the accommodation . Arriving in Marrakech, which is full on, hot, busy market places and many sites to see. It was a wonderful relief to arrive at La Maison Arabe. It is the oldest Raid in Marrakech and it is full of charm, and old world delights. The windy stairs to the beautiful spacious apartment or the jazz Bar, or the most amazing experience at the restaurant. Everything here is sincere, the people who work here, truly love to share the experience with you. Nothing is too much trouble. The service is impeccable, everybody wants to have you smile and enjoy the experience. That's exactly what we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife, 16 year old son and I spent five nights at La Maison Arabe in December, 2013. The hotel came highly praised. Our experience did not disappoint.

The setting:

La Maison Arabe is near the edge of the Medina in Marrakech. That makes it relatively easy to get to upon arrival (or by vehicle) – but also perhaps makes the experience just a little less exotic than that of some of the other properties (say, Maison MK) that are deeper into the Medina. That said, it was plenty exotic enough for us.

It is comprised – we were told – of 5 separate riads (walled houses built around courtyards) that were combined into a single hotel. The “patio” side of the hotel is original (older, more maze-like spaces), while the “garden” side is of new construction (and actually separated from the patio side by an alley, crossed almost seamlessly by a hallway suspended one floor up). The “garden” side is generally much more spacious and “linear” than the “patio” side – but with perhaps a little less sense of place.

So, if you want “new” and more orderly, go for the garden side. If you want quirky and older (but just as comfortable), go for the patio side.

The furnishings, décor, and ambiance are all first rate – the property is very well maintained, and there are many comfortable spaces of different types – both inside and outside -- in which to relax.

Our Rooms:

We had two rooms. A Patio Junior Suite and a Patio Deluxe Room. The Junior Suite was on the top floor and consisted of a single L-shaped large room. Oddly, due to the dimensions of the room, the bed was in the part of the “L” next to the entry, with a sitting area beyond the bed around the corner of the “L”. In actual use, that arrangement wasn’t a problem. We had a private terrace beyond the sitting area, which overlooked the “Garden” side and the pool.

Our room had two comfortable chairs inside and three chairs outside for reading and relaxation. We also had a fireplace and writing desk/chair. Lighting was generally pretty good. My only quibble would be that only one of the indoor chairs was usable for reading at night.

The bathroom had two sinks and a tub/shower combo. The tub was very narrow, making standing for the shower a little bit tricky – you couldn’t stand with your feet side by side, you needed to adopt a “front/back” stance. Not a problem in the end, but quirky enough.

I found our room to be very comfortable.

It being winter (highs in the upper 60’s, lows in the 40’s), the radiators in the main room and bathroom were going full force and made the room much too warm for us (we want to sleep in a 65 (18 C) degree room, and the room would have been 75 degrees or more with the windows closed). We compensated by opening the windows both day and night. I suppose we could have run the A/C, but that seemed silly, given the time of year.

Our son was originally scheduled to have the room next to ours, but for whatever reason was given a different room, two courtyards away and two floors down. His room was less successful – no real place to sit in the room (other than the desk). He did have a large patio, with several seating opportunities. Unfortunately, because of the location of his room, he really had no privacy with the curtains open (other rooms looked down on his room). So, if he wanted privacy, he needed to close the curtains. But, closing the curtains meant he couldn’t have the windows open, so his room got very warm at night due to the radiator – until he decided to run the A/C.

Both rooms had first class linens and bedding.

The moral: Some rooms on the patio side are more successful than others. In particular, if you like privacy, or more natural light, I’d opt for rooms on the higher floors.

The Service:

On the whole, the service was very good. Our airport pickup was seamless, and reception at the hotel efficient and warm. Housekeeping did not miss a beat. The wait staff was friendly and welcoming, and food service in the restaurants excellent. More than sufficient English was available. Recommendations from the front desk were also terrific and spot on.

I arranged for dinner reservations ahead of time. Although I can’t confirm this, I suspect that the hotel was able to arrange a dinner for us (at Gastro MK) that we might not have otherwise been able to obtain.

The only odd part of the service was during the initial contact to try to get dinner reservations. The first correspondent was somewhat relaxed about dinner – advising that I simply wait until arrival to get make reservations. That didn’t sit well with me, so after some negotiation I asked for reservations for the first two nights. That resulted in me being handed off to the reservations manager, who immediately advised that we book everything ahead of time. Exactly what I had been trying to do for a week, I thought. Not a big problem, in the end, but a little incongruous.

The Restaurants:

We ate breakfast every morning at the hotel, and had dinner one night each in the “3 Saveurs” and “Moroccan” restaurants. The breakfasts were great – with the help of outdoor heaters, we ate outside each morning. The dinners were also very good – especially the Moroccan restaurant. I’d gladly eat at either restaurant again.

The Verdict:

La Maison Arabe is a very well-run hotel, with a delightful ambiance and terrific sense of place. It was a wonderful base for us to explore the Medina in Marrakech. I don’t often say this about a hotel, but I just “felt at home” at La Maison Arabe. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors will provide more privacy and more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have travelled worldwide and La Maison Arabe is definitely one of my favourites!
We had The Royal Suite with a private terrace and jacuzzi . The staff were wonderful and we were treated really well. Taoufik and Adil took especial care of us, and trust me we were difficult clients! ( five girls )
From start to finish, the break was fantastic. The staff took care of our reservations for nights out, taxis, advise of places to see and a trip to The Atlas Mountains.
We had fresh flowers in our room and afternoon teas. - the holiday was made special by the hotel.

I would definitely stay at La Maison Arabe again! Thank you Taoufik and staff for all your kindness

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My mother, sister and I had dinner there while we were in Marrakech for the holidays. While the walk down the alley to the restaurant seemed a bit shady, Maison Arabe staff went out of their way to make us feel safe and welcome. The menu was overwhelming. So many choices. It was hard to choose. The wine was also excellent with a good wine selection. No matter where you are staying in Marrakech, take one evening to go to Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We ate there last night. The bar is more fun than the fine dining and you are not restricted on the menu options. We were spoilt for choice, the menu was so varied. The atmosphere was relaxed with a piano player who nearly hit all the right notes.... Food and service were fantastic, highly recommended, it doesn't get its number one status for nothing! We'd most certainly stay there next time as by day the hotel and amenities were first class.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaD12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at La Maison Arabe as part of a birthday party and I was most impressed by the service and friendliness of all their staff.
It is very homely and individual and I would recommened this wonderful hotel to anybody.
It was the absolute highlight of my Marocco holiday all the way from Australia.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localrestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing