We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooking class - Fine cuisine at La Maison Arabe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #15 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cooking class - Fine cuisine at La Maison Arabe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have just had not just the privilege, or the enjoyment, but the EXPERIENCE of attending the 1/2 day cooking class at La Maison Arabe. With 3 others, and under the exceptional guidance and instruction of Mafaa and the hotel's "Dada", I spent the morning making a chicken tagine, a hot salad and a cold salad. The result (for all of us) was mouthwateringly delicious and educational. I have not attended a cookery class before, but I do know that the bar is now set exceedingly high. The staff were professional and gracious. This was one of the best experiences of the week I had in Marrakech.

(By the way, we took a tour of the hotel afterwards. I know where I'm staying the next time I visit!! )

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    92
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
350
1,017
61
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I heard about La Maison Arabe several years ago from friends. Their comments were so overwhelmingly positive, they actually gushed, I didn't think everything they said could possibly - I was wrong. This small hotel is superlative in every way - the staff's hospitality, attention to detail and graciousness is peerless. . The restaurant served some of the best Moroccan food i had while in Marrakech and when I had had my film of tangines, I dined in the hotel's continental restaurant where I had an amazing dinner of baby lamb chops and possibly the best lemon tart I've ever had - that's a big complement coming from a New York foodie. The design and decor of the rooms and the common areas - the pool, the various bars, the rooms and suites - are filled with unique furnishings and accessories which I found out were carefully chosen by the discerning eye of proprietor, Prince Fabrizio Ruspoli. And don't let the fact that he's a prince steer you in the wrong direction - this place is comfortable, welcoming, relaxing and not at all stuffy. And finally the hotel's proximity to Fna Square and the souks meant I could wander around for a few hours or the entire day and if I got tired, or overladen with purchases, it was just a quick walk back to the hotel where I could revive myself with a drink, a swim or a visit to the spa. Just as I didn't believe my friends when they raved about this place, you probably think I'm exaggerating, but it's all true - Maison Arabe is just wonderful. It's a bit pricey but compared to what you get, it is worth every penny. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKentnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

we have stayed here on every trip to Marrakesh for over 13 years, sometimes twice in a year. Each time we leave we even more impressed with everything- the personnel are very welcoming, service exceptional especially the fast room service, and continuous upgrades of the rooms, restaurants, bar, and the heated pool. One unique feature to take advantage of is the private gardens, pool, and restaurant that can be visited by a 15 minute free shuttle service. If you have time, a lunch around the garden pool is an experience to behold. The cooking school is located there and is worth taking a class or two if you have time.
The Maison Arabe is not the Mamounia, one the same top level, but different in many ways- smaller, more exclusive, less ostentatious, and quietly hidden in the city center, near the souk/medina.
BTW, Something you don't see anywhere else is that their rooms offer desk level plugs for charging all the electronic items we carry with us these days-its an example of the attention to detail the Maison Arabe addresses in most everything.
It is a very sophisticated, quite, luxurious place to stay. Not to miss if you are in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: This time we were upgraded to the Royal suite, a 3 level apartment with roof garden over looking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We happily spent two nights in the Nahar royal suite, as well as enjoyed the riad's spa, piano bar and two restaurants during our stay. Having pioneered the riad hotel concept in Marrakech, La Maison Arabe's experience is evident in its gracious service.

All the staff were unfailingly courteous and eager to please; Morad at the front desk deserves a special mention for his warm welcome to the property and the city as well as ensuring our comfort throughout our stay.

It has been several years since the last renovation, but all in all the property is kept up well. When we arrived, there were some minor adjustments needed in our suite (i.e. the remote control for the air conditioner, a locked safe and a burned out light bulb in a closet), which were taken care of right away.

The evening ambiance at the bar and the poolside restaurant is very pleasant. The spa is well-designed, and the staff were more gentle with the hammam gommage and subsequent massage than at other facilities.

For the high caliber of its service and attention to guest needs, we would not hesitate to go back to La Maison Arabe.

Room Tip: The multi-level Nahar royal suite consists of a sitting room and bathroom on the first floor, a bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 306rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved the. La Maison Arabe. Our room was comfortable & clean. We were in a beautiful suite. The staff could not be more accommodating & helpful. The food was delicious. We took the cooking class. It was lots of fun. I would recommend the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have just retuned from Marrakech, where we spent three nights at La Maison Arabe. Very hard to find any fault. We were looked after very well from the first moment we entered the front door. We had a garden suite which was sizeable and very comfortable (aircon a little noisy). Very interesting hotel layout and beautifully furnished. Had one meal in the hotel which turned out to be the best we had. Also central location very interesting. Lovely swimming pool a 20 min shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleebana, NSW
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

La Maison Arabe
What can I say that hasn’t already been said? From the moment we stepped off the lane in the medina, just 10 minutes from the main square, and were greeted by the charming manager who took us to a small courtyard for a refreshing mixed fruit drink (lime, orange, banana, mint) served with nuts while our paper work was processed and our room made ready, until the time we left, 4 days later, you could not fault the attention to detail. Our huge room overlooked the courtyard pool. Because this has been built in two stages and actually straddles two streets, it takes a little time to find your way around – but all is explained when you are given a tour of the place, including the wellness centre with its hamam. There is plenty to see in Marrakech but do spend some time at the hotel’s Kasbah and garden pool, about 20 minutes away. A shuttle leaves on the half hour and you can swim, walk in the garden and have a light lunch. From day to evening there is so much you can do, tea and pastries by the pool, cocktails in the jazz bar, dinner in one of the two restaurants. We enjoyed the food so much we ate there every night. My husband was suffering post shingles pain so didn’t feel like going out too much. The staff are so attentive and always asked how he was. Forbes rates this place number one in Marrakech and we can see why.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz and Arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing