We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50$ off every day
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

this plase is one of these places where you stay to experience magic. It is beautifully decorated, the rooms are amazing, the whole atmosphere is about elegance and beauty. The restaurant is awesome and dont miss the "milk pastilla" for dessert! my favorite!
At dinner time, there are multiple musicians playing, alternating between soft traditional moroccan music and luth. If you want romance, that's the place to go as the tables are placed around a small swimming pool surrounded by moroccan lanterns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    88
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
316
880
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having just returned from La Maison Arabe we have nothing but positive things to say about this lovely place. We really couldn't have chosen anywhere better for our stay in Marrakech. The staff and service were first class, attentive without being over the top. We ate here two nights and on the third night chose to eat out at another 'top' restaurant in the Medina. We sincerely wished that we had eaten here a third night instead! Badr the guy in charge of the restaurant and its staff was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting places to go. It really was one of the best small hotels that we have ever stayed in - anywhere in the World. The swimming pool at The Country Club is a good size and again, staff are attentive and the food there was lovely too. It was an absolute joy to walk through the doors after a few hours wandering around the souks and markets. It was like being taken into a different world in comparison to the heat, haggling and dirt which you experience outside. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 249 - it was beautiful and it was one of the cheaper ones. We had a nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurleyGirl449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

stayed seven nights in june it was perfect great staff lovely room upgraded to a suite for last two nights lovely pool at country club nothing is to much trouble for the great staff even walking you to a hard to find resteraunt this is a superb place to stay can not think of anything bad to write

Room Tip: they try and give you an upgrade if you can afford a pool view suite thats the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekklgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech and I am so happy we chose to stay at the Maison Arabe. I cannot imagine a better riad and here is why; the hotel is within walking distance to the souks and offers a wonderful base for exploring. They were really helpful and were happy to arrange guides and cars for us. They even provided us with a mobile phone to call them in case we got lost in the souks and needed collecting!
If you needed a break from the madness you could either relax in the courtyard or make use of the country club which is available to all guests. The hotel arrange the shuttle and you are then only 15 minutes away from a stunning pool and garden.
We ate and ate and ate during our stay simply because everything tasted so good.
But what makes it stand out is the care and attention of the staff - they were so lovely.
I would gladly return and would recommend it to anyone looking for a Riad in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heleneelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Maison Arabe in Marrakech. The room, the atmosphere, the entertainment, the personal and helpful service and the location including the facilities were all fantastic!!! The hotel consists of 6 old riads (=houses of former times with a little courtyard in the middle where people relaxed from the heat and desert outside) which are adapted very nicely in the Marrocan style. We stayed in the Aladdin Suite which is situated in the old part of the hotel with a nice little terrace overlooking the pool area. We can only recommend this room. The wellness area is in the cellar of the lately built part (although this is also adapted to the Marrocan style of a riad) and we really enjoyed a hammam treatment with massage afterwards. There are two restaurants, one mediterranean at the pool and one Marrocan, which are also quite nice. Every evening we went to the piano jazz bar with its furniture in the style of the 1930-ies and its very competent barkeeper Rachid who knows how to mix the most fruity and tasty drinks and keeps creating new cocktails offering them as little samples every night. There is always life music around, either a piano man playing in the bar or a traditional musician in the courtyard. But what really excited us about the place was also the receptional service. They provided us with a mobile phone in order to call them in the case if we got lost in the confusing area of the Souks or if anything else happened to us so that they could organize help. Moreover we wanted to dine out every evening and they organized nice tables every day even if it was already late for reservations. The hotel is situated in a good residential area of the city and you can reach the Jamaa el Fna in a 10 minutes walk day and night (it is also save to walk in this area at night). All in all we spent exciting and unforgettable days in the Maison Arabe in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our third stay at Maison Arabe. We like to change hotels when visiting the same cities but this place makes it difficult: there's something perfect about it -- and we tend to be quite critical.

First, the public rooms: they are exquisite. The library is a dream, the sitting area in the courtyard is beautiful, and the bar is one of the most elegant I've ever seen. The owner has impeccable taste and the antiques, paintings, millwork and seating reflect it.

We've been in 5 different rooms in our multiple visits and my daughter, visiting with us, was in two - a fair sampling. Each is unique, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Though the bathrooms can be on the small side, they are very well designed and also beautifully decorated. Most of the rooms we've had come with a private terrace that can be a delight for a drink before or after a day in the city.

Both restaurants are excellent -- keep in mind that Moroccan cuisine isn't always of the haute cuisine sort, but they do a beautiful job with the classics, and the Saveurs, which is a bit more of a "fusion" menu, is excellent. Eating outdoors at the latter on a spring night is a delightful experience, with the swimming pools lined with candles and the lighting providing a romantic setting. The main dining room is elegant -- remarkably beautiful decor and enhanced by the Ghawa musicians.

The staff here is excellent -- gracious, discreet, always ready to assist and personable. One gets the distinct impression they didn't have to be trained much -- they are instinctively courteous and warm. Though we don't tend to do "shout outs" about individual staffers when we write reviews here, it's difficult not to mention Rashid, the delightful bar man. He is like a friend, always presenting new cocktails ideas, always at the ready to be sure one has a good supply of olives, savories and whatever else one requests.

The hammam is beautiful, restful and the service excellent. We also took the cooking class and loved it -- we've taken them elsewhere but they do a terrific job and it includes an explanation of the origins of Moroccan cuisine and includes a fascinating visit to the "neighborhood oven" where people bring in their bread dough to be baked.

One other true assets of the hotel is the country club. A ten minute ride on the hotel's SUV shuttle, it is beautiful -- large pool, gorgeous plantings, an excellent light menu and flawless service. We don't know of another riad that lets you enjoy the city and then escape to the Palmeraie for a countryside rest.

One warning -- the hotel is just across the street from a masque, and the calls to prayer at 3:30 and 4:30am are the enemy of jetlag. It takes some getting used to.

We've tried some other elegant riads (see our review of La Sultana, for example) but none we've sampled offers the authenticity of design, location (ten minutes walk to Place Jemma al-Fnaa), service, food and genuine warmth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour, then we had another riad booked for our last 4 nights in Marrakesh. Wish we had stayed at La Maison Arabe for our whole stay in Marrakesh! This place is beautiful. It is very traditional but so comfortable. It is down a small lane way and this made for the quiet atmosphere but was convenient to everything. We had dinner in both of the restaurant but we liked the Moroccain best. The courtyard is a lovely spot to have a drink before dinner but there are lots of little spots to either have a drink or just sit and read. Breakfast was good and we had the Moroccan pancakes one morning - delicious. I would love to stay here again if I go to Marrakesh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing