We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #20 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are just back from a truly lovely and relaxing vacation in Marrakech with our two boys ages 10 and 11. I was expecting something "adventurous" and maybe a bit overwhelming at times, but the trip was relaxed and wonderful from start to finish. We spent our first few days in the mountains before coming into the city to la Maison Arabe. We were met with exceptional service and friendliness. This hotel seems to have thought of everything. There are numerous quiet corners in which to relax, curl up with a book, or enjoy the sunshine. Our boys swam every day in the heated pool and we also went out to the "country club," a 15 minute drive from the hotel, one day to swim in that larger (unheated) pool. Our room for the first 2 nights was the Royal Suite and it was unbelievable, with a private roof deck with jacuzzi tub (!!) and huge luxurious spaces. The second two nights we were in 2 smaller rooms, also lovely, which shared a sunny outdoor courtyard.
The food at this hotel was fantastic - we ate twice at the "traditional" dining room and once in the other one. We didn't want to worry about food safety, esp with children, so we stuck to the hotel food. Our last day we did the cooking class which was terrific and fun.
I can't say enough about the quality of the service at this hotel. Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, without being annoyingly overattentive. We all felt completely at home here.
The location of the hotel is also excellent - walking distance to the large market area as well as the Marjorin gardens.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Royal Suite, it's well worth the cost. Heavenly!! But, our other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    88
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
333
946
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to Marrakech now 3 times and love it. After visiting with my husband for the second time; I decided to take my sister from the United States who had never previously held a passport. We did a girls weekend here from Europe.

La Maison Arabe is the total package for a vacation destination - close to the adventure of the medina (market). No need for a car and I recommend you don't get one. Just take taxi or arrange for pick-up thru the hotel. The staff are all amazing and willing to assist their guests. The hotel's pools are refreshing and enjoyable to just look at. There are two: on property and another in the gardens which is accessible by courtesy transportation. The pool in the riad is refreshing after a day of negotiations in the market place. The spa...oh la la how wonderful. I went for the hammam and massage with my sister and we had a totally rejuvenating 2+ hours. It was hard to prepare for dinner within the property. They have at least 3 places to eat. We needed more time to enjoy all of them and couldn't even fit in the totally professional cooking classes ;-( Gotta go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goonthefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This gorgeous riad/boutique hotel is 10 minutes from the central piazza, down an unlikely looking back street, is an ideal setting from which to discover Marrakech. The service is first class as is the attention to detail. The building itself is quite stunning and the 2 restaurants offer fine dining opportunities.

Room Tip: The garden suite overlooking the pool was quite exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
285 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were most impressed with this stay -- everyone was so helpful and friendly. The suite we had overlooked a courtyard with a nice terrace to sit outside. Huge closets, much space in the bedroom and a wonderful cozy sitting area down the hall. The furnishings are lovely too, a nice desk, artwork, pillows, etc. You have to be able to climb many stairs to get to the room -- they take your bags up as that would be a real impediment to any traveler with a large suitcase. But to go to breakfast you have to go up and down many staircases, and some are circular and small steps. Nevertheless, the climb is well worth the reward. So we would say this is one of the finest hotels we have seen during our travels in Morocco.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at 3 different places during our trip to Marrakesh and this one was our favorite! The service was exceptional and the overall ambiance of this hotel is the perfect! It really gave us the sense of being in an exotic, romantic location and the underground spa was magical and so relaxing. Waking up every morning for breakfast by the pool was a fantastic start to our day and dining in one of their two restaurants made for a wonderful ending to a full day of sightseeing. The other places we stayed at were very nice too but La Maison Arabe is the one that I hope to return to someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 323PAULH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My better half and I swung by "La Maison Arabe" looking for a nice place with a good food. Although online reviews were quite positive about "Les Trois Saveurs" restaurant inside the hotel/riad, we were still surprised by what we found inside. The restaurant offers three most important things you should expect from such a place - great food, professional service, and beautiful atmosphere. If you add a good location to that list, you get a perfect place for a peaceful getaway from usual street madness of Marrakesh Medina. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

When I visit a country I try to stay in places where I find the country’s character, culture and style. There are times that I even stayed at simple guest houses just to experience the local life. In Marrakech, luckily I found La Maison Arabe to meet my expectations. Situated within walking distance to most of the places of interest in the city, La Maison Arabe is a small boutique hotel (called “riad hotel” in Moroccan) with only 26 rooms. It was nicely and skillfully converted from an old arab house with a sympathetic swimming pool in the courtyard. The entrance is through a very narrow alley, typical of Marrakech’s old “medina”. Above all, the staff is extremely warm and friendly and very attentive. If you love to dine out of hotels, I advise you to think twice because La Maison Arabe offers two separate fine-dining restaurants by the pool with outstanding menus, including, of course, famous “tagine” varieties. If I had the time, I would definitely have loved to take cooking lessons from the Chef. Yes, dining there is not cheap, but it is definitely worth the money. All in all, La Maison Arabe is a great experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing