We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brilliant service and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #19 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
212 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

In many ways I am just repeating others' views. Beautiful hotel, lots of places to sit inside and out, particularly lovely in the old part of the hotel. The service was exceptional - we felt welcomed and known throughout our 3 night stay. There were small problems all dealt with efficiently - WiFi didn't work and there was some time spent giving us different passwords to try before it did. Then we had a power cut - just in our room apparently, and it was out for a couple of hours, but we went to breakfast and were kept informed as it was sorted out. Finally an area power cut within the city was announced for the morning we left - it didn't affect us at all but all rooms had a personal letter of explanation. We also found a free bottle of champagne when we returned from dinner - assume this happened to everyone staying during the power cut. My only complaint was i didn't know it was coming so we left it untouched!
Would love to come back. Breakfast excellent, Moroccan restaurant good but portions rather generous. We loved the Jazz Bar and the ability to eat small meals there instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear esteemed client,
Thank you for your kind words regarding La Maison Arabe. I would like to point out to readers that power cuts in our neighborhood of Marrakech are extremely rare. In the case you mention, we were told with less than a day’s notice by the city that power would be cut for several hours. We immediately notified all our clients staying at the hotel, and left everyone a bottle of champagne in their room as a small gesture for the inconvenience
this would cause. As it turns out, the public works were thankfully accomplished without cutting any electricity in our district. We sincerely hope you will return to Marrakech and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Maison Arabe...and please consider that your bottle of champagne has been kept “on ice” to enjoy during a future stay with us!
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    89
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
333
948
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in La Maison Arabe for three days, It is spacious, beautiful, well-run, clean, managed and run by a courteous and knowledgeable staff. The food is very good, served nicely by helpful people, including generous breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and choice of two restaurants for dinner (one solely Moroccan fare). The hammam is serene, and the hotel has a separate off-site garden-pool location (via shuttle) besides the heated pool at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAR922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

La Maison Arabe is elegant and interesting and a true Moroccan experience. The two restaurants are delightful and different and the Jazz bar - so cozy. We found the location ideal to see the old city and access the mountains as well. It is a very unique property that gives you the true flavor of the country. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank su r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from 6 nights at La Maison Arabe. Perfect ! We stayed in a Deluxe Suite Patio side, which was great. We've previously stayed in one of the standard rooms. These are lovely too. We prefer the old part of the hotel, but that's just our opinion...
My wife and I love Marrakech and this was our 5th visit in 7 years. We've spoken with many people who have visited the city, and most seem to appreciate the vibrancy, culture sights sounds and smells of the city. These can be fairly tiring...
La Maison Arabe is special because it offers the most beautiful mixture of style, value and a particular approach to customer satisfaction. We have never stayed anywhere where it is possible to feel as welcome. As soon as you step in off the street into the quiet interior, it's like coming home ( but nicer...)
The combination of absolutely central location, fantastic decor and beautiful rooms would be enough. However, for us, the Kasbah Gardens are a key issue in making the difterence between La Maison Arabe and the other (some are very nice, but not quite as special) top hotels in Marrakech . 15 minutes away in a free shuttle bus and you are in Paradise. We aren't big photograpers, so check out some photos on the website.
Our considered and informed opinion is that La Maison Arabe is the ultimate combination. We spent our days mostly at the Gardens and our evenings in the Souks. Visit the Jazz Bar for a Cocktail and enjoy the local take on some classic tunes. Have a Hammam! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We prefer patio side, which is the old part of the hotel. If you can afford a suite, get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well what I can say on this one. My fiancée and I stayed at La Maison Arabe for 5 nights at the beginning of February. We had booked this particular Riad after reading all the fabulous reviews on TripAdvisor. From the detailed emails prior to our arrival to the filled out flight boarding cards at departure we could not fault the hotel or its staff. The entire experience was magical from start to finish.
The Riad is beautiful. Tucked away up a side street from a very central location, it is an oasis amongst the madness of the streets of Marrakech. It is precisely 10 minutes’ walk to the old town or 15 minutes to the new town. The decor is traditional Moroccan, beautiful lanterns everywhere, wooden panelled walls, stunning rugs, and central courtyards and oooh the smells of Jasmine and Sandalwood drifting through the corridors is sublime.
There is a Hamman on site which I would recommend to go visit. We had a joint massage for 1hr which was very reasonably priced. The staff will also arrange trips for you from reception. We took a half day tour which included the palace gardens, grounds of the Koutoubia Mosque and a trip around the Souks.
Their country club is fabulous. They have a complimentary shuttle bus every hour and the trip takes around 15minutes. There is a large pool, lots of sun lounges, towels, hats, a meditation Casbah and Pool Bar.
The staff at both the Riad and country club outnumber the guests - you are waited on hand and foot. They are all sooooo polite and most know your name.
We were very impressed with the food at La Maison Arabe. Breakfast was a delight every morning, fresh eggs, olives, dates, figs... homemade yogurts, pastries and jams...fresh pressed fruit and vegetable juices (beetroot, celery and mint, carrot). There is complimentary afternoon tea served daily which can be served anywhere in the hotel grounds...sweet mint tea and almond pastries! We ate at their traditional Moroccan restaurant on the first night we arrived which was lovely and there were some traditional instruments being played by local musicians. We also took a cooking class on one of the afternoons which was a lot of fun and we got to tuck in afterwards.
We got chatting to the hotel manager on the 3rd morning and whilst we were out he rang us on our mobile and asked if we would mind being upgraded to a suite! He found out we had just got engaged so on our last night we arrived back to the Riad (on a horse drawn carriage) to find our room covered in rose petals arranged into hearts and our bathroom candle lit and bathtub filled with bubbles. What an ending to an incredible few days. We will be back and recommend to everyone and anyone we meet! Thank you La Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a really good hotel, quite close to the centre of Marrakech and a haven of calm in a dirty, chaotic city. We stayed in a Royal Suite which had a private roof terrace and was just what we wanted for a 3 night break away from our children! The hotel restaurant (Trois Saveurs) is excellent - we ate Moroccan food here even though there is also a Moroccan restaurant, because it's next to the pool in a lovely setting. We also did the half-day cooking course in the teaching kitchen next door, which was great fun and well-taught. It included a trip to a local bakery (this was an eye-opener) and a spice shop. The Hammam is also first-rate. You won't be disappointed if you book this hotel and the staff are friendly and very helpful .Only one caveat - lock up your valuables in the safe provided. I left some cash in my hand luggage and €150 disappeared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamheddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Esteemed Clients,
We thank your for your critique and are delighted that you had a great time at
La Maison Arabe.
I was sorry to read and learn here that 150 € went missing from your handbag, and wish you would have notified me or the front desk when you noticed this, so that I could have
proceeded immediately with a full investigation.
The only people that have access to the rooms are our cleaning staff, many who have been
with us for 15 years, which is why I was surprised to read that this happened.
I entirely agree with you, and regardless of where one is travelling, that all cash and valuables
should be kept in the room safe provided. While in Marrakech, one must also be aware
that there are pickpockets in the souks (old market), and one must take the necessary precautions when venturing there.
I look forward to welcoming you back one day to La Maison Arabe.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is a little slice of heaven on earth! I have stayed in lots of hotels around the world but La Maison Arabe is by far my favourite. What sets it above the rest is the faultless service. Unlike so many hotels, the staff are so genuine and really do want you to have the best possible stay in their city. From the moment you walk through the door of the hotel, you become part of their family.

This combined with the stunning interior décor, the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, the delicious food, the perfect location, and a hamman experience not to be missed, makes this the best place to stay in Marrakech. And if this is not enough, you have the opportunity of getting away from the heat and noise of the city and lazing by the pool at the spectacular country annex.

Our stay at La Maison Arabe last November was one of the best holidays I have ever had. After our first night stay in a basic room, which was lovely and had everything we needed, the hotel very kindly upgraded us. Due to me being a very light sleeper I found this room a little noisy, so we were upgraded yet again. For some, the idea of changing rooms three times in a four night stay might sound awful, but it was actually great fun. With each of the rooms being uniquely decorated, it was a great opportunity to experience a variety of them. And it was completely hassle free as whilst we were out enjoying the city the staff moved all our belongings.

I had always loved my visits to Marrakech; it’s such an exciting place. However, staying at La Maison Arabe last time made my holiday so much more wonderful. Can’t wait to get back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#18 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing