We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dinner and Cocktails at Maison Arabe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #19 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner and Cocktails at Maison Arabe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our Riad recommended Maison Arabe for dinner. It was just round the corner, down one of the alleys that are so typical of Marrakech. Once inside though, it is difficult to believe something so beautiful and tranquil could be hidden behind the grotty walls. We had pre dinner drinks in the Jazz Bar. The service excellent and dinner was delicious. We sat by the pool with a heater, as it was a little chilly and my wife was offered a blanket too.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned for our final night dinner.
We'd especially like to thank the barman in the Jazz Bar. His cocktails were amazing and his house special was especially fab, with a cheeky vodka added. He made us feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble, even when the bar got a bit busy, he made sure we were enjoying ourselves and weren't neglected. Our only regret is that we didn't get his name, in order to give him a more personal mention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_and_AliJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    88
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
333
946
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thousand oaks, calif
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for five nights as tour leader for a small high-end group. Could not be more pleased with this hotel. The staff are exceptional . . . they knew us by name and were helpful, responsive and friendly. The property is intimate, atmospheric and beautifully located. It's down an alley, so removed from the hustle-bustle and noise of the city. Hint: the homemade yogurt on the breakfast buffet was delicious. Room service is prompt and free of charge. It's very close to a mosque, so expect to be awakened early if you sleep with your windows open! There are a lot of wonderful hotels and riads in Marrakech - but this one rates a Perfect 10!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs to traverse - no avoiding it. Even in my room (a standard), the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a fantastic half term holiday for the family! The location within a few minutes walk of the Night Market and the Souk was perfect. The Hotel organised a very good guide to show us around and get our bearings. The cookery course was also incredibly well organised. The food and service was also excellent. Our children (11 & 13 yrs) loved the experience. The Country Club (a short minibus ride away) was spectacular - with a beautiful pool/restaurant/gardens to investigate. An Oasis of calm. I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerytwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Let me first say that I have been to a few hotels in Morocco that have looked pretty enough but have had horrible service. Not so at La Maison Arabe. Not only is the hotel beautiful, but the service is impeccable. Everyone is incredible friendly and polite, even when we had a fussy and at times troublesome 3 year old running around (they were incredibly patient with her and played with her often). The hotel offers a cooking class which my wife took, the chef would take you to a nearby market and show which ingredients to pick, and then show you how to cook them at the hotel kitchen. The breakfast buffet is amazing, and their restaurant has great food and Tajine. The rooms are spacious and clean (the room gets cleaned twice a day!). Everything was amazing, I am coming back here for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the Suite with patio view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salah_Al-Abbadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Love this place! I would rate this place a 10 if possible.

Here is the deal in a nutshell:

Fantastic:
1 - The building/rooms----oozing with atmosphere. You really feel like royalty in Morocco. (Rooms are spacious and quiet)
2 - The service - So helpful, so gracious in every way. I'm not kidding!
3 - 5* Moroccan restaurant - Fabulous food, nice music, impeccably decorated.
4 - Location - Right in the middle of the Medina...perfect!
5 - Lap pool - It is a heated pool but unfortunately was not heated during our stay. We still swam laps but it was cold.
6 - Excellent Hamam/spa
7 - Fun hands-on cooking class resulting in an excellent meal.
8 - Some fantastic Moroccan wines

Minor issue:
1 - Breakfast is understaffed. They are set up to serve you but are unable to since there is really only one person doing all the work including making eggs. As a result, people are constantly trying to help themselves with difficulty. Food quality was good though.
2 - Also no gym but there is park (Cyber-park) a few blocks away that you can run in

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taftaf, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

Thank you for posting your kind comments regarding your stay with us.
I will be sure to share them with our team at La Maison Arabe.

Concerning our on-site pool, we usually heat it from mid-October until mid-April; as we
were having unseasonably warm weather in Marrakech these past few weeks, it was not heated the days that you were staying with us. It is now heated and the water reaches a temperature of 25°C during the afternoons.

We have noted your positive criticism regarding our breakfast, and have increased the
breakfast staff to 5 to ensure an exemplary level of service. The service should be at the
level of what we consider one of the best breakfast buffets in Marrakech, that includes
among many other things: freshly squeezed organic fruit juices, cheeses, hams, homemade yogurt and breakfast pastries, organic eggs prepared your way, and a choice of five different Moroccan crepes prepared before our guests by a dada (traditional Moroccan chef).

I sincererly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to La Maison Arabe.

Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is beautifully decorated using authentic hand made items. The staff are fantastic- very helpful. There is an international restaurant as well as a Moroccan restaurant both serving great food. The location of the hotel is excellent- not far from the souk/ medina and it was great to stay inside the old city walls. Take time out to visit the ham man for a traditional scrub , Facial and massage - worth the visit and inexpensive.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old ( original ) part of the hotel- very authentically Morrocan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinaClovelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is an absolute gem. The staff are welcoming, charming, efficient and can't do enough for you. The hotel itself has a great atmosphere and consists of a number of lovely courtyards on different levels. Our suite of rooms was just wonderful, with two terraces filled with the scent of jasmine and birdsong.

We had dinner in both restaurants where delicious food is served with wonderful live background. For anyone who wants to learn to cook Moroccan food, the half day cookery courses are great fun and an excellent introduction to the art of cooking with a tagine.

When you want to escape the the frenzy of the Souks, a lovely garden and swimming pool also with impeccable service, just outside the medina can be reached by a complementary bus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing