We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxurious, beautiful, exotic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #16 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxurious, beautiful, exotic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Exquisite decor, attentive staff - every luxury was provided. The cuisine was delicious and beautifully served. Loved the private terrace attached to my room, and the hammam / spa offered every service you could desire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    88
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
329
904
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

General Tours booked our small travel group here for our 3-night stay in Marrakech. This place is a gem. An excellent breakfast is served by the pool and the staff is welcoming and attentive. A shuttle runs frequently to their resort for those wanting a larger pool in which to swim. We had a comfortable room overlooking a lovely courtyard (see photo).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I went to Morroco for the first time and trusted an agency to book the hotels for us. The moment we got there, from the outside it look scary and we thought it was going to be a nightmare, but the moment we stepped inside it all changed.
The place is a beautiful jewel and the staff is helpful and nice, specially Ibrahim at the front desk. The ambiance of the bar is amazing, and the bartender playful and professional, the hammam (spa) peaceful and lovely. The food at the restaurant is good but a little lonely.
We stayed at one of the newer rooms with a view of the pool; they are super clean and comfortable. I would definitely come back here and recommend it.
Be careful walking back from the main plaza late at night; even if everybody said it was safe, we felt uncomfortable doing so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

we visited La Maison Arabe the end of May. We were attending a conference where most were staying at Four Seasons, Sofitel, La Mamounia etc. We couldn't have been happier. Hotel atmosphere is like walking into a movie set (the lighting, little hidden nooks, sounds, calmness) not to mention the staff who could not have done more for us. Upon arrival we were shown into a room up flights of stairs. my husband is recovering from knee issue and we were upgraded to elevator part of hotel immediately. Restaurant setting is around a pool with beautiful lighting at night. Quality of food was as good as anywhere we tried out of hotel. And they have a country club with pool, restaurant, beds to lie around to get away from city. Location is 10 mins from square while many big hotels are simply NOT in the city. We felt safe and could walk anywhere. One piece of advice watch out for self assigned tour guide that adopt u in the street. they won't lave u alone and then they yell at you when you don't pay them for following you and annoying you. Tell them upfront you are not paying them and that you do not need help

Room Tip: new part of hotel has elevator if you have issues with stairs. also slightly more updated rooms, spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slw986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are two places to stay in Marrakesh for the traveler looking for a superior experience. The first is, of course, La Mamounia, which is the ultimate in the big hotel experience. For those looking for smaller, more intimate and charming place, there is only La Maison Arabe.

Unlike the Relais & Chateux property in Marrakesh, Mason L'Orange (which I also visited), La Maison Arabe perfectly blends the riad experience with that of a luxury hotel. There are three reasons for this. First, unlike many of the newer boutique riads, La Maison Arabe is not just one central courtyard that makes you feel a bit locked-in. Rather, its a bit of a rambling property made up of six separate but connected riads. Second, the hotel's nearby garden/swimming pool, which is a 15 minute (free) van ride away, has more charm than the Majorelle Gardens. The pool and food service at the pool are exquisite. It's a true luxury experience. To my taste, I prefer this pool to that of La Mamounia. The third reason is the in-hotel hammam/spa. It was truly exceptional in terms of ambiance, amenities and service.

My wife and I visited here on our honeymoon. We spent 4 days and had plenty to do. We participated in a class in the cooking school and made our own chicken tagine (so much fun -- and delicious). We had our first Moroccan dinner in the hotel restaurant, which has a well-deserved reputation for excellence. It was a memorable meal. The hotel jazz bar, with its barman who knows everyone, is a great place to start or end your evening.

The staff is both discrete and helpful. The front desk staff, Adil in particular, makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. They arrange local transport, excellent city guides, and outside dinner reservations that were always spot-on. Many others on this site have written about the wonderful decor of the hotel. I will add that it is both mischevious and endlessly surprising, with more and more beautiful objects set about, and one jewel-like room after another waiting to be explored. At night, the hotel glows with candle and lamplight.

The rooms are great. They are spacious and the bathrooms have completely modern and luxurious fixtures and finishes. Overall, our experience in Marrakesh was enormously enriched by our opportunity to stay at this great property. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandRebeccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our group of 7 friends were guests of this marvelous place for 3 days. Everything was meticulously delivered--food, ambience, location, staff, and the appointments within the rooms. All of our rooms had two balcony patios overlooking the large courtyard below. The food was so good that we were tempted not to bother with local restaurants. I would go back in a heartbeat, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: All of us were pleased with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this place. But it is not for the ordinary traveller. I love boutique hotels. Those off the main streets where you get a true flavor of the area. It is a Riad so it is an old palace in an alley. There are so many little rooms that i am still trying to figure out where everything is. The rooms are spacious with A/C, Wi Fi and TV. The beds are comfortable and the staff is very warm and friendly. However, this is not for the ritz Carleton or the Marriott crowd. Our room was a 3 floor walkup. The style is a little worn but I would definitely come back again. There is a Hamman which shouldn't be missed.
I would guess anyone going to Marrakech has to be a little adventurist so clearly this shouldn't bother them. Come here. You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Try for a low Floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing