We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Be In Marrakesh”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #20 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are two places to stay in Marrakesh for the traveler looking for a superior experience. The first is, of course, La Mamounia, which is the ultimate in the big hotel experience. For those looking for smaller, more intimate and charming place, there is only La Maison Arabe.

Unlike the Relais & Chateux property in Marrakesh, Mason L'Orange (which I also visited), La Maison Arabe perfectly blends the riad experience with that of a luxury hotel. There are three reasons for this. First, unlike many of the newer boutique riads, La Maison Arabe is not just one central courtyard that makes you feel a bit locked-in. Rather, its a bit of a rambling property made up of six separate but connected riads. Second, the hotel's nearby garden/swimming pool, which is a 15 minute (free) van ride away, has more charm than the Majorelle Gardens. The pool and food service at the pool are exquisite. It's a true luxury experience. To my taste, I prefer this pool to that of La Mamounia. The third reason is the in-hotel hammam/spa. It was truly exceptional in terms of ambiance, amenities and service.

My wife and I visited here on our honeymoon. We spent 4 days and had plenty to do. We participated in a class in the cooking school and made our own chicken tagine (so much fun -- and delicious). We had our first Moroccan dinner in the hotel restaurant, which has a well-deserved reputation for excellence. It was a memorable meal. The hotel jazz bar, with its barman who knows everyone, is a great place to start or end your evening.

The staff is both discrete and helpful. The front desk staff, Adil in particular, makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. They arrange local transport, excellent city guides, and outside dinner reservations that were always spot-on. Many others on this site have written about the wonderful decor of the hotel. I will add that it is both mischevious and endlessly surprising, with more and more beautiful objects set about, and one jewel-like room after another waiting to be explored. At night, the hotel glows with candle and lamplight.

The rooms are great. They are spacious and the bathrooms have completely modern and luxurious fixtures and finishes. Overall, our experience in Marrakesh was enormously enriched by our opportunity to stay at this great property. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidandRebeccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,035)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Arabe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 2,035 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our group of 7 friends were guests of this marvelous place for 3 days. Everything was meticulously delivered--food, ambience, location, staff, and the appointments within the rooms. All of our rooms had two balcony patios overlooking the large courtyard below. The food was so good that we were tempted not to bother with local restaurants. I would go back in a heartbeat, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: All of us were pleased with our rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this place. But it is not for the ordinary traveller. I love boutique hotels. Those off the main streets where you get a true flavor of the area. It is a Riad so it is an old palace in an alley. There are so many little rooms that i am still trying to figure out where everything is. The rooms are spacious with A/C, Wi Fi and TV. The beds are comfortable and the staff is very warm and friendly. However, this is not for the ritz Carleton or the Marriott crowd. Our room was a 3 floor walkup. The style is a little worn but I would definitely come back again. There is a Hamman which shouldn't be missed.
I would guess anyone going to Marrakech has to be a little adventurist so clearly this shouldn't bother them. Come here. You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Try for a low Floor!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVEBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

An excellent place to stay or just have dinner or drinks. The bar area is fun and the pool-side dining was dramatic and delicious. The service was very good, the guys at the front desk were amazingly kind and helpful and the spa experience was beautifully executed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaceTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just spent 4 days at this hotel and we can't rate it highly enough. Beautiful building, with an opulent decor, very atmospheric at night with candles lighting everywhere. If you want to be in the heart of the Medina but removed from the hussle and bustle this is the place. Great food and very attentive service, I forgot my camera battery charger and the manager took it away and charged for me. For fabulous lazy days try the hotel garden on the outskirts of MARRAKECH with bali beds, a great pool and once again superb food, bit like a private party. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here on our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax, enjoy a Hammam treatment, have really good morroccan meals, and listen to live piano music as you enjoy a drink in their bar. The staff were all very professional and helpful.
The hotel itself should be in a guidebook as it is beautiful and very luxurious!
We needed the calm and relaxing environment after hectic shopping and trips around the city.
Quite expensive but well worth the money!
If we go back we will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Our patio side room was lovely. It's name was Badhr
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piernicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excellent highly trained and friendly staff, very helpful and polite. We enjoyed perfect service from everyone - starting from the bell-boy and to the guys on the reception. Restaurants serve delicious food, however it should be noted that the “European” restaurant serves food prepared Moroccan style;), to be honest we didn’t see much difference between the European and Moroccan restaurants. The breakfast is ok, could use some more variety, the SPA is good.
The rooms could use slippers (we never received ours) and on-site they have only one swimming pool - an outdoor pool in close proximity to the restaurant (the eating guests sit close to it), so we saw no one during our stay using it. The indoor pool is a 15-minute trip on a shuttle bus (at least we were told so, didn’t go there).

Классный отель, в морроканском стиле. Мы были первыми русскими, кто посетил его за год, т.е. наших соотечественников мало/нет. Бассеин на самом деле один - около ресторана, особо не поплаваешь, до нормального бассеина 15 минут на бесплатном автобусе, мы не ездили. Сервис на очень высоком уровне. Рекомендуем.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mekvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#433 of 502 in Marrakech
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#316 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#292 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $227 - $890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing