We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic retreat in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50$ off every day
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic retreat in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Maison Arabe is the most beautiful Riad set in a great location near to the Souks and about a 15/20 minute walk to the main Square. It is near a mosque and the early morning call to prayer can be a little loud, but you soon get used to that and it is all part of Marrakech . The staff simply cannot do enough for you and always with a smile. Our suite, Aladdin, was very well appointed and serviced every time we left the room with beautiful thick towels and the toileteries always replenished. The hamman was gorgeous. The set dinner in the main restaurant was delicious but there was too much food and a little expensive. We didn't eat dinner in the "cafe" restaurant but were told the food was delicious as was breakfast. I cannot recommend this highly enough and had tears in my eyes when I left. I will return to Marrakech if only so I can stay at this Riad again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdguille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    88
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
316
880
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Loved this hotel although when we first arrived the foyer smelt a bit musty (sorry being picky). Other than that it was perfect. The food was amazing and everything was always done with a smile and o my god what a breakfast. X wicked morrocan lights x

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickleback99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

It's impossible to be overly flattering about this hotel. It is small (26 rooms), a converted huge private house, with a large variety of lounges and spaces inside and out. Its location is ideal, on the edge of the Medina, 10 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fnaa square and ideally located to visit traditional Marrakech. Most rooms have a small terrace and are beautifully appointed with traditional craftwork throughout: hand-embroidered curtains, tiled fireplaces, traditional Morocco stucco walls. It has a beautiful heated swimming pool that is large enough for real exercise. The dining areas are pleasant and the food is good without being outstanding: menus do cater for all diets. The hammam is exceptionally comfortable, quiet and well services: you won't find better. Service is exceptionally good, discreet and diiverse. Questions are always met with solutions.

It is not a good place for people with mobility problems, as there are lots of stairs. Apart fro

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

La Maison Arabe is fabulous! The level of service is on par with any 5 star hotel we have ever stayed but the kindness and generosity of the staff is unique.

The bed linens are high thread count, crisp, clean and comfortable. The towels were large, thick and soft. Water and soft drinks are free from the minibar and breakfast is included. The breakfast each morning was delicious and included fresh squeezed juices, croissants, jams, honey, yogurt, eggs and coffee.

I did not eat in the restaurant but did take the cooking class which was delightful and the food we made was delicious. I highly recommend La Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

the hotel was wonderful, warm, romantic and cozy/friendly at the same time. Families and lovers work well together. The food is divine the service sublime. The level of service in fact was the best I have ever experienced and the staff from manager/concierge to maid/guides were all superlative. We had an issue with our flight and the entire staff flew to assist and went above and beyond what you would expect. I would recommend this hotel as a reason to actually travel to the city!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ldubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

La Maison Arabe is simply one of the most beautiful and unique experiences in Morocco. One feels the blast from a time gone by, a culture vastly different from western countries, and yet a level of service, friendliness and beauty surrounds you. The restaurants have the BEST food in the medina area. The cooking class is great fun, one prepares and eats a huge lunch; which includes kneading the bread and taking it to the communal oven, and going to the spice market to better understand the exotic spices used in the tagines and vegetables. NOTE: The Country Club in the Palmaraie area is now called Coin Cache. The hotel will arrange the 20 minute ride to this "country club" which has a great swimming pool, gardens, wonderful food, and some indoor spaces that would be a blast for a big party/celebration.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linny8856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Isles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

generally reasonable to good. Breakfasts were good, snacks in the bar were good, food in the Moroccan restaurant too much and maybe expensive at £55. Room was fine. Positioned near a mosque so there are loud calls to prayer. About 20 minutes walk to main square. Cookery course was fun. Hammam was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aristeppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing