We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, you get what you pay for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Central Palace
Save
You added Hotel Central Palace to your Saves list
59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value, you get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is fantastic for 150dh per night for a double with shared bathroom. Room was super clean, staff were friendly and helpful,terrace is lovely and sunny. We stayed for a total of 10 nights over 3 stays. Location actually couldn't be better! Note that as it is riad style it is freezing in winter...lots of rugs provided but I was always cold - obviously not the hotels fault. Also, the bathrooms were fairly disgusting. Cleaned perfectly each day however it was filthy from other patrons - toilet paper covering the floor, poo in the shower,cigarette butts in the toilet. Showers were cold 90% of the time, not fun in winter. Would certainly stay again as the price and location were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NixxxyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you're looking for a place which is cheap, clean, safe and 2 minutes walk from Djemma es Fna then this is it.

The traveller photos on tripadvisor give a good impression of what it's like.

Cost approximately £7 per night per person based on two persons sharing a room using communal bathrooms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor at the back of the riad, at night it was dead silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this place in 2003, and returning to Morocco for a special Christmas break ten years later we thought it would be nice to check out our 'old haunt'. Being a bit older and a bit less skint we were very pleased to see the website which suggests the hotel has been restored and includes pictures of beautifully furnished rooms.

This is our first and biggest complaint - the website is a complete con. Affiliated with two riads (which I'm not sure even exist) the site shows lots of pictures of rooms that are certainly not the Central Palace, except for one or two images of the central courtyard, which in fairness is the prettiest part of the hotel.

Other than that, the hotel is perfectly average and ordinary for a budget backpackers place. A big plus is the location near the Djemma es Fna, although if we had our time again we would not stay here but would go for a quieter riad and the eastern part of the medina, or a more spacious place in the Ville Nouveau.

On the downside, the rooms were pretty cold at night (that's clearly going to be a seasonal thing), and the receptionist always had a gaggle of his mates in the doorway every night shouting and laughing which meant the noise was a bit much on a couple of occasions.

OK for the money, but we were left feeling like three nights was a least one night too many…

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you don't want to be kept awake by the lads in the doorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here in a mid price room so we could have our own bathroom. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean although a little tired. The central courtyard was a nice meeting space and the lounge area on the second floor was a good place to relax and read or chat. The location is a little noisy as to be expected from somewhere so central but the location was very convenient being so close to the jemaa-el-fna. The roof terrace was lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We travelled to Morocco in September and our first stop was at Marrakech. We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Central Palace. The place is a stones throw away from the Jama el Fna. Friendly yound people at the reception. Perfect for the tired traveller to lay down and rest for the night.

Breakfast was normal and good. The guy making the breakfast for everyone is always running around getting everything ready. Very friendly person and caters to all your needs. We tipped him decently before we left.

I recommend this place to every traveller who is looking for a place to sleep and relax before setting out to explore the city.

- Naveen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naveengopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location is just great - very close to the main square Jemaa el-Fna and quite easy to find. Staff was really friendly, always smiling & helpful! The room decoration was very simple but the patio area is beautiful, there is also a nice terrace on the roof.
I would chose this hotel again if I ever return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slavinkaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for a one night stop-over. Rooms are clean, good value, staff are very friendly and helpful and location is very good being very close to the main square. There is free wifi, and a hamman and massage parlour inside, well recommended. Breakfast is good and cheap. There is a restaurant - food is fine but the service was almost non-existent, I would recommend eating elsewhere. It is fairly noisy late at night and early in the morning, but still a good choice for backpackers and travellers for a short stay, I think it was much better than the youth hostel we stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maramotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#267 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#317 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#259 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#380 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#93 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#115 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Palace

Address: 59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Palace Marrakech
Central Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing