We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean- Cheap -Safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Central Palace
Save
You added Hotel Central Palace to your Saves list
Ranked #372 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean- Cheap -Safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A friend and myself arrived in Marrakesh by train after spending a week in Rabat and Dar Bouazza. I had read about Hotel Central Palace on Lonely Planet and decided to give it a whirl. Because of budget constraints we stayed in a double room without toilet or shower. There was a sink in our room. I did not mind going the shower on our floor to save the extra money.

The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. I think they clean their floors about 5 times day. Check in was very fast and the receptionist spoke good English. As other reviewers have indicated they give you a big block of wood with the key on it. My friend and I never dropped it off at the desk when we left for the souks.Instead we would keep it in our purse.

The hotel was just a short walk to the main square. It was a nice haven to come back to after spending a long day in the souks. The hotel had a couple men keeping watch to make sure unwanted people would not enter the hotel. I felt very safe. We ate at the cafe upstairs several times during our stay and the waiter was very friendly with us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolastars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
7
34
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of our trip, for a total of 8 nights. The first room included shower and toilet. Whilst it's nice to have a private toilet, the showers are right over the top so after showering, it takes a whole day for the toilet to dry (in winter). The second time around, we took just a room with a bed, and shared facilities (which were maintained well and always clean). At 155dh per night (15 euros), this was an absolute bargain. Toilet paper is supplied generously, however they seem to often run out of towels.

The location, right next to the Djemma el Fna, meant we could have as many adventures as we liked without hassle. However, though many reviewers have mentioned how noisy it was, it didn't bother us at all.

Rooms were very clean, beds fairly old but comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone after a cheap, clean, central and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Folow LP direction but before taking this hotel make some other viewings around. There are a lot of cheap hotels in this perfect location.

Good location, nice roof terrace, but the noise during the night (from outside and inside) won't let you rest after hot and busy Marrakech day. The last night there I couldn't sleep at all and I had to take my 8 am. flight back to Madrid and later that day to Dublin without a minute of sleep.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are cooler but noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadas_juozonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

First impression was good, looked clean, and my room as a group leader looked spotless, I had towels and toiletpaper..Unfortunatly after closer inspection the room for the group where not as great..and also no hot water.. They had to shower in eachother room or on different levels..
Also the noise travels inmense, when people heading back to the rooms later in the evening..do bring earplugs!
Unfortunatly my room had bedbugs..When I confronted the staff behing the desk about this the reaction was, that they did not believe it...even after showing the bites ( mainly on the arms, neck and face) they told me I came in with them before even sleeping in the hotel!!
I had taken photos of the problem, and after showing this, they recognised the issue..
Thanks to my contact person we stayed in a lovely hotel nearby during the rest of our stay!

Ps..The keys are openly displaced on the desk, and be aware anyone can just grap the key, and make the way into your room, we took the big block of wood off, and just held the key with us to solve this..

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank marieke201181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel has a very good location quite close to the Djemma El Fna, and is easy to find. We paid 155 dh for a double room with shared shower and bathroom. Breakfast was 25 dh/person. Bring earplugs, a silk sleeping liner, towel and toilet paper. There is one shower per floor, so check the other ones if the one on your floor is occupied.

Room Tip: If hot, ask for a room at the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Cheap hotel, almost on the Jemaa El-Fna, but in a really quiet alley ! Fantastic roof terrace to enjoy your breakfast (although breakfast at any of the nearby restaurants will be better), or to view the city at night. Small, clean room with shared bathroom.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

ohh... I love this Hotel! ♥ a great localization, a wonderful breakfast, and soooo cheap!!! :D The room is very very clean, and the shower and wc. And the best is the price for night...is very very cheap! Inside the medina every hotel is low price, outside you have to pay more, and isn't nearby of the great this to visit! Enjoy your visit

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritinha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#261 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#329 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#258 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Essaouira
Hotel Essaouira
#308 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#309 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#205 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Palace

Property: Hotel Central Palace
Address: 59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Palace Marrakech
Central Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing