We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amine
Ranked #459 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Definitely not a 4*. Arrived to a pool with no water, air conditioning not working despite being told it was and probably the worst room I have ever stayed in.
Rooms were dirty and in dire need of upgrading, there was no fridge or safe in room and pool bar prices were the most expensive I encountered during the whole stay, including restaurants in the market. Water was always lukewarm and the shower holder was broken so you had to hold it yourself to have a shower. The beds had weird pillows, either a sausage shape or square pillow so was very hard to get comfortable.
We did ask to be moved but apparently there were no other rooms free.
The pool was cleaned and filled in a few days but half of the beds were broken and there were not enough for all the guests. You had to get out ridiculously early to try and get one. Instead they gave you mattresses which were dark grey and got incredibly hot in the sun meaning if your towel did not cover you got burnt if you touched it.
The staff weren’t very friendly, they seemed to favour the French guests. A few warmed to us after a few days but were initially not very welcoming.
Location wise was a bit far out from the hub and buzz of everything. Not expensive in cabs but still hassle to get one each day and not pay way over the odds.
Advertised bar and massage salon but neither were ever open.
Would definitely go to Morocco again but would not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller9148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    144
    149
    98
    94
See reviews for
105
168
78
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was just like you sitting on TripAdvisor seeing the reviews but after going myself I have discovered this hotel is not for families. Stayed for 5 days booked by thomas cook and this wasnt what I expected

*air conditioning doesn't work
*ants in the room
*bad breakfast NOT CONTINENTAL
*rude reception staff
*not worth the money
*no fridge bottle water £1.5o!!!! When local is 50p
*no safe in the room
*rooms hallways outside very dark and creepy
*no kids pool
*cats near restaurant and inside to


This is not a 4* hotel its a 1*

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aminahshafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from Marrakech ,stated in the hotel for 5 night and had realy good stay.
The staf are really friendly,the service and location are great.the down side is the air condition in the room is very bad with the temperature up to 56 during the day need updating urgently.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faycal7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just come back from a 5 day stay with my 11 year old daughter. Ramadan at the moment so the hotel and the area was not busy.
Hotel is clean and what you would expect from a 3 star, I have no major complaints with the appearance just the odd SMALL repairs. About a 10 minute taxi drive to the medina (Moroccan market area) and should only cost you 20 MAD but I did manage to haggle and get it for 15. No fridge in the room.
BREAKFAST: is basic, the same every day...croissants, bread rolls, cornflakes, salad, plain yogurt and pancakes....if you don't like plain pancakes bring your own spread.

CHILDREN
No entertainment at the hotel but they are polite and welcome children. Pool area is great, good size with the shallow end at 1metre and the deep at 3metres.
A small area with a basket ball hoop that can be used.

SNACKS
food and drinks will cost you more at the hotel.....1.5litre water is 15MAD but you can by it for 6MAD at the shops 4 minutes walk down the road.

Room Tip: If you go during Ramadan the hotel is half empty so you have a better chance of getting the type of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lliria, Spain
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 night at this hotel,a short bus ride from main square and the best thing I can say is the staff was very helpful and friendly.
The whole place needs a 'makeover' as it looks tired with paint stripping off several walls and a very noisy air conditioner.
There is a nice outside bar next to a large pool and they play some 'cool' music
Still I paid less than 60 euros for 4 nights so I cannot complain.There was a TV in each twin room with BBC world and 5 other stations.The wifi only worked in the lobby area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having read lots of very bad reviews on Hotel Amine, I wasn't really sure what to expect. It's easy to find being on the road to Casablanca, about a 20 dirhams taxi ride to the medina. Being away from the centre means it's quiet...at night the only sound was the crickets. The gardens and the pool area are very well maintained, and it's lovely eating breakfast out in the garden. I was impressed with the choice at breakfast (it's a MUCH bigger choice than you would ever get in a riad!!). The staff were always pleasant and helpful, I was given clean towels every day and the maids knocked twice before entering. The small problems I had were dealt with very quickly and efficiently. The hotel is run down and would need a lot of money to upgrade it, but having said that...what do you expect for the price? It is excellent value. Sleeping was difficult because of the awful pillow, but once they had changed that it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just came back from the Amine Hotel. I have to say, it was way better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and changed my room without any fuss (I wanted a quiet room in the back).
My room was lovely, with a small balcony. Tv channels are few but again, I didn't go to Marrakesh to watch Tv, so that didn't bother me.
Breakfast is basic but ok in my opinion. I didn't have lunch and dinner at the hotel so can't comment on that. But there are plenty of restaurants nearby where you can eat well for a good price. Location is ok, a bit far away from the Fna, but if you are up for a walk that can be done on foot and it's quite straightforward, if not bus 1 stops in front of hotel and take you there in 20 minutes. Swimming pool was great, clean and nice. I also used the Hammam there and had a massage as well. I enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#388 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#475 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#446 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#367 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#434 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#127 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Property: Hotel Amine
Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing