We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Hotel Amine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amine
Ranked #456 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Definitely not a 4*. Arrived to a pool with no water, air conditioning not working despite being told it was and probably the worst room I have ever stayed in.
Rooms were dirty and in dire need of upgrading, there was no fridge or safe in room and pool bar prices were the most expensive I encountered during the whole stay, including restaurants in the market. Water was always lukewarm and the shower holder was broken so you had to hold it yourself to have a shower. The beds had weird pillows, either a sausage shape or square pillow so was very hard to get comfortable.
We did ask to be moved but apparently there were no other rooms free.
The pool was cleaned and filled in a few days but half of the beds were broken and there were not enough for all the guests. You had to get out ridiculously early to try and get one. Instead they gave you mattresses which were dark grey and got incredibly hot in the sun meaning if your towel did not cover you got burnt if you touched it.
The staff weren’t very friendly, they seemed to favour the French guests. A few warmed to us after a few days but were initially not very welcoming.
Location wise was a bit far out from the hub and buzz of everything. Not expensive in cabs but still hassle to get one each day and not pay way over the odds.
Advertised bar and massage salon but neither were ever open.
Would definitely go to Morocco again but would not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Traveller9148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was just like you sitting on TripAdvisor seeing the reviews but after going myself I have discovered this hotel is not for families. Stayed for 5 days booked by thomas cook and this wasnt what I expected

*air conditioning doesn't work
*ants in the room
*bad breakfast NOT CONTINENTAL
*rude reception staff
*not worth the money
*no fridge bottle water £1.5o!!!! When local is 50p
*no safe in the room
*rooms hallways outside very dark and creepy
*no kids pool
*cats near restaurant and inside to


This is not a 4* hotel its a 1*

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aminahshafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from Marrakech ,stated in the hotel for 5 night and had realy good stay.
The staf are really friendly,the service and location are great.the down side is the air condition in the room is very bad with the temperature up to 56 during the day need updating urgently.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faycal7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just come back from a 5 day stay with my 11 year old daughter. Ramadan at the moment so the hotel and the area was not busy.
Hotel is clean and what you would expect from a 3 star, I have no major complaints with the appearance just the odd SMALL repairs. About a 10 minute taxi drive to the medina (Moroccan market area) and should only cost you 20 MAD but I did manage to haggle and get it for 15. No fridge in the room.
BREAKFAST: is basic, the same every day...croissants, bread rolls, cornflakes, salad, plain yogurt and pancakes....if you don't like plain pancakes bring your own spread.

CHILDREN
No entertainment at the hotel but they are polite and welcome children. Pool area is great, good size with the shallow end at 1metre and the deep at 3metres.
A small area with a basket ball hoop that can be used.

SNACKS
food and drinks will cost you more at the hotel.....1.5litre water is 15MAD but you can by it for 6MAD at the shops 4 minutes walk down the road.

Room Tip: If you go during Ramadan the hotel is half empty so you have a better chance of getting the type of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 night at this hotel,a short bus ride from main square and the best thing I can say is the staff was very helpful and friendly.
The whole place needs a 'makeover' as it looks tired with paint stripping off several walls and a very noisy air conditioner.
There is a nice outside bar next to a large pool and they play some 'cool' music
Still I paid less than 60 euros for 4 nights so I cannot complain.There was a TV in each twin room with BBC world and 5 other stations.The wifi only worked in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having read lots of very bad reviews on Hotel Amine, I wasn't really sure what to expect. It's easy to find being on the road to Casablanca, about a 20 dirhams taxi ride to the medina. Being away from the centre means it's quiet...at night the only sound was the crickets. The gardens and the pool area are very well maintained, and it's lovely eating breakfast out in the garden. I was impressed with the choice at breakfast (it's a MUCH bigger choice than you would ever get in a riad!!). The staff were always pleasant and helpful, I was given clean towels every day and the maids knocked twice before entering. The small problems I had were dealt with very quickly and efficiently. The hotel is run down and would need a lot of money to upgrade it, but having said that...what do you expect for the price? It is excellent value. Sleeping was difficult because of the awful pillow, but once they had changed that it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just came back from the Amine Hotel. I have to say, it was way better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and changed my room without any fuss (I wanted a quiet room in the back).
My room was lovely, with a small balcony. Tv channels are few but again, I didn't go to Marrakesh to watch Tv, so that didn't bother me.
Breakfast is basic but ok in my opinion. I didn't have lunch and dinner at the hotel so can't comment on that. But there are plenty of restaurants nearby where you can eat well for a good price. Location is ok, a bit far away from the Fna, but if you are up for a walk that can be done on foot and it's quite straightforward, if not bus 1 stops in front of hotel and take you there in 20 minutes. Swimming pool was great, clean and nice. I also used the Hammam there and had a massage as well. I enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#427 of 502 in Marrakech
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#403 of 502 in Marrakech
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#472 of 502 in Marrakech
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#438 of 502 in Marrakech
1,086 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#147 of 502 in Marrakech
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $45 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing