We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #409 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Reading the reviews, I think its only reviewed as what is it, a budget hotel. For £12 a night including breakfast it can not be reviewed as a 5* hotel. But it was fab, my room was clean, the en suite was good, nice touch as towels were provided, breakfast was more than sufficient. The location was Amazing...perfect spot. Sitting up in the roof terrace over looking Jemaa El -fna was wonderful. The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate recommending Hotel Ali.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a reasonably decent budget hotel located at the heart of the main square. it is very safe and staff very friendly. The hotel rooms are basic and clean. Remember you can choose to select a different room if you dont like the one they allocate you. Food is decent as well. I have stayed there a couple of times and will definitely recommend the place for solo trasvellers as well as couples and families
You can also find some good hotels located within the same area on this website:

http://www.discountedtravels.co.uk/Hotels.aspx

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morocco_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Ali for 10 days in late Nov. this year, rooms are a little shabby, and there was a faint drain smell, otherwise, the place was fine. Only 200 mad. per night, can't do much better in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Ali as a solo traveler and my first impression was one of relief and happiness as the woman at the front desk was so kind, spoke english, and was incredibly helpful. She made my stay pleasant. My room was small and there was a bit of a bad smell coming from the shower drain. As well, I got a lot of bites after sleeping there. But that might have been a one-off. The location of Hotel Ali can not be beat. It's right on the square and easy to find even as a newcomer to the city. Yes, there were a lot of flies in the dining room during breakfast but that wasn't such a big deal. Hotel Ali is good value -- I had a private room but if I went back I might stay in the dorm beds which are a really great deal. Also, the hotel has an amazing roof top deck. It's a great place to escape the city for an hour or two while still being able to watch everything that is going on.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank caminowalker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I get fed up with people who expect too much from a basic hotel such as this is, Hotel Ali isnt 4 star, its Basic, but has everything you need, clean rooms, clean towels, FANATSTIC location, good food.
We spent 5 days there, as independant travellers, the rooms where clean, but a littel shabby sheek, the beds comfy, the toilets clean and lots of hot water.. Yes the pillows need replacing and maybe a little tlc on fixings... but hey we didnt pay for the Ritz, half board for around £20 a night .. a bargain, food was very good, tasty.. and as much as you wanted..
It was a little noisy, simple because you are on the edge of the main square, but everything quitens at midnight, there is no lift, so its a carry up to the rooms. Get yours self a outside balcony room, great views and perfect for people watching.
Yes there are a couple of pet cats, BUT they are not a problem, the staff keep them away from you. THE FOOD was basic Morrocan, tahgine, chicken, lamb, HOt and lots of it. The breakfast was hot omletes or Pancakes, basic but tasty. The reception staff VERY helpful and if you ASK for anything they try and help.. Even the coffee if you found it less hot would be replaced. JUST ASK and they will try and help.
I would recommned this hotel for travellers on a budget, who want basic clean accomodation. Enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is worst place on earth to stay,Sheets torn ripped we had a large double room part over looking the square , Nice balcony large bathroom infested with all sorts, smelled terrible even after cleaner had been in. Ah breakfast you say well dont if you want cold coffee and stale bread maralade coverd with flies and a cat that loves to sit on the basket that has the bread in, When you complain blank no one speaks english day one thought things might get better We will have there in house Hamman relax Its a basement with old buckets some water and what only could be described as wallpaper tables for massage they found a cleaner for my partner to do her scrub who yes stipped off to birthday suit scrubbed my partner top to toe then proceeded to wash her hair and wash herself.Some people have all the luck Hamman is the pits for 100 mad each around the corner 120 mad two hours in sheer heaven five star we were not expecting five star from hotel Ali but did not hit a one with us staff blank looks with hand out for tips .Evening meal about ten different dishes ok first night then same old stuff reheated flies were a big problem and hygine out the window. The veiws were great from the balcony as air conditioner keept being turned off as well as constant power cuts to our room we had booked for a week and moved on on day three as could get no sense from staff moved around the corner to the novetel, Heaven is there we did go looking for five star but Hotel ali is the HOTEL from HELL as a well traveled commercial Pilot of 22 yrs i have stayed in some back street places in parts of this globe, but hotel Ali i would not let my dog go in .To add we named the hotel hotel pee ali as all you get smell was the horse pee from outside it was not pleasant at all have a farm that dose not smell like that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank captmarkeasterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Having never visited Morocco previously I was initially a little disappointed with the Hotel Ali. However, having travelled round a little I now appreciate that the Hotel Ali is very nice and excellent value for money. It is in a perfect location and the buffet is wonderful. The staff are very helpful and whilst the rooms are basic, what more do you need! If you want an element of luxury pop across the main square and book yourself into club med for the day - we did!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silky180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#307 of 502 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#330 of 502 in Marrakech
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#346 of 502 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Narjisse
Hotel Narjisse
#306 of 502 in Marrakech
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#402 of 502 in Marrakech
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#196 of 502 in Marrakech
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing