We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy - but very good location”
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #407 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy - but very good location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is like living in the middle of piccadilly circus. 100s of people milling around - queuing outside for the bureau de change -mthe foyer taken over by dozens of men for prayer (the prayer room was full). My room is comfortable and of a reasonable standard - not all rooms are pf the same standard - some are very tatty from what I saw. The towel I was given was 'gray' rather than white -I wasn't convinced it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazTKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    79
    63
    25
    31
See reviews for
29
42
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here before trip to climb toubkal. Very basic but clean with hot showers. Location second to none. Right on heart of square. Terrace has great views. English can be a struggle but they are accommodating. If u need cheap and cheerful in centre of Marrakech,this is Ur place. As a single female I felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitten84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent location, a swimming pool is in a hotel nearby if you ask at the desk to pay for the day 100 dirhams unless in a big group which you could barter the price with a bit. Only 40 minutes from the atlas mountains as well. Air conditioned rooms, they look broken but they're not. It is extremely basic but is excellent value for 100 dirhams a night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good option for backpackers, but if they put you in a bad room you can ask then to change this. It happened with me and my husband. The first bedroom was incredible bad, small and dirty, but we asked in the reception and they changed without problem. Very good location and very cheap. Dinner is simple, but avarage. The staff is not very kind, exception a sweet girl, the only of the group who speaks english.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContatoVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I flew out to Marrakech in December 2012 and booked into the Hotel Ali which is directly on the Jema El Fina (main square). I pre booked via the internet since I originally visited this hotel in September 2012 whilst in Agadir with friends.

I communicated to the receptionist via email and was promised to reserve a better room for the three of us as we also had a young daughter with us. Upon arrival, the room was not ready and we had to wait for the cleaners to clear and sort everything. Unfortunately our worst experience was when we returned from Agadir we we stayed for 2nights. Our original room even though reserved, was given away to somebody else something we were very disappointed with.

Instead we were given a very drafty room which had no heating at night when the temperature drops and it becomes cold.

would not recommend this hotel and wont be staying here ever again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZamyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Castril De La Pena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've been using Hotel Ali for the last ten years and until this year was quite happy. It's in an ideal postion just metres away from Djemaa el Fna (so take ear plugs if you want an early night), has offered a good breakfast, has a cafe/pizzaria and normally serves an excellent evening buffet meal on the roof terrace. It's a good place to meet other travellers and the rooms are gradually being upgraded which is good.

But all this has changed this year. When I visited in February 2012 the kitchen/breakfast area had been walled off and was being renovated. And the evening meals on the terrace have been stopped, presumably because there's no kitchen any more.

I assumed that by June this would be finished but nothing seems to have happened other than the cafe/pizza area has now also been closed off. There's only one tiny area available downstairs and yesterday when I was doing a YouTube upload using the wifi this was invaded by locals who were using it as a mosque. So any guests had to vacate.

I sincerely hope all this is a temporary aberation and that normal service will soon be resumed, but check first before booking. The staff are very good but what's happening is clearly out of their hands.

Room Tip: There's a HUGE variety in the rooms available, I prefer the ones with external balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimCullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, manly because of location....and price for H/B. Rooms do vary, try for 2nd floor on outside of building as they have good sized balconies. Roof Terrace great for sun and peace/quiet not to mention view over the Djemma at night. Female staff in Lobby very helpful and efficient. As with most budget places in Maroc, if you are not happy or want something changed, be firm ,polite and indicate that you will be Grateful when the problem is resolved. Just a Euro or two can really speed things up....and get you a result. As for the food....breakfast ok but nothing special, the coffeee/orange juice mediocre at best. Dinner was Buffet style,,,Stick to the veggie options and you should be ok , if you want meat then go to the stalls on the square at night for the freshest delicious meat and fish...despite Marrakech being so far from the sea. All in all a good budget option, a little noisy but hey, this is Central Marrakech. ..Enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Always ask to see before you commit , dont be afraid to ask for another or even a third, Moroccan Gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#301 of 500 in Marrakech
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#353 of 500 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#334 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#127 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#245 of 500 in Marrakech
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#324 of 500 in Marrakech
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Property: Hotel Ali
Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing