We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait until building works are complete”
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #409 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've been using Hotel Ali for the last ten years and until this year was quite happy. It's in an ideal postion just metres away from Djemaa el Fna (so take ear plugs if you want an early night), has offered a good breakfast, has a cafe/pizzaria and normally serves an excellent evening buffet meal on the roof terrace. It's a good place to meet other travellers and the rooms are gradually being upgraded which is good.

But all this has changed this year. When I visited in February 2012 the kitchen/breakfast area had been walled off and was being renovated. And the evening meals on the terrace have been stopped, presumably because there's no kitchen any more.

I assumed that by June this would be finished but nothing seems to have happened other than the cafe/pizza area has now also been closed off. There's only one tiny area available downstairs and yesterday when I was doing a YouTube upload using the wifi this was invaded by locals who were using it as a mosque. So any guests had to vacate.

I sincerely hope all this is a temporary aberation and that normal service will soon be resumed, but check first before booking. The staff are very good but what's happening is clearly out of their hands.

Room Tip: There's a HUGE variety in the rooms available, I prefer the ones with external balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TimCullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, manly because of location....and price for H/B. Rooms do vary, try for 2nd floor on outside of building as they have good sized balconies. Roof Terrace great for sun and peace/quiet not to mention view over the Djemma at night. Female staff in Lobby very helpful and efficient. As with most budget places in Maroc, if you are not happy or want something changed, be firm ,polite and indicate that you will be Grateful when the problem is resolved. Just a Euro or two can really speed things up....and get you a result. As for the food....breakfast ok but nothing special, the coffeee/orange juice mediocre at best. Dinner was Buffet style,,,Stick to the veggie options and you should be ok , if you want meat then go to the stalls on the square at night for the freshest delicious meat and fish...despite Marrakech being so far from the sea. All in all a good budget option, a little noisy but hey, this is Central Marrakech. ..Enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Always ask to see before you commit , dont be afraid to ask for another or even a third, Moroccan Gu...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

didn't have high expectations of hotel having read reviews so wasn't disappointed.
air con crap, cockroaches crap, breakfast/dinner crap, no roof top dining, disinterested staff but excellent position to explore the djemma, could see the action from our balcony, was worth roughing it to be in the centre of such mad chaos

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room and insist on working air con. prob better to eat elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saldorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Even though I've been there for several times I cannot recomend this hotel considering other cheap alternatives nearby. The last time I went there (August last year) litle or no changes have been made to the place. The hotel is located right in front of Place Jeema El Fna wich is great but the service was really poor, the price was high, 50€ for a small twin room without air conditionig and a bathroom iffy to say the least.
For those arriving at Marrakesh for the first time it can be an option to consider if you don't want to have the hassle to get a taxi to go to the Jeema El Fna Square or the Medina. It has two ATM right on the left of the hotel, but all the remaining is lacking. The breakfast was served in another hotel nearby, the personel was not very polite and you have to be careful on the prices because they tend to over charge you. The same goes to all the restaurants in the vicinity. When placing an order ALLWAYS check the prices quoted on the menu for the food you're about to order otherwise you'll be charged at least 10Dh more than the price listed. Unfortunately this is common in several places in Morocco where there is a lot of tourism.
Be aware that taking photos can be an hassle too because if you do so without asking permission they'll charge you for that. This is specially true at the square namely for the guys with snakes and henna tatooers.
When getting a taxi ALLWAYS ask for the price first otherwise you will be overcharged. Some examples:
Taxi from the Square to the Railroad Station average 30-40Dh.
Taxi from the Railroad Station to the airport average 60Dh but from the airport to the railroad station they tend to charge you 150Dh. Usually I walk from the airport to the main road and get the taxi there.
Although taximeters are mandatory many of the taxis don't have one or if they do they tend to leave it of. If the taxi you´re getting doesn't starts the meter ask to get out.
Remember prices are allways inflated in August. My revue is for the summer season and may be more favourable during low season.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musatapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Single room 250dh
Double room 350dh

breakfast included, price can be negotiated a little (100 -50dh)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights.Good accommodation, great location, very good breakfast. Definitely i will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

When in Marrakech I always stay in hotel Ali, for years now. The staff is friendly, just a phone call and your booking is done, no deposits, no credit cards etc. Simple.

I always ask for a good room and I get it also. The rooms are being renovated and the hotel is nearly done, when they will put new pictures on their website. The room we had was large, with airconditioning, nice windows to the centre part of the hotel, very comfortable huge bed, bathroom with shower and bath tub, hair dryer etc. Pity in a hurry forgot to take a photo.
There is a cleaning service and you can have your teeshirts etc in the same day, if needed. At least this was in the past. A nice restaurant to have your dinner, a coffee shop facing the square where you can just sit with a mint-tea and watch the world go by.

In my humble opinion you get very good value for your money, and best is the location, easy to access, and right on the Djmaa El-Fna square. There is money exchange service also and they assist you on desert trips etc.
Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank morocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#302 of 502 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#330 of 502 in Marrakech
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#348 of 502 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Narjisse
Hotel Narjisse
#299 of 502 in Marrakech
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#403 of 502 in Marrakech
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#196 of 502 in Marrakech
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $34 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing