We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Morrocan Fawlty Towers... Brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tazi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #483 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Morrocan Fawlty Towers... Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the Tazi but had a fun few afternoons/ evenings there quenching our thirst, resting our weary legs after busy morning of haggling and being accosted by the ever helpful locals wishing to lead us to whichever market was there for one day only!
Forgive the low marks just being honest, but still a great place to hang out and have a drink in the smoke filled lobby and watch the comings and goings. Quite hilarious and always something going down. Don't expect five star service but great for people watching. Sit back, soak up the atmosphere, admire the amazing interior.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissFlissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    37
    16
    76
See reviews for
32
60
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my wife visited this restaurant for a tanjia as our guide took us here specifically for that Moroccan speciality. However, we wished we researched the tanjia more and found a place ourselves.

We chose the 180 dirham deal which was a three course meal which included the tanjia. The starter of cold mezze of vegetables was nothing special and akin to the food served in the square. The course that did stand out was the pastilla, which was the tastiest we had eaten while in Marrakesh but nothing to shout about. The beef tanjia was tasty, but the cut of meat was poor given the price paid, but at least we got to sample the specialty. The dessert was just fruit, which was a let down as I though it would have been Moroccan patisseries.

The service was polite, unobtrusive, efficient and friendly, but with the restaurant being completely empty the atmosphere was non existent, but they did try to cut the silence with a live musician.

I would not visit this place again if I was in Marrakesh as the food was mediocre and I guess the guide was on the take to recommend the place. All in all, avoid, as you might as well eat in the square for a quarter of the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We never been to such terrible restaurant EVER in the world.
Our tour guide brought us there, of course because he will get commission from them.
We wanted to order just one set menu to share because we were not so hungry (BTW it cost about 25euro per person) which is very expensive for Marrakech.
Manager declined our order and said we MUST order 2 menu.

In the end we said YES, he brought us food, that is good for one person only.
There are no 2 SET menu for 2 person. complete RIPPED OFF, we tried to complain but get nothing.
The owner dont even bother to talk to us. We try to talk to him but he just ignored us.
Food was BAD, its the same with 50 dirham food that you can get from the square/SOUKS.

The manager behavior was so disgusting- his name is Abdullah.
DO NOT EVER ENTER THIS PLACE, you will be only disappointed.
We dont mind paying a lot for good food.
But this place is JUST a TOURIST TRAP.

We should trust our feeling to get out from that Restaurant from the moment Abdullah forced us to buy 2 MENU Meals.

I hope our left over meals will not be served to another guest!

NEVER EVER EVER GO THERE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elzyech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A complete rip off. Food was appalling. They are moneygrabber. The behaviour of the manager is like a pick pocketer. We lost our appetite for Moroccan food after visiting this place only to be restored when we had a meal in Agadir in a restaurant Le Vendome. I will advise everyone to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Syed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
297 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unless it's the last place on earth to get food.

Our tour guide let us here and the place was dark and somewhat dirty, the bathroom was filthy.

The Moroccan soup was good but it's usually good at any restaurant, it has got to be since it's their own traditional soup. We couldn't get over the cold pastillas, the waiter asked why we didn't eat them so we told him that they were cold inside still (frozen pastillas no doubt) so he brought us two more pastillas saying that he made a mistake of bringing us the wrong pastillas; but the second ones were warm outside and still cold inside:-( This place discouraged us and spoiled our appetite.
They are located at a busy touristy street so perhaps their clients come once but never a second time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
533 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ended up here with our guide

We ordered a set meal for 180 dirham each first course of soup was lovely

Second Course of pastilla was cold in the middle sent it back got another which was also just as cold in the middle so we left in

Main course was ok but put off by pastilla

Fruit was ok

Then they said the bill instead of being 180 time two ie 360 was 450 including tip, I said we decide tip but no joy so was a wimp paid up and left . Will never be back. If you want a decent tourist place try the Riad Omar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I think that the name GRAND is a bit over the top, maybe 25 years ago it was Grand but it is now a bit run-down, it is really a place that Moroccans stay when visiting Marrakech.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay I would recommend looking around for a cheapish Riad, saying that, if you are in Djemma al Fna (the main square) and want a relaxing cold beer then you could do worse as its only a short walk down to the end of Prince St.
I haven't eaten here because I have heard horror stories but the beer is bottled and cold, which is rare but not impossible to find elsewhere inside the medina.
A good place to unwind with friends after exploring the souks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#421 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#252 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#203 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#307 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#293 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#208 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Property: Grand Hotel Tazi
Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Tazi 2*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing