We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Serves beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Tazi
Ranked #484 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serves beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Want beer? Enjoy a 'mixed' crowd? They have both here, it is easy to find and it is not too expensive. Interesting interior though no idea what the hotel is like. On arrival, we were told there is a "quiet" room and a "not quiet" room. We tried both and were surprisingly similar. A cat wandered in as well. If that's your thing. And we saw the only drunk person of our week-long stay in Morocco. And they serve beer as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Emma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    37
    16
    78
See reviews for
33
60
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a few dry days in Marrakech I just fancied a beer so popped into the Tazi to give it a try. Very interesting building inside and has an old world charm to it. The waiters were very keen to replenish your drinks (as presumably they do not get much custom from the locals!). Bar on ground floor and also extensive rooftoop bar on second floor. First floor consists of rooms.

You feel you are doing something you should not be doing by drinking in an Islamic country but that is part of the intrigue in doing it. This is not meaning to disrespect their religious views but the Tazi has chosen to cater for the desires of non Muslims.

Beers are 30 dirham for a 240 ml bottle (that is about £2.40 for 2/5th of a pint 'in English' or £5.70 a pint) and they give you unending free supplies of popcorn and olives. Glass was a bit grubby but no problem, just drunk from the bottle instead.

Overall, certainly worth popping in for a swift one and to soak up the unusual atmosphere as part of your tour of Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Probably the cheapest beer in the medina... We onl went for evening beers rather than staing there. It felt like a waiting waiting room in a colonial train station. A very varied an transient crowd, but not an atmosphere given to easy conversation Ach well, it is was interesting!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for a beer. Ordered. after an extraordinary long wait & two reminders beer arrived . Unopened & no glasses we waited a further parched 10 mins for them to be opened.. We didn't wait for the glasses, the bottles were empty before they arrived!!
Yes it is atmospheric, the waiters are living on past reputations, assumed the large note we left consisted of their tip and looked miffed when we asked for the change & handed over a small gratuity which to be honest they were lucky to get!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heathernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Came here twice, in the space of one year. You can have a nice cold beer or some wine in a decadent post colonial time, with faces that looks from a dark movie from the 50's. Unsual movement up and down the stairs, looks like another business goes on...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rostodocao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've only ever been here when in Marra to drink cold bear in the lobby bar. It's slightly seedy in a faded days of empire way, but the beer's fine. You don't always get charged the same amount for your drinks though, which is a bit naff. There's a few Moroccan barflys and loads of people smoke. Interesting characters too, but i don't know if i'd feel that comfortable here as a single woman.
The thing is, there are so few places to grab a cold beer, and this is just very convenient, and you can people-watch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Marrakech in December 2011 and found this relic of the Colonial Era was one of the few places one could just walk in, much like any UK bar, and have an alcoholic drink without having to order a meal. Bit run down now, but must have been a quite spectacular watering hole. Staff friendly enough, especially so if you try a 'morning','please' or thankyou' in Arabic. Toilets-spotless.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#261 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#429 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#309 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#205 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#329 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Property: Grand Hotel Tazi
Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Tazi 2*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing