We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Agafay
Ranked #341 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Kasbah Agafay at the end of October/beginning of November. We only had 3 nights but this short stay was everything we could have asked for and more. The hotel's driver collected us from the airport and soon we were sitting in amazing surroundings, drinking mint tea! Our suite was magnificent, huge and beautifully decorated in traditional style. The bed, very large and very comfortable, combined with the peaceful atmosphere, ensured quality sleep each night.

The manager, Mo, is absolutely charming and went out of his way to make sure we had a wonderful stay, as did every other member of staff we came across. My husband had a broken leg, was in plaster and on crutches, but Mo and his team went out of their way to help us enjoy our holiday, despite this. We were told to treat the hotel like a home and it certainly felt like that during our stay. The hotel was not very busy and we only saw one or two other guests while we were there - this might be due to the time we went.

We used the hotel driver, Mustapha, to take us into Marrakech to see all the touristy bits and we also hired a guide (recommended by Mo), who was excellent and meant we could enjoy all the important sights and benefit from his extensive knowledge. I would recommend this and it was good value for money (30 Euros). We returned to the city in the evening to sample a traditional restaurant, with music and dancing. Having the car for the day was an additional extravagance but well worth the money and saved a lot of hassle, especially for someone on crutches!

The hotel is a converted fortress which has been lovingly restored, retaining much of its former glory. We were able to explore at will and saw some amazing rooms and artefacts. The grounds are beautiful and include a lovely swimming pool, with comfy sun beds and chairs. We spent many hours here, relaxing with a book and taking the occasional, bracing dip! - the water was very cold, as it is not heated and the sun, although warm, is not out sufficiently long enough each day to warm the water. We had lunch on the stunningly landscaped terraces above the pool.

The food at the Kasbah Agafay was delicious - there are no menus, you just eat what the chef has prepared, using fresh ingredients from the hotel's gardens and farm. We were never disappointed!

Would we change anything? Yes, stay for longer next time! We would also try spending a couple of nights at the sister hotel in the heart of the Souk, the Kssour Agafay, before moving on to this tranquil haven. I cannot to speak too highly of this hotel in every respect and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingElves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

On arrival we were met by 'Mo' the Man in charge of this beautiful retreat in the hills just outside Marrakech.
Our upgraded suite was one the best in the hotel with everything you could ask for and without the distraction of a television, which was just perfect.
The peace, relaxation and privacy was just what we wanted. The pool area was perfection and a good place to take a long lazy lunch with great service.
Mo took care of all of our arrangements which helped us to chill out even quicker than we could have expected.
A 20 minute drive into Marrakech by the hotels’ private driver & car saved a lot of hassle and was ideal.
We did the tourist bits which were inescapable and we socialised more than we should have with friends at some of the finest city restaurants, 5* hotels, clubs, casinos, etc & were eventually whisked off to our beds by Mustapha, our driver.
Excellent everything due to all the helpful staff at Kasbah Agafay!
A big thank you to Mo & everyone.
Gavin

Room Tip: Chillax, Mo will sort it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinRTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just arrived back from Marrakech where we stayed at the beautiful Kasbah Agafay Hotel ,the ground's & hospitality were.exceptional.
The manager Mo did everything possible to ensure our stay was perfect.
He upgraded us to the most beautiful suite I had ever seen.
The pool area was magnificent ,very secluded and private.
It was a 20 minute ride into the Marrakech where we used the hotels driver at a small cost . Who was always on stand for us!
Mo & his staff were amazing they looked after us and ensured our stay was to perfection.
A huge thank you to Mo & staff for our fantastic stay in Marrakech .
Soraya

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

So we came here for just one night of a quick weekend visit from London having spent the first night at the sister hotel - Kssour Agafay - in central Marrakech.

What a difference in location! Whereas Kssour Agafay is right in heart of the Souks of the Medina, Kasbah Agafay, while only being half an hour from Marrakech airport, feels like it's on the edge of the desert, with the High Atlas mountain in the distance. The air is dry and silent with only birdsong in background.

The rooms are fabulous and comfortable. The sitting areas, under double height ceiling are great places to relax and chat. The pool is large and clean with comfortable sun beds and towels.

As with Kssour Agafay we ate very well with a light and healthy breakfast on the terrace, grilled lunch in the garden and dinner in the central riad of the main building with the most incredible Gnawa "Trance" drum performers after dinner. If you haven't seen this music done well it will blow you away. It makes modern techno sound a little lame. All the food was delicious.

Mo, the manager is delightful and we spent a great deal of time discussing the history of the Kasbah and of Morocco! Nothing was too much trouble for them from the moment we arrived to our bags being dropped off in front of the check-in desk at the airport.

There is also an incredible, authentic wood fired hamman. I didn't (dare) use it but my wife and lots of others did. Incredible apparently. There was lots of glowing skin and floating about in a dreamlike state so it must have been good.

We had a lovely time and can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our fourth hotel in Morocco and our favorite. We arrived there with a Backroads biking group and were stunned by the beauty of this restored castle and its setting. It is a bit of a maze but we quickly found our way around. Our room, like most, was off a very large sitting area furnished with traditional furnishings. The pool area was gorgeous with comfortable lounge chairs. We enjoyed our meals, and even had a chance to help the cooks make our dinner which is something worthwhile if you can do it.
We were being picked up very early the next morning and the owner insisted on getting up to serve us a full breakfast even though we didn't expect it. He was such a good host he made it feel as if we were staying at his home.
The hotel is close enough to the city of Marrakech (about 40 Min) to make it a nice get away or destination on its own.

Room Tip: They are all a little different and very authentic for the restored castle so don't expect your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My newlywed wife and I spent an incredible 2 days and a relaxing night at this beautiful kasbah, so close to the medina yet feeling of desert.
We were treating like family, fed and served incredible meals and drink.
Mo, the hotel manager was so attentive and considerate, we were in want of nothing.
We spent the days by the pool sipping wine and one afternoon traveled to Abel's ranch where we were treated to two hours of horse ridding, in a quaint and very authentic stable and corral.
We will definitely return...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a couple of days at the Kssour Agafay in the heart of the Medinah, with all of the vitality of life around the souk, followed by a few days at the Kasbah. The Kasbah offered a comfortable relaxed contrast to the activity of the Medina.
Mo made us feel truly at home in the historic Kasbah. The decor is authentic and the food offers a taste of quality Morrocan cuisine. And dont miss out on the Hamam..........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
15.9 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#290 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
7.6 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#250 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#322 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#274 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#180 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#76 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Property: Kasbah Agafay
Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#173 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#186 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#193 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing