We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A lovely place and lovely people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Agafay
Ranked #300 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place and lovely people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

So we came here for just one night of a quick weekend visit from London having spent the first night at the sister hotel - Kssour Agafay - in central Marrakech.

What a difference in location! Whereas Kssour Agafay is right in heart of the Souks of the Medina, Kasbah Agafay, while only being half an hour from Marrakech airport, feels like it's on the edge of the desert, with the High Atlas mountain in the distance. The air is dry and silent with only birdsong in background.

The rooms are fabulous and comfortable. The sitting areas, under double height ceiling are great places to relax and chat. The pool is large and clean with comfortable sun beds and towels.

As with Kssour Agafay we ate very well with a light and healthy breakfast on the terrace, grilled lunch in the garden and dinner in the central riad of the main building with the most incredible Gnawa "Trance" drum performers after dinner. If you haven't seen this music done well it will blow you away. It makes modern techno sound a little lame. All the food was delicious.

Mo, the manager is delightful and we spent a great deal of time discussing the history of the Kasbah and of Morocco! Nothing was too much trouble for them from the moment we arrived to our bags being dropped off in front of the check-in desk at the airport.

There is also an incredible, authentic wood fired hamman. I didn't (dare) use it but my wife and lots of others did. Incredible apparently. There was lots of glowing skin and floating about in a dreamlike state so it must have been good.

We had a lovely time and can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    1
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, MI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our fourth hotel in Morocco and our favorite. We arrived there with a Backroads biking group and were stunned by the beauty of this restored castle and its setting. It is a bit of a maze but we quickly found our way around. Our room, like most, was off a very large sitting area furnished with traditional furnishings. The pool area was gorgeous with comfortable lounge chairs. We enjoyed our meals, and even had a chance to help the cooks make our dinner which is something worthwhile if you can do it.
We were being picked up very early the next morning and the owner insisted on getting up to serve us a full breakfast even though we didn't expect it. He was such a good host he made it feel as if we were staying at his home.
The hotel is close enough to the city of Marrakech (about 40 Min) to make it a nice get away or destination on its own.

Room Tip: They are all a little different and very authentic for the restored castle so don't expect your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My newlywed wife and I spent an incredible 2 days and a relaxing night at this beautiful kasbah, so close to the medina yet feeling of desert.
We were treating like family, fed and served incredible meals and drink.
Mo, the hotel manager was so attentive and considerate, we were in want of nothing.
We spent the days by the pool sipping wine and one afternoon traveled to Abel's ranch where we were treated to two hours of horse ridding, in a quaint and very authentic stable and corral.
We will definitely return...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a couple of days at the Kssour Agafay in the heart of the Medinah, with all of the vitality of life around the souk, followed by a few days at the Kasbah. The Kasbah offered a comfortable relaxed contrast to the activity of the Medina.
Mo made us feel truly at home in the historic Kasbah. The decor is authentic and the food offers a taste of quality Morrocan cuisine. And dont miss out on the Hamam..........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kasbah Agafay for five nights at the end of September into October. The weather was perfect and for the first three nights we were the only people in the hotel. The staff could not do too much for you and were so kind and so friendly. The food was superb, freshly picked from the garden. There is no menu which has its pluses and minuses - great in that you can choose whatever you fancy but we sometimes wanted to have something suggested to us. The chef was a chef to the king and it shows. The waiters speak a little English and a little French which meant occasionally we didn't quite end up with what we asked for but the food we did receive was always lovely. The manager speaks perfect English and cannot do enough to help. The bedrooms were beautiful and we had our own riad with our own courtyard! The pool was lovely it is a 20 m one but the tennis court does need rolling! The ball sometimes had the odd angles of a rugby ball! The hotel felt very safe and a lovely change to the madness of Marrakech. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriacamberwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff were excellent from the driver that met us on time at the airport to the chef that would anything we wanted (within reason). All under the informal efficient management of Mo. It felt like a visit to a friends house but with all the benefits of a hotel. We had an excellent time. The food was amazing and we loved not having a menu and eating what the chef was preparing that night, although other choices would happily accommodated(there was really no need the food was varied, authentic and of an excellent standard). The wines were all Moroccan and to our ignorant surprise really rather good. They looked after us just wonderfully and we are looking forward to an early return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJGILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I booked five nights at the end of August. People said we were mad. That the weather would be too hot to breathe, that it would be a holiday best forgotten. How wrong they were. Thanks to Kasbah Agafay it was the most memorable, magical five days ever. From our welcome tea and homemade biscuits with Mo the Manager, to our morning yoga in the Olive Grove, to the cookery lesson illuminated by candlelight and laughter, to the most beautiful breakfast, lunches and dinners - this was the most perfect five days I have ever spent. Mo and his staff are our family now - and one thing is certain - we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#246 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#397 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#77 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#94 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#88 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Property: Kasbah Agafay
Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#158 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#169 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#194 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing