We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Agafay
Ranked #342 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Felt like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My newlywed wife and I spent an incredible 2 days and a relaxing night at this beautiful kasbah, so close to the medina yet feeling of desert.
We were treating like family, fed and served incredible meals and drink.
Mo, the hotel manager was so attentive and considerate, we were in want of nothing.
We spent the days by the pool sipping wine and one afternoon traveled to Abel's ranch where we were treated to two hours of horse ridding, in a quaint and very authentic stable and corral.
We will definitely return...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a couple of days at the Kssour Agafay in the heart of the Medinah, with all of the vitality of life around the souk, followed by a few days at the Kasbah. The Kasbah offered a comfortable relaxed contrast to the activity of the Medina.
Mo made us feel truly at home in the historic Kasbah. The decor is authentic and the food offers a taste of quality Morrocan cuisine. And dont miss out on the Hamam..........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kasbah Agafay for five nights at the end of September into October. The weather was perfect and for the first three nights we were the only people in the hotel. The staff could not do too much for you and were so kind and so friendly. The food was superb, freshly picked from the garden. There is no menu which has its pluses and minuses - great in that you can choose whatever you fancy but we sometimes wanted to have something suggested to us. The chef was a chef to the king and it shows. The waiters speak a little English and a little French which meant occasionally we didn't quite end up with what we asked for but the food we did receive was always lovely. The manager speaks perfect English and cannot do enough to help. The bedrooms were beautiful and we had our own riad with our own courtyard! The pool was lovely it is a 20 m one but the tennis court does need rolling! The ball sometimes had the odd angles of a rugby ball! The hotel felt very safe and a lovely change to the madness of Marrakech. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaVelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff were excellent from the driver that met us on time at the airport to the chef that would anything we wanted (within reason). All under the informal efficient management of Mo. It felt like a visit to a friends house but with all the benefits of a hotel. We had an excellent time. The food was amazing and we loved not having a menu and eating what the chef was preparing that night, although other choices would happily accommodated(there was really no need the food was varied, authentic and of an excellent standard). The wines were all Moroccan and to our ignorant surprise really rather good. They looked after us just wonderfully and we are looking forward to an early return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJGILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I booked five nights at the end of August. People said we were mad. That the weather would be too hot to breathe, that it would be a holiday best forgotten. How wrong they were. Thanks to Kasbah Agafay it was the most memorable, magical five days ever. From our welcome tea and homemade biscuits with Mo the Manager, to our morning yoga in the Olive Grove, to the cookery lesson illuminated by candlelight and laughter, to the most beautiful breakfast, lunches and dinners - this was the most perfect five days I have ever spent. Mo and his staff are our family now - and one thing is certain - we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I booked 5 nights here at the end of July 2013. It really was one of the best hotels we've stayed in, mainly because the staff were so wonderful. Mo, the manager was so helpful and thoughtful. He went out of his way to make our stay at Kasbah Agafay memorable.
The food was quite simply out of this world! We were treated to incredible food everyday, most of which was grown in their own vegetable garden in the grounds of the fort.
Our room was stunning, we were upgraded from a standard room as the hotel wasnt full in late July. The manager explained that July & August were the most quiet due to the heat. It was over 50 degrees for 3 of the 5 days we were there!
We were provided with a lovely driver who showed us many attractions in Marrekesh, drove us to the foot hills of the moutains to do some waterfull climbing and to recommended restaurants. He also helped us cross the roads - which was a godsend as I have never exprianced roads like it!!!
All in all it was a truely amazing place, one I hope to go back to in the future. Not only is it beautiful and tranquil but every single member of staff made us feel welcome and special! We cannot wait to go back, possibly next year in September when its slightly cooler!

Room Tip: If its cool enough go for one of the large tented rooms! They are mind blowing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGLDCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaytan, Manager at Kasbah Agafay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Sophie and Sara,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the Kasbah and all the team thank you for generosity and kindness and we all hope to see you soon but not in July nor August !!!!!.

we wish you all the best for your future.

the kasbah Team and MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed here with the family for 9 days, and every day was a real contribution to my life. Mo, the manager, and his entire staff were absolutely dedicated to make every moment special and tailor-made. The cuisine from breakfast, lunch and dinners were made upon request and we went through the whole Moroccan symphony of herbs, meat and fish. Also the Moroccan wines were very tasteful.
The Kasbah feels like your private house and not as a hotel. Many places on the Kasbah to wine, dine and relax.
We also enjoyed the activities like the camel riding, Marrakech medina, gardens and souks, quad driving and the cooking lessons as well as the beauty arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdeb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaytan, Manager at Kasbah Agafay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dearest,

it was a great pleasure having you stay with us and the kasbah feels empty without you !
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
The Kasbah Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.5 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#76 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
8.4 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#116 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#303 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Property: Kasbah Agafay
Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#193 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#197 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing