We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hotel demolished” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Mirage Marrakech to your Saves list
Royal Mirage Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel demolished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Albatros hotel was demolished six months ago. Given its prime location it is being replaced by a splendid new five-star Movenpick Hotel. The new complex will include a Buddha Bar (the first in Morocco), a shopping centre and an ice skating rink. However, it won't open until the end of 2016. Should be worth the wait.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Faisal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    165
    123
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
213
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

guys it is saying this hotel is unavailable to book until October this year on all the booking sites. I don't think it is being completely demolished just having a major refurb (which let's be honest it needed). All the windows etc still had the crest from the previous hotel name on them and furnishings in the bedrooms were very tired. My daughter and I loved this place in 2011 and will definitely go back when it's re-opened.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyertribe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week in 2012 and the place and location was excellent. Someone told me that it has been demolished? Anyone know if this is correct?
Would love to visit this hotel again when I return. Hope its not closed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks.. it was amazing! the food was nice..and the hotel staff were friendly! you can take camel rides outside the hotel.. taxi's outside the hotel..all day&night! i fell in love with marrakech! :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blatna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited this hotel in April/2012 and it was in a low season. We had a double room, it was nice decorated and clean. We could use outside pool. Watter was OK. The breakfast was delicious, we had a fresh made pancakes which we really enjoyed. I think everyone can choose from lot of food.
We had a marrocan a pot of tea in the afternoon by the pool. It was nice.
There is easy connection to the airport. You can use bus Nr 19.
We had lovely, rellaxing time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaru024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My sister & I visited this hotel for a girly getaway and was bitterly Dissappointed! We walked into the lobby where various guests were crowding the reception area demanding to see the manager. The female receptionist looked like she couldn't care less and simply said no he is busy. As we waited to check in which took over an hour as there were many guests being seen to about various different compliments this didn't give us a good first impression. We finally got seen to and got a frosty welcome and told to follow the bell boy. We were taken to our first room which had already been occupied and walked in on a couple sitting on their balcony! Their wise words were not to stay at this hotel as they had some horrible experiences. Our second room hasn't been cleaned and were wet towel and hair over the floor. Third room was acceptable but nothing like what the Internet described. There was not once an apology or explanation to why this had happened.
Food was basic and bland. Had terrible food poising for 24 hours and had spoken to other guests around the pool when I finally felt well enough to get out of bed who had also suffered with similar discomfort.
There were so many other aspects that were terrible and on the whole our experience was awful and not at all what you would expect from a 4*!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xloulabellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay was magical in Marrakech, helped a lot by this lovely, affordable hotel.
Getting there:
You can catch the number 19 that runs very often from the airport and goes right outside the hotel in one stop and takes 5-10 minutes For about 60D- much cheaper than the taxi driver trying to get 100D out of you at best!
On arrival:
we got there 3hrs before check-in but the receptionists were so lovely, they got us a room in 5 minutes and enaured we were comfy and happy.
Your stay:
Don't drink the tap water or have any ice!!! although it's a great hotel the tap water will still give you the squits!
The food is great at the albatros for little snacks and breakfast but we liked to go out for our evening meal.
As it can get quite hectic, hot and very full on in the old town of Marrakech, it's wonderful to come back to the cool, loving arms of your French/English and Arabic speaking hotel :) the travel advice guys are awesome as well and work hard to get you the best deal.
One of my favourite moments of the holiday was when I fell and cut my knee by the pool and when I asked for a plaster they called the doctor who came straight away in full scrubs, applied the plaster himself to My knee and then kissed it better!!!!

The only bad point:
There is no sensor for swearing in their poolside music so if going with children, make sure you speak to reception or the pool guard before relaxing by the pool with your 3 year old and sunddenly 'b**ch guna pay' comes blasting over the speakers :)

Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boots89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#410 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#104 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 3,921 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#204 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing