We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #370 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i would not recommend staying half board in this hotel as food in the evening was often cold and dissapointing even though i am not a very fussy eater breakfast was not to bad , quite good variety if you dont mind queueing . Check in was also slow , beening ignored by staff unless you spoke french or was quite blunt almost felt you needed to rude to staff to get there attention.The room i had was very big cleaned daily and over looking the poola little tiredonly a 3*at a push as i got it cheap i did not mind to much..There was a lot of french there who did not seemed to mind taking towels from others sunbeds and using them their- self.Location was a 5min taxi 30diram away from main square 25min walk along main road so not to bad .it was expensive to eat and drink in hotel but lots of french people brought in food and drink from outside hotel even though it cearly states on doors that this is not allowed i did not see any one beening stoped ?.Would i stay here again NO

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john64hersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    167
    126
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
217
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our impression of the hotel was tainted on arrival as it took 1 hour and several unhelpful receptionists before we could check in. This was reinforced throughout our stay with reception being entirely unhelpful, when we asked a query they told us to go back to our room and someone would call, but never did. This is a common theme at the hotel, you have to ask a number of times before anything is done.

The rooms and pool are nice, however, this is diminished somewhat by the lack of towels and loungers.

The final straw was on check-out when we were presented with a 'bill' for items we had supposedly charged to our room. We never charged any of the (expensive) food and drinks we had from the hotel. After about half an hour of arguing at the desk reception finally requested the dockets for the items that we supposedly signed for - only to be presented with a forged signature - which looked nothing like ours. They begrudgingly removed the falsified amountly having delayed us getting to the airport with no mention of an apology. Be warned - check your bill!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was sold to us through Lowcostholidays as a 5*. The hotel was clean with plenty of sunbeds around the pool. When we first checked in (on a half board basis) we were told to eat breakfast in one restaurant and dinner in another, to find the breakfast restaurant was not even open!! The dining area had plenty of tables both inside and out. Breakfast was good, with a good choice however I am not a fussy eater in the slightest, but the food at dinner was disappointing. Our room had only 1 towel and the maids did not understand when we asked for more. There was plenty of staff throughout the hotel, 98% of which we found to be not very helpful at all. We requested to move rooms after 24 hours as our safe kep locking us out, the shower temperature kept fluctuating from ok to boiling hot, the room key cards failed on us numerous times and the tv was stuck on 1 channel. There was no issue with moving as the hotel was quite empty, and our new room had a pool view as opposed to the back street we had been looking at in the last room! All in all, I would say this hotel was more like a 3*, as it looked quite tired. My partner described it as probably one of the best in it's heyday, but that time seemed to have passed! I am not a fussy traveller, but felt the need to share our experiences of this hotel as we were disappointed, and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dionne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a lovely time in the city this hotel had friendly staff and service was great. The food was lovely and the city excursions were good. I recommend this hotel and it was only twenty minutes away from city centre by foot. It's very historical and beautiful. The excursions were great and there is a lot to see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Overall I'd rate our week here as average, I've listed all the pro's and con's but if you're looking for a week by the pool then this isn't the hotel for you. If you are looking for somewhere close to the medina then it is perfect.

Don't listen to the reception staff who tell you it's only a 20 minute walk to the square, you're looking at about 45 minutes and it's much easier to get a taxi from outside. Highly recommend a trip to the atlas mountains and buggying in the desert.

Steer clear of the souks and square after 8pm, it turns into a claustrophobic nightmare, we enjoyed it far more by going in at 6pm and leaving before sunset. In terms of what to wear outside of the hotel, ladies make sure you cover up, especially if you have tattoos as my sister received some abuse from the locals.

Personally I wouldn't come back here, I find the other guests extremely rude (the children are really badly behaved and expect to sit next to a screaming baby during most meals) and the adults aren't much better, constantly pushing in and invading your personal space.

Pro's
Nice, clean and big rooms
Beach towels provided
Resort food and drink wasn't as expensive as previous reviews say
Free wifi
Easy to book day trips in the hotel and it's competitively priced
Short taxi drive to the medina

Con's
Not enough sun loungers, umbrellas or beach towels for the number of guests staying
Pool becomes overcrowded and boisterous with young children and people on lilos
The water in the pool isn't chlorinated and turns hair and swimwear green
Staff are extremely slow, expect to wait an hour for food at lunch and over an hour to check out/check in
Breakfast is like a bun fight, not enough clean tables and expect to queue for the omelettes and pancakes for at least 20 minutes
Food started off really well and then gradually got worse as the week went on
When the hotel is busy, all the sounloungers disappear by 8am and you rarely see the people who reserve them, use them

Room Tip: If you can, ask for an upgrade as we were given two lovely, big rooms with flat screen TVs on the 6t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggrw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Terrible! Do not cater for British Muslims or for Arabs. Well suited for the French! Terrible service. Breakfast.... Well nothing is ever available! Not family orianted! Marijwana smoking is tolerated and not controlled!! Seems to be acceptable at this hotel. Hygiene! Let's not go there! Hair has been found in food! Had to complain every single day to the point that I was near to leaving this hotel! It's the perfect hotel for smokers galore accept shisha is not tolerated. Staff do not know how to give customer service, they do not know how to smile and continuously froen upon you! Would nit recommend this hotel to anyone. Total TRASH. Hated every moment off it and was here for ten days. Pool towels are never available. Restaurant is like a school canteen. No ironing facilities unless you request for it and even then you would be lucky to get it the next day! Drink and water prices ridiculous. 5 times the price of supermarkets And the UK prices. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms cool and clean. Maid service daily. Prices of food very expensive! Smuggling in water highly recommended! 25d in hotel 6d in shops in the town. Be prepared to be pestered non stop when visiting anywhere outside of the hotel. Be very firm in saying no as they can get quite nasty. Service very very slow in the hotel so order food and drinks early.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InKayleighWeTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#394 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#201 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing