We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing stay but was a bit cold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #389 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay but was a bit cold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

we stayed 4 nights from 22-26 jan and it was really cold in evenings had to wrap up, the hotel was nice and clean and breakfast had a wide variety of food such as omlettes and pancake, We went to the souqs a few times it was a 10 min taxi journey paying 30dhms, also went to ourika valleys and Casablanca. the only downside was it was to cold will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    165
    123
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
213
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 2nd - 5th of February. Unfortunately it was freezing cold, everyone wearing winter jackets, scarves and hats for most of the time but that was the only serious negative of our stay.

Positives:
We had a wonderful non-smoking room on the 4th floor (room 4151), view of the pool, amazingly comfortable beds (2 doubles or queens?), separate shower and separate toilet. Some of the rooms are definitely nicer than others (newer fridges and flat screen TVs) and we swapped from an old one with a view of another building to this one on our first day as we had booked a pool view. Our sheets/towels were changed every day and we left a small tip and our room was suddenly tidyied even more (clothes folded, Made a cute little mattress for our babies travel cot with extra sheets/blankets etc).

Everyone is really friendly, we travelled with our son (1.5) and everyone was just so lovely with him, throwing the ball back and forth outside the pool or taking him for walks while we were eating lunch etc, showering him with kisses, makes such a difference when the staff go out of their way to entertain him.

The breakfast was pretty good, omellete and pancake stations, tons of pastries, sausages etc. The only thing lacking i thought was a bigger selection of fruit it's really just oranges. If you sleep in like us then its pretty packed around 10am but I think when it is warmer this wouldn't be an issue as you could sit outside. Try and say thank you to the staff as we noticed so many really rude people and really, it's just unnecessary. We watched the guy beside us pour his coffee onto the floor at breakfast time?!

We actually moved our travel cot into the shower room at night time so it was like a little bedroom for our son and he slept perfectly which meant we could stay up and chat/watch TV/eat delicious Moroccan pastries from the market. Obviously make sure your baby can't reach the shower curtain/stuff on the bench etc.

The pool loungers are nice and comfy and the pizzas from the restaurant by the pool are pretty good. We were just on breakfast included and it wasn't too bad although highly recommend the restaurant just around the corner (walk out of the hotel and turn left, then left down the main street and go to Caruso less than 5 mins away) and get the beef, almond and date tagine it's amazing and only 75 dirhams.

If you don't mind walking its a brisk 20-30 min walk into the walls of the old city and the markets and souks. A bit quicker walk to the new bit of the city Guéliz (big department stores like Zara, Mango etc), ask for a map at reception or if you get the bus they gave us one on the bus. The closest supermarket we found is Acima close to the intersections of Mohammed V and Abdelkarim el Khattabi. We bought some nice french style patisserie treats from the deli counter there although we saw some food being dropped on the floor and then put back into the cabinet... and there are big signs next to the hotel asking you not to bring food/drink in so yeah..

Negatives:
The tiles desperately need re-grouting/completely redoing all over the hotel, most of all the floors in the bedrooms. They give the rooms an appearance of being dirty and worn when actually they are quite clean, we saw the maids really scrubbing the floors and the rooms are actually very clean.

For some reason our fridge was out of its cubby hole which was a bit weird but whatever no big deal.

We had to wait until the next day to get a duvet cover for one of our beds as when we arrived it had none.

A note on travel: We caught the number 19 bus and in hindsight should have caught a taxi because the taxi drivers at the airport offered us the same fare as the bus, and on our return we waited and waited and waited for the bus until finally giving in and paying 60 dirhams for a taxi. Won't be getting the bus again! Although if you want to avoid the hassle of the taxi drivers and the bus is outside just look like you are confidently making your way to the bus and they will give you a good price!

I've read heaps of negative reviews on this place and can't help but think that a lot of them aren't from particularly nice people. I am very fussy, hate dirty/icky places and this place was honestly fine. I would say 3-4 star. Yes it's true that most of the staff don't speak English very well but try your best and we managed to explain everything we wanted needed with no stress, a bit of humour and patience goes a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view when you book. These seem to be the nicest ones with flat screen tvs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went as a couple, for a 4 night break - to just get away. Flying with EasyJet was no hassle whatsoever, the plane was quite empty and the crew were great. We decided to get the number 19 bus from the airport after clearing a very slow passport control in Marrakech. The bus was 100 dirham return to the city and left every 30 minutes.It's just outside the arrivals door - you can't miss it. The bus stop is just outside the hotel. A small taxi would have been around that price also. At the airport, buy a packet of chewing gum to get some change - we didn't do this and had to give the porter a 100 dirham note - not too much, but when porters earn 800 dirham a year - it's a fortune!!!
The Hotel - we arrived well beforethe check intime but was greeted with Morocan mint tea - an aquired taste. The reception team were friendly but little English was understood. The porter showed us to our room on the 5th floor. Basic room - no view of any mountains but extremely quiet. We had to change rooms after 2 nights as renovations were taking place upon our floor apparently. We changed to the 3rd floor with a pool/mountain view. Wonderful view. But not as quiet as the other side. Both rooms were definitely not of 4 star quality. The rooms were tired looking and could benefit from a complete makeover. But the basics were there. Clean, comfortable and amenities within the room if required - smellies, fridge, hairdryer etc. Towels clean every day if required and maid service each morning. Restaurant - there were 2 restaurants open during our time. The large 'normal' one and a Morrocan one that you paid extra for. We used the 'normal' one for our half board option and was not disappointed. Breakfast was a buffet with the normal continental fare together with cooked choices, sausages etc. pancakes cooked as and when you wanted them together with any kind of eggs. Cereals, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices. We made up rolls to have at lunch time whilst having breakfast and put them in our bedroom fridge. :-). We sat on the balcony with a bottle of Ksar Morrocan wine - very nice - eating our rolls! Evening meals - a different choice of hot dishes each night - there was also a pasta and pizza section which we missed the first night as we did not know it was down the other end of the restaurant. There are some birds flying around some of the time, but when you travel to different areas of the world this does happen - they caused no problems for us.
The hotel itself is decorated colourfully, there are bars, cafes to sit and relax in as well as large reception areas. The pool was extremely cold and only the hardy would swim, but we sat on the side of the childrems pool drinking freshly squeezed orange juice from the pool bar and getting a slight sun tan. When in the sun it was glorious, when out of the sun it was chilly. You need a jacket/coat for the evenings. We went to the night market one evening - an experience, I did not feel safe at all. We took a trip into the mountains for one day and climbed up the cascades. A great day out. We booked in the town and paid half the price of all the other guests on the trip. We did wonder if our guide would turn up - but alas he did!! All in all - a lovely break for a few nights. But would not go back to Morroco or the hotel again. Been there - done that!

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tweekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you want to have a nice time DO NOT go to this hotel.
We arrived at the lobby and had to wait about 20 minutes before we were taken to our room. The room we were given was on the 3rd floor with an old rusty balcony overlooking the highstreet. The fridge didnt work, and the wardrobe was broken.

I then had to go to reception and demand for about another 30 minutes to be moved to the ground floor as we had a 6 year old with us. We had to wait 2 hours or so to be moved. The room was a bit better because we could sit out the front and had our own little garden at the front by the pool area. However, our mini fridge was dirty and leaked constantly.

The restaurant had a constant queue and the food was nothing special at all. It was quite repetitive and we found that we preferred to go out to eat towards the end of our holiday.

The hotel needs SERIOUS renovation, everything is really old and dull. The lighting in the lobby is just unwelcoming, its so dark and dingy in there. Nobody in the hotel spoke English, we had a cricket stuck in our room for 2 days and it was so loud we couldnt speak. I tried to ask reception for help and it took me about 2 hours for someone to understand what I was going on about. It was just tiring. Everyone in the hotel spoke nothing but French.

I can honestly say I have never had such a bad experience in a hotel before. It was awful. Save your money and do not bother.

If you have already booked, make sure u go to the Aqua water park as its nice and pretty there, unlike this dreadful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missblackstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just come back from Marrakech staying at Pickalbatros garden. It was a great few days in the romantic city and that hotel make it a real love story with my partner.
We will come back next year.

Room Tip: i think that all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel was terrible, it is huge, and all the hallways to the bedrooms are carpetted, but I believe the carpets are probably 10 years old, and are dirty, and not just from wear and tear, there are spillages everywhere. It looks as though they did some repainting in the past too, and no-one bothered to cover the carpets. The food was ok for standard hotel food, reasonable selections to cater for any tastes. My wife's vegatarian, and there was no problem finding loads to eat. The biggest issue with the dining area is the birds, there are loads of birds inside the dining area throughout the entire day, if you leave your table unmanned for more than a minute you return to find them helping themselves. And with that comes the obvious bird[--] on chairs and on the floor, which whilst not a huge amount, should not be in any eating establishment, anywhere in the world. My last area of concern was the day trip we booked, with the hotel reception, expecting a well established hotel to arrange something more than a minibus intent on taking us to visit every one of the drivers cousins, who had a shop selling trinkets.
Overall this hotel was not up to scratch, with the only redeeming feature being the Spa, which was absolutely lovely. I will not be recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Keep haggling the prices. From the airport to the medina shouldn't cost u more than 50 dirhams but they charged us 350!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ripa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Royal Mirage Marrakech, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Firstly, thankyou for your comments. We're always striving to do a better job and give people the service and welcome they expect when they book with us.

I'm very surprised to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do charge £20 (about 250dh) each way for airport transfers as we have a driver waiting for you at the airport who takes you directly to your accommodation. This is just a little more than the taxis charge outside (generally 150-200dh) but we feel that this is a fair price for the service provided. All of our customers who book this service are advised of the cost before-hand.

I'm also very surprised to hear that you felt that any of our team were aggressive towards you in any way. We have built a reputation based on our excellent service and friendly staff and I take this sort of feedback very seriously. Looking at our other reviews, this is the first time I have seen anyone who has been unhappy with the service provided by my company so I shall certainly be looking into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#435 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#101 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 4,055 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#108 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#202 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing