We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cocktails before dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #80 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cocktails before dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited just to enjoy cocktails before dinner. The hotel was beautiful, huge and EMPTY! This was during Ramadam so perhaps this accounts for the lack of guests. Or perhaps it always feels empty. Either way we enjoyed some first class cocktails in very lovely surroundings with excellent service. A 'must-see' in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

We are thrilled to read that our cocktails are “First Class”, served in addition with an “excellent service. Your reward is an appreciation of the continuous efforts we strive in order to maintain the quality of service we are known for.

Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to come back to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    268
    124
    69
    74
See reviews for
257
742
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

if you do nothing else in Marrakesh you must go to la Mamounia , even if only for a light lunch. Coming in from 40° heat you are first hit by the welcoming concierge as he ushers you into the dark, cool interior, and then out into the famous gardens where smiling staff glide and serve. Of course, the food was ridiculously expensive, a £25 cheeseburger and a £30 Caesar salad, etc , but worth every penny for the comfort, and exoticism of the 2 hours we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on TripAdvisor that our hotel is not to be missed when being in Marrakech.

La Mamounia is indeed offering to every visitor an access to a gate separating two worlds, leaving behind you the heat of the desert to enter an oasis of peace, nature and serenity.

Your comments regarding our welcoming and smiling employees are so much appreciated, that makes our pride for the entire staff even higher when reading such compliments.

We appreciate your time in writing the review, and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Elegant, exotic, french. Amazing. While we were there so were Kate Hudson and kids, bruce willis, hugh jackman. The food was the best we had in Morocco. Expensive but worth it. I cant wait to return!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us shortly and for having shared your experience on TripAdvisor.

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on the quality of food that you classified as being number one in Morocco! Further, it is the utmost compliment that you consider our hotel “one of the best you have ever stayed at”.

We also are looking forward to seeing you very soon and thank you for your time sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had drinks last night on the patio because the Churchill Bar is closed and in walked Kate Hudson, Brian Grazer, Tom Freston and company! They're filming "Rock the Kasbah" in Marrekech so where else would Hollywood billionaires go but to the Mammonia for drinks and dinner? It's a stunning, historic hotel with gorgeous gardens and pool. However, the drinks are outrageously expensive! The cheapest cocktails were $24 and the cheapest bottle of wine was over 500 dirhams. ($70). They do offer nice nibbles of olives and nuts but you're really paying for the privilege to sit in a gorgeous setting with millionaires and jet setters. Go for the people watching and enjoy the ambiance because it's grossly overpriced but the enchanting, luxurious environment is exquisite.

Room Tip: Ask for additional nibbles because they're free. They'll even serve you bread and butter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelas02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

It is with great enthusiasm that we received your nice description of the hotel.

La Mamounia is indeed a property dating from the 18th century and is known for its history and myth, that attracted throughout decades many well know personalities. Lately, Marrakech became an attractive destination for the film industry and entertainment, and we have the chance to see more often international famous actors.

In regards with your feedback expressed on the high prices, we are aware that they may not be affordable for everyone; however they are in total keeping with our standard and level of luxurious Palace.

We appreciate your time in writing this review and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not a place to go for business or by yourself. This would be a shame.

This is as romantic as it gets.

Beautiful rooms, fountains, lush gardens, waking up with the birds chirping in the trees and absolutely fantastic service and food.

Get a suite with a garden view if you can. Wak up only when you want and get pampered.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANOldFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your impressions on Tripadvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

It is with great enthusiasm that we receive your compliments, especially your recommendation for our Palace as a romantic destination. Most of our spaces have very intimate areas, from the lobby, the rooms, the restaurants. We tried to create for our guests, in search of tranquility and intimacy, privileged spaces where they can feel being apart from the world while receiving a first class service.

We are glad your stay was in keeping with your expectations and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a too not distant future.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

La Mamounia is a beautiful hotel with fabulous service and surroundings. The pool is absolutely gorgeous and luxurious! The garden is a wonder and perfectly manicured. The food in the hotel restaurants is very good and the various bar areas are cozy and fun. The hotel has an exotic décor which is what you want in Marrakech. Especially loved the perfect balconies for morning coffee or evening drinks, however the breakfast is NOT to be missed. Fabulous.

Room Tip: I liked overlooking the garden but a pool view would be nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmoritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the hotel design, pool and gardens. Your special mention of the gardens is very much appreciated, our gardeners work actively to preserve their shape and offer a beautiful panorama to our guests. I am sure the staff will be very encouraged by your compliments.

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurants, especially your satisfactionfor breakfast and our overall service.

We noticed that you had memorable moments enjoying a drink in your balcony, overseeing the gardens. Should you ever plan to come back for your future holidays during wintertime, I am sure you will be amazed by the view of the gardens and the snow covered Atlas Mountains at the background.

We would be delighted to have you stay again at La Mamounia and look forward to it.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

which I shall do sometime in the future with my husband, this is where we will stay! It is a classy hotel, 5* service, beautiful decor and gardens ... unfortunately this time, I was staying elsewhere and my daughter and I visited for cocktails one evening. We dressed 'up' and were treated as though we were guests, even being asked if we wished to charge our drinks to our room! My daughter had a 'gin fizz', which she declared 'excellent' and I ordered a glass of white wine - Pouilly Fume as it happens, served from the bottle (presented for my approval before being opened at our booth) in a chilled glass - service and ambience easily equal to top London hotels and the setting was magical. Not cheap but worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mrs Nealrosie,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience after your recent visit to La Mamounia.

It is always a pleasure to receive such compliments about our hotel, especially when it comes to the service provided, which we strive constantly to achieve at the highest level. We are thrilled to share your comments with our Bars teams and I am sure they will be most encouraged by your praise.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you for your next vacation plans and enjoy the full experience by staying amongst us.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#35 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#50 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#33 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing