We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss a visit to this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #73 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not miss a visit to this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were somewhat confused as to whether we could go into the hotel for a look around and a drink. Our DK Top 10 things to do in Marrakech had this as a must do, but our Riad owner said we probably wouldnt get in on a weekend. We also rang to ask but were told they did not have any availability. I thought they may not have understood our question so decided to give it ago anyway and we are so pleased we did. We dressed up smartly and walked straight in. How I wish I had a better paid job, as I could have checked in there and then! We had a walk around the grounds and day dreamed of sunbathing round the amazing swimming pool before having a beer in the Italian bar (£7.00 for one bottle of beer). The waitress was extremely helpful and efficient asking whether we liked our beer poured frothy or not! We were also given pastries and a glass of cucumber water which was a very nice touch. A piano player, base player and a drummer played in the background. It was perfect. We loved it so much that we then went to the Churchill bar for a beer and wine. Definately worth a nose about and a drink if you can afford it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ES70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    305
    137
    78
    78
See reviews for
291
836
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Could not really fault the hotel and staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a fabulous spread. Will make every effort to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but visited for an afternoon to have drinks. It is a very impressive hotel with nice gardens. A good place to go to escape the hectic Medina. The bar staff were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Excellent location a a start, close to airport and 5-7 minute walk to the Medina.
Entering into the hotel is like entering a movie; goregous colours, greenery, mosaics, waterfalls....Thousand and 1 nights.
Gorgeous gardens, the Moroccan restaurant is divine and in a dream setting.
Whne you wake up in the morning and open the doors to the gardens, birds singing, total peace and quiet.
Swimming pool are has great lounge chairs where one can actually SLEEP (very comfy) and not crowded, enough space to have a secluded area.
Did not have time to try the sap unfortunately, but will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Garden view is a must, so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visited the Mamounia for a snack lunch, which we took on the terrace. Quite frankly, the meal was very poor and over-priced - around £20 for a club sandwich and some chips and £10 for a bottle of Budweiser - though we had no complaints about the service, which was good. That, however, is beside the point as our aim was to experience the ambience of the hotel and its superb garden, and in that respect it did not fail us. The kitchen garden was of particular interest to us as my wife is a keen gardener. But at those prices I am sure that the hotel can do better with its food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Wow what a beautiful hotel, bedroom and view wonderful, just a little sun top up after Barbados. Stayed 3nights a surprise visit for some dear friends staying there.
Dined in the Moroccan and French restaurants not the Italian.
Their dry martini cocktails were great, you can always judge an establishment by the martinis! And I could smoke my cigar in the bar ashtrays everywhere whoopee.
Great place will be going back.

Room Tip: They are all great , Atlas Mountains the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
252 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We didn't stay here but decided to come and have cocktails with a view to having dinner here one night as we'd always wanted to stay here and would've considered it for our next trip. It is without doubt a beautiful hotel and wonderful gardens but it all felt a bit impersonal. As others have commented the service really wasn't that good, in fact we were stunned to have a patio heater moved from near us closer to a visibly wealthier couple. The ashtray on our table was covered but had clearly been well used and stank and the service was really slow and not very attentive. We had our cocktails and left. We didn't return for dinner and my life long desire to stay here has been sated! I wouldn't have swapped our riad and the 'real' Marrakech with here for all the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing