We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel guests welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #80 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Only hotel guests welcome!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrogant at the door, unhelpful staff at the front desk and in the spa. Extremely good waiters and very attentive floor staff though, so with very little change this has the potential to be brilliant.
Excellent gardens and pool - stunning hotel.
Tourist guide promoted this as a highlight and a top spa experience but as a non hotel guest you are NOT made welcome at all, which is perfectly OK if expectation is set up front! Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Googleblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    329
    147
    87
    88
See reviews for
319
900
59
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me and my friend visited the Mamounia after reading a recommendation in a guide book, we started off with cocktails in the Winston Churchill Bar which were devine then we had a lovely dinner in the Italian Restaurant we had two courses with wine, service was fantastic
The hotel & grounds are gorgeous, not a cheap place to visit but well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited La Mamounia for the day in order to experience the pool, spa and gardens and would definitely recommend it. The setting is absolutely beautiful and very tranquil. The gardens were outstanding and were amazing to walk around. The pool area was glorious and reasonably well spaced out. We didn't spend much time in the spa so as to avoid missing the sunshine but did feel the staff to be overly-attentive which diminished the relaxing atmosphere a little. We chose to eat by the pool and it is very much an in for a penny in for a pound situation as even the water is pricey but the pool-side service was fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Smilie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We saw the Mamounia recommended in our guide book as one of the Worlds great old hotels and that non guests are welcomed. We found the hotel, on the edge of the Medina ramparts behind La Koutoubia Mosque. There are flunkeys on the door but although the guide book advised long trousers and no t shirts, there were plenty of people in shorts and t shirts who had just come to look at the gardens.
The building is impressive with a library style quietness, dimly lit corridors and fountains - very colonial.
We had mint tea, water and a beer on the rear terrace which was expensive at around £17/18 but we also had olives and lots of salted almonds and enjoyed nearly 2 hours of luxurious peace pretending that we could afford to stay there.
As an oasis of peace after the madness of the rest of Marrakech it is much recommended but please have the courtesy to buy a drink.

Room Tip: Have lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights for our wedding anniversary. I went into it with my eyes open. It was a special occaision and I knew I had to throw some cash around. Impeccable service, great breakfast by the pool, beautiful gardens, decent gym, lovely pool. Good location for exploring the city. It's a grand hotel in every sense. It just costs a fortune! As long as you accept this then you should enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBuckRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in La Mamounia two nights and La Maison Arabe two nights. La Mamounia is a stunning hotel. Huge, stylish, gorgeous gardens, the best pool area we've ever seen in the world. The best breakfast buffet in the world. Very good service. We had the deluxe room with balcony overlooking the gardens. The rooms are little fussy. Drapes over drapes over an electric blind. 8 pillows on the bed. A lot packed into a relatively small space. The lighting of the room is by a console, but we could never figure out how to use it properly. There are even more buttons on the wall. Too complicated by half. The Spa was just ok. I had an uninspiring massage although my husband liked his. La Maison Arabe spa was much better and more beautiful. La Maison Arabe is a more authentic experience, La Mamounia more grand.

Room Tip: It's worth spending the money to get a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Really beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a truly stunning hotel; the location, the ambience, service and facilities, nothing to fault. The gardens are lovely, for long walks and with numerous areas to sit, have a drink or food; and the hotel has an extensive range of bars, restaurants and activities.

The rooms are spacious, and the features are all traditional Moroccan, with a modern stylish twist. The bed in our room was large, and very comfortable, with no 'bounce'. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the gardens (this was the deluxe style room), and it seems that the higher you are the better the views from the balcony. The other front wing looks over the pool, which is fine as its not noisy. The 'odd' numbered rooms which are 'classic' style, appear to overlook the Spa area. The aircon works well, and there are shutters to keep the heat out. The rooms are serviced twice daily, with plenty of fresh towels and drinking water delivered. The only omission we found was no coffee/ tea making facility in the room, so this needs to be via room service. A Nespresso maker or the like would have been nice.

You should plan on taking a leisurely breakfast, served by the pool, as the choice is staggering. Moroccan, continental, fresh fruit, a massive range of baked products and hot food, including eggs any way you like. The waiters are also ultra-attentive, offering a full range of hot drinks - but not decaffeinated tea for some reason. We chose to eat out most of the time, however the Italian restaurant was first class, and the lounge bar and terrace was very nice for a lunch. We were also told that the French restaurant was good for a light lunch. You can also have light lunches by the pool, with BBQ food etc.

We didn't try the Spa or treatments, tennis courts, boules area, or the large gym, but it all looked excellent. There is also table tennis in the gym, and a chill out 'hamman' area. There are some shops in the hotel, with a newspaper kiosk at the entrance which also sells medications, sun lotion and giftware etc.

The gardens are large (very large) and filled with trees and flowers. The lawns are well kept, and you can have sun beds positioned on the lawns in tranquillity. A walk in the evening is very relaxing, and this is when the fragrances are at the best.

The location is convenient for the main square, mosque and souk - all 15 minutes from the hotel. Just watch out for people "just happening to be walking your way" and "hotel workers completing their shift" with both types wanting a fee as a guide to the square. The concierge will organise transport if you want to go further, or a real guide to show you to, around, and out of the souk, plus other attractions in town.

Overall, the hotel it extremely stylish, with sumptuous public areas, and very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and very numerous, and we witnessed no cases of staff being rude, as quoted in some reviews. We would have no problem returning, or even calling in for dinner or afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms offer the best view, Classic rooms may be quieter as they are not facing the local Mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawthorn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing