We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must have experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #78 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must have experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and never had a more beautiful guest room. This entire hotel is magnificent and so are the grounds. I tried all of the restaurants too and all were fantastic. This is one of the great hotel and hotel experience in the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJBNYFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    268
    124
    70
    74
See reviews for
257
744
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst staying in Marrakech, a trip to La Mamounia for cocktails is a must! The hotel is stunning, the staff are attentive and the bar's luxurious. I'd done a bit of research before the holiday and I had heard incredible things about the Winston Churchill bar. Mood lighting, leopard print and black fringing, it is reminiscent of a brooding gentlemen's club. The cocktails are expensive (4 cocktails between us & a taxi ride home was about £70) but for the experience whilst in the city, it is a must. We had a couple of amazing mojitos in the bar and wanting to explore further, we were led (by recommendation of the staff) to the Italian Bar. Vastly different from the Churchill Bar, we were transported to high ceilings, intimate lighting & cosy booths. After a perfectly made Cosmopolitan, the staff called our taxi for us & we made our way back to our riad after a glamorous Moroccan evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mamounia lives off its reputation but all is not well inside!

The Hotel is Dark, pretentious and over-priced considering the rooms are so small, dark and difficult to work the lights. We had requested adjacent rooms for our children through our travel agent. When the hotel did not provide this, they charged us 50 Euros per night for an upgrade we didn't want so we could have adjacent rooms, plus an additional 80 euros per night so our 6 year old could sleep in our room instead of next door as he wasn't well. When challenged by our travel agent, the hotel lied that we had requested this upgrade.

Very unhelpful and unaccommodating, we didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm even though we arrived at 8pm. They refused us any food unless we went to the formal restaurants, we were only allowed room service. No thought for us and our unwell 6 year old, what a terrible start to our holiday!

The food was lovely and the restaurants had great service but VERY OVERPRICED. One lunch for 4 sandwiches, a bottle of water and one ice cream was £180. That is just ridiculous for a light lunch.
The pool was nice but nothing special. We will not be returning to this hotel. Luckily we went on to stay at the Taj Palace which was magnificent. Nothing was too much for them, a wonderful place with fabulous rooms and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all, the hotel got an incomparable staff! They are always happy and ready to attend whatever you want!!! When you first arrive in the hotel, they go with you to one of the many sofas in the reception where you can do your checkin sit meanwhile you eat an Marrocos' date.
The pool, is really big, what make it looks its always empty, even if it's full. Some of the best restaurants of Marrakech are inside the hotel, and you don't have to leave unless you wanna eat some 'real Marrocos' food'. The rooms are big and comfortable, and they leaved everyday some different fruits in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcclemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with exceptional food and service. Check in could not have been smoother. It took a while to figure out the high tech switches in the room - but the finished and design could not have been better. Wonderful balcony overlooking the garden made it a true treat. Room service and food at the hotel was exceptional. Location is also wonderful and within walking distance of the market and souks.

Room Tip: Get a balcony on the central garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitingProfessor_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was told this was the only hotel to stay in when visiting Marrakech and I wasn't disappointed.Upon arrival while waiting to check in I was presented with a silver platter of dates and milk before being taken to my room (A Deluxe) which was delivered in traditional Moroccan styling with views of the park and grounds which again were fantastic.
If I was being picky I could say that the bathrooms were quite dark as the lighting was minimal but sitting on the balcony with a drink at sunset soon made me forget such a minor detail.
The hotel itself is located perfectly next to a beautiful park and only a 10 minute walk to the huge bustling markets however English speaking drivers are available at all hours of the day to take you wherever you need to go should it be further afield.
Good sized indoor and outdoor pool and the spa had a nice selection of treatments too.
Visited the Churchill bar one evening where they had a jazz singer who was excellent and even when I got too drunk and ended up naked in the hotel pool the staff were still friendly and polite to me even though clearly it wasn't the kind of place for that behaviour!
All things considered I would definitely recommend this hotel however it is on the upper end of the price scale but for me delivered well and for a few days a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcopolosbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When arriving at the imposing gates to the hotel, you know you are somewhere special. No waiting at check-in, we were taken to the lounge and provided with dates and almond milk, while completing the check-in process. Our suite was stunning, with views across the immaculate gardens. We ate at three of the hotel's restaurants. On the first night we enjoyed a relaxed and delicious meal at Le Marocain, complete with wandering musicians. On the second night we tried the French restaurant, which was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The meal was reasonable, but not outstanding, the exception being the calorific and magnificent chocolate soufflé. On our last night we had a memorable evening in the Italian restaurant, simply perfect. The gym was perfectly situated in the centre of the gardens and made working out a visual treat. The staff in the hotel are charming, helpful but not at all overbearing, from the waiters to the pool staff and the housekeepers. We loved the hotel's cachet, its location and will definitely return as soon as my wallet has recovered. Unforgettable

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#34 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#33 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing