We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reassuringly Luxurious and Expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #72 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Reassuringly Luxurious and Expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

When arriving at the imposing gates to the hotel, you know you are somewhere special. No waiting at check-in, we were taken to the lounge and provided with dates and almond milk, while completing the check-in process. Our suite was stunning, with views across the immaculate gardens. We ate at three of the hotel's restaurants. On the first night we enjoyed a relaxed and delicious meal at Le Marocain, complete with wandering musicians. On the second night we tried the French restaurant, which was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The meal was reasonable, but not outstanding, the exception being the calorific and magnificent chocolate soufflé. On our last night we had a memorable evening in the Italian restaurant, simply perfect. The gym was perfectly situated in the centre of the gardens and made working out a visual treat. The staff in the hotel are charming, helpful but not at all overbearing, from the waiters to the pool staff and the housekeepers. We loved the hotel's cachet, its location and will definitely return as soon as my wallet has recovered. Unforgettable

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    303
    134
    77
    77
See reviews for
286
824
50
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Mamounia is excellent - as everyone will tell you. It is a stunning property close to the main square giving it the best location. It has beautiful gardens, huge swimming pool and a comfortable heated swimming pool too. When you enter the Mamounia you feel the grandeur and pomp immediately. The staff and the guests - all walk around in style. The experience is unique and special and makes you feel very grand. The reason why I have stated it as average is given below.

For one, the price they charge is too much for what they offer. Even though we wrote to them months in advance and stated that we were a honeymoon couple, they made no concessions and offered us no incentives or anything special for the honeymoon couple. Further, their very high price did not even include breakfast. Breakfast came at a very high additional price of 350 MAD - though the food was good it was not worth the price. At the price they charge, breakfast should have been included - it is a mere basic. Of all the hotels we stayed at during our Honeymoon, the Mamounia was the only one that offered us nothing additional for being a honeymoon couple which was very disappointing for us.

Another small problem we faced was that the person who came to clean our room, he would throw away things that belonged to us. For example, my almost over face cream packet and nutella jar. Both had a little left at the bottom - however, the staff self-decided that he should discard this and he did! It was very annoying and nothing was done about it when we complained.

Food in the restaurants and the room service was excellent. The tagines we had at the Mamounia were by far the best. Their spa was simply fantastic and we went there twice during the 4 days we stayed there. The spa staff was super nice and friendly and the spa treatments were fantastic.

We only wish the Mamounia had surprised us with better deals for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors, facing the garden/swimming pool or a room facing the Hassan Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The most amazing and relaxing and beautiful hotel ever!!! The gardens are just magnificent and service is superb, really 5 star!! Bedrooms are incredible and the whole ambience just calm and serene! We were on a business trip so didnt pay for extras but I know how expensive it is! Sitting by the pool in the sunshine was heavenly. Great location!

Room Tip: Get a room high up in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good on the eye but price wise is too expensive. Beautiful rooms, amazing pool, beautiful gardens, average restaurant, very poor food and ridiculously overpriced at the bars. Staff nice but not 5 stars efficient: overall very prices price not justified.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CdeSanctis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can not wait to be back to Marrakech so I can experience the most amazing stay of our travels.
We have not travel the whole world yet, however I am certain that La Mamounia is the one of the best hotel ever. We have booked suit because our daughter was with us as well , it was stunningly done , decorated huge apartment. From the gardens to the swimming pool, spa to the shops everything is extra ordinary quality. Not one but two Michelin starred restaurants french and Italian. Our favored was the Italian one " Don Alfonso". Live Jazz at the bar also at highest quality, in fact the piano player was one of the best I have ever heard. The traditional Moroccan musicians around the various places of the hotel followed the same quality. The gym at the heart of the gardens is world class. And the pastry shop is a must to drop in at least to see!!
Yes it is pricy but all worth it. If you can effort it do not hesitate.

My only disappointment is that the hotel has a literature festival they sponsor and organize and I had requested details for next one but never received it.!! ??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited the hotel with a view to staying. We had a look about. One can see it is a plush hotel, in a slightly dated way but it was very dark in all the lounges and restaurants. We had a light lunch outside on the terrace, 2 small bottles of water and one mozzarella panini, total 430dhs (£35) which we thought was a lot. It was nice, but I think you are being charged for where you are. Compared to The Four Seasons , Marrakech which is the same level of 5 star hotel, I would rather stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed just one night at La Mamounia, and had a wonderful experience. We were in room 344, which was lovely, views out over the garden and to the Atlas Mountains in the distance. We are LHW members, and were upgraded to this room when we arrived, and we were delighted to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room when we were taken in. The room was very comfortable, more or less an L shape with the long part being a lounge and the short bit the bedroom, opening into an opulent (and huge) bathroom wall to wall marble, deep clawfoot tub, huge walk in shower and separate toilet and bidet. The room was opulent, the service attentive and the attention to detail ensured we had a great experience. We had a room service dinner, which was very good, and enjoyed a drink at the Italian Bar. The only glitch was that the internet service was very poor, and attention to addressing the problem was not great, as I had to report the problem a second time before anyone came to have a look. Eventually the problem was blamed on Maroc Telecom, which for all I know may have been true. All in all, La Mamounia was a nice treat after a week in a rather more rustic setting.

Room Tip: Aim for a view to the Atlas Mountains, it's a wonderful vista to look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing