We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mamounia is NOT client oriented any longer What a disgrace!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #78 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chateau-d'Oex, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mamounia is NOT client oriented any longer What a disgrace!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

« I have been a regular & faithful client of the Mamounia Palace***** in Marrakech for over 60 years.
Minimum stay pro year is at least 3 weeks/year in a room or suite.
I have recently been extremely shocked and angered regarding an unfortunate incident: a few drops of wine were accidentally spilt on the carpet of my Suite (= 8600 Dirhams per night), resulting in a couple of small stains.
The hotel compelled me to buy off the whole carpet (10’800 Dirhams!) at its current value stating “boutique purchase” on my final invoice, but additionally to pay for extra night charges claiming that the room could not be rented until the carpet had been replaced thus, was un-saleable ! I have given the carpet to a local charity and paid off all the charges that were claimed by the hotel.
Never in my experience of travelling the world (which I have been doing for over 50 years) have I come across such an appalling attitude, and from such a ‘reputable’ hotel especially since the damage was caused unintentionally and it was the first time I ever caused any damage at this place in 60 years.
This type of ‘damage’ should be covered by the Hotel’s Insurance policy and not born by the client ! I will not be returning to the Mamounia again. »
D. Frachon

Room Tip: Don't ever spill anything on the carpet by accident!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
44 Thank dfrachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    258
    120
    63
    69
See reviews for
240
714
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We regularly stay at five star hotels and have just returned from a week in La Mamounia, Marrakech. It is one of the best we have stayed in. The service was excellent, although it was quiet as we were there late January/ early February. The room was excellent with views across the large gardens. The food and wine was first class, as you would expect from French and Italian restaurants each holding two Michelin stars. The Moroccan restaurant was also very good. If you want a luxury break in Marrakech within a gentle ten minute walk of the Medina, this is the one. The prices are not, however, for the faint hearted with food and wine comparable with the most expensive UK restaurants and hotels.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden gives you a lovely view and great birdsong, the dawn chorus is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just returned from La Mamounia I feel compelled to write this review. This was my first trip to the hotel and sadly my last. The standard of food and service are not that of a five star hotel. Our room (Aqbal Delux) was pleasant, however we were unable to open our terrace doors as the carpet was in the way and the lighting was poor. Considering the hotel has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment, I was rather surprised. Our dinner in Le Morrocan restaurant was very disappointing. We were sat opposite a serving station, food very average and ridiculously expensive. One glass of Champagne £30.00. Snacks by the pool were a disgrace, a sandwich served on burn't toast with one key ingrediant missing. It was sent back twice, cost £23.00 (approx) and no apology given. The Spa was average and the staff offhand.
Having said all this, the hotel is well located, breakfast was good and the gardens are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool are quiet and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed elsewhere.....but walked in for afternoon tea one day when we were walking from the new city to the old city. It is a grand hotel - not really my style - a bit stuffy - but it's a must see. We walked to the outdoor area in the gardens to have a snack and drink and it was truly beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very Expensive but a real 5***** Deluxe according to Int'l norms, with real value, excellent service with entertainment, excellent quality of food, rooms, location, view. For Travelers seeking the taste of excellence, i have been to this hotel several times, my friends just came back from their trip. Recommended

Room Tip: Expensive but 5***** Deluxe according to Int'l norms, all rooms are high quality , location, vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel was beyond my pocket to stay, but still well worth visiting just for afternoon tea or drinks on the garden terrace. Unsurpassed luxury. Beautiful large lush walled gardens, so peaceful, Go reasonably dressed and you will be welcomed, The hotel has standards (no need for a tie, but no scruffs in jeans and tea shirts!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a couple of nights and loved it. Set in the lushest green garden the hotel is a cool mix of old-fashioned splendour and luxury. I was in love with our room, which had the most divine view of the palmeraie. Service matched the prices and was superiour. We only ate at the hotel one evening and had a delicious meal and wine at Le Italien - what a treat. But having stayed here years ago I must agree with others that it's lost some of it's draw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomillyRoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#35 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
8.0 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing