We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shock!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #81 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a shock!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Someone needs to seriously address the situation with the staff on the gate! I have never been refused entry anywhere! EVER! Today my partner and I were refused entry for wearing sports shoes and carrying a back pack! I had a £180 shoes - NOT trainers or sports shoes. I was wearing Ralph Lauren trousers and carrying a laptop over the shoulder bag. And had a tailored shirt on. My partner was kitted out in a Marni outfit. I am stunned by the rudeness and plain stupidity of the staff on the gate. To be honest - if this is the way that staff are trained I really do not want to be any part of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank twoleftpheeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    332
    147
    88
    90
See reviews for
322
906
60
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed lunch by the pool whilst visiting this outstanding hotel. First class service, incredible surroundings and food that really was divine. Worth far more than five star rating this surely has to be one of the best world hotels,luxurious and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

There no doubt that this property is MAGNIFICENT. Historic hotel, well cared for, but as with many historic property, there's a little "resting on their laurels" aspect going on here. Basic rooms are quite basic, but if you can splurge a bit, the suites are wonderful. Grounds are TO DIE FOR, and a DEEP, old school, pool is cool, refreshing, and luxurious. The PROPERTY will not disappoint.

I would NOT recommend this hotel for first timers though. It is a long taxi ride to the medina and Jemaa el Fna. Also, the Arabic service habits are over the top here. With this I mean, the HAND OUT for a tip at EVERY TURN can be overwhelming here. When u arrive, the deliver a basket of fruit, and they wait around for a tip. 2 minutes later, a knock on the door with fresh towels, with a hand out, a few minutes more, someone comes by with some water, again waits for a tip. This normal in this culture, they'll keep coming until you stop tipping, but at La Manmounia, its too much.

If you desire a glimpse at one of the worlds finest, and historic places, you'll need to stay a night here. For the action, however, I'd spend my money at a beautiful riad near old town.

Room Tip: Splurge a it here. Standard rooms are less than desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a spa day pass. We were alone! The service was not great, there was a lack of enthusiasm from the staff. My husband left his trousers on the bench in the gentlemen's changing room.
Upon his return, they were gone and when he asked for them they were in a plastic bag not on an hanger, not even folded....all wrinkled!... Spa No1?...no, no. And it is so dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This truly is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location in Marrakech. From the moment you arrive you know this property has class and distinction above others. It's relaxed and quiet atmosphere is a world away from the bustling Marrakech, it's almost as if you are somewhere completely different! The rooms are beautiful. bright and airy with various different views. Mine was a pool view. Try out 'The Churchill Bar' whilst you there, despite the renovations they left this bar in it'sd original form along with the Churchill Suite.
This property has alot of character and charm, various activities to all keep all occupied including the spa, and just a stones throw from the souk.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanieBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I could write anything it could never describe well enough the beauty of this hotel.... It is just beyond good...
We booked a transfer from the airport and we were escorted from the security to the Jaguar of the Hotel - AMAZING
We arrived at the hotel that from outside looked AMAZING
We were welcomed with dates and milk to do the checking AMAZING
We arrived in our room with the view on the pool and the Atlas AMAZING
The whole room was AMAZING
Next day breakfast was AMAZING (the best breakfast I had so far in my life ever: huge choice you could eat for 3 hours and you would still not taste everything)
Location: AMAZING
We had dinner at the Moroccan restaurant: AMAZING

I am sorry to put so many "amazing" in my review but I cannot find any other terms to describe it...it's a legend, it's a dream coming true

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malvina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a goergous place!!!! We stayed for a night, had a normal size room.. it was small but really pretty, super clean and the bed was soo comfortable!
Service was really good, location as well.. You can walk to go to the souks, and other popular places around.
Breakfast was SO good!!! Its pricy but its reallllly good! Big selection of fresh fruits, breads, pastry, cereals, nuts and seeds, fresh juices, etc.

They have 3 restaurants in the hotel. One french, one italien and one morrocan. We tried the Morrocan one and WOW, the best dinner of the week! It was really tasty and the food and ambiance was just perfect. The restaurant has a real morrocan style, its really nice.
They also have a nice lobby and bar, a BEAUTIFUL garden! Wow, I was really impress! Orange trees, beautiful flowers, a real garden where they grow their own salads, herbs and vegetables..

Their spa is really nice.. We had a hammam and a massage and it was really luxury and nice. Very clean as well..
They also have a nice interior gym, in the garden, and another one in the spa, where you also have an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Its pricy yes, but it was such a beautiful and memorable experience. We will always remember. We stayed one night and it was just enough to experiment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing