We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mamounia Marrakech
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$345
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$257
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$180
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,349)
Filter reviews
2,349 results
Traveler rating
1,558
393
177
107
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,558
393
177
107
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchill barwinston churchillbeautiful hotelitalian barbest hotels in the worldmoroccan restaurantluxury hoteltennis courtsgardens are beautifulfour seasonsindoor poolan oasisatlas mountainsthe hustle and bustlemint teasparenovation
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 2,349 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Marrakech in early October, and having read all about La Mamounia felt we had to go and just have a drink there, that being all we could afford!We were not disappointed - it is absolutely a magical place, stunning in every way, the staff were tip top, and following our couple of drinks in the Churchill Bar where we enjoyed our drinks accompanied by music on the piano and accompaning jazz singer, we were encouraged to walk around the beautiful garden ! Do go-its Marrakech at its finest!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

La Mamounia is, without a doubt, a supremely magical place. It is certainly worth a visit if you happen to be in Marrakech. Stop in a get a drink at the bar or walk the gardens, which are beautiful. Staying there, however, is absolutely not worth the price!

I just finished a 4-night stay at the hotel. The rooms, while very unusual and certainly Moroccan in design, are cold, dark and uncomfortable. It takes at least a Master's degree to figure out the 1980-aged panel of buttons which control the television sound and lights (PhD preferred!). Even after four nights, I was trying multiple combinations and just hoping that at some point I would get the correct combination to dim, brighten, or turn on or off the lamps.
What makes this place get a "poor" rating, however, isn't the labrynth-like dark hallways or the perfect IQ required to manage the lighting: It is the completely un-thinking staff that works there. These people are simply over-trained to the point that they are robotic and irritating!

Examples: Exiting the hotel, I accidentally walked to a gate that must be reserved for employees or something. The guard there made me walk 15 minutes back to a "proper exit" even though his gate was wide open. A few minutes later I walked past him on the outside of the building and he smiled at me. (Note to the guard: Guests that pay more than $400 a night should be allowed to exit wherever they please!) At breakfast one morning, the waiters insisted that we were not allowed to have an extra person join our table by pulling up an extra chair. (Note to the waiters: Guests that pay more than $400 a night should be allowed to eat with whomever they please, even if it means moving your chairs around the pool deck!) I had an employee snatch a plate from me at the buffet and replace it with a bowl, with the instruction "Guests must eat fruit from a bowl". (Note to man at Breakfast Buffet: Well, you all get the picture....) It's like having your obsessive kindergarten teacher there with you on an ultra-expensive, adult vacation.

I would not stay at La Mamounia again, because of the way that the staff does not even think about what makes sense, and simply acts upon what has been engrained in their training. (I wonder if they use electric-shock therapy to "improve" performance??) There are simply too many other wonderful choices in Marrakech to spend that kind of money and be treated that way! Oh - and if you do stop in for a drink, just be prepared for the bill! A drink can easily be $30 USD, and don't do anything to stretch the staff into thinking about what might actually make sense! "An extra cube of ice or a tall glass for a short drink is NOT ALLOWED, sir"!

Room Tip: Call the Front Desk if you need help with your lighting.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MtnWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Tried to go here for a drink one night. I was wearing a pair of tailored white shorts with a polo shirt and shoes. They turned me away for not wearing long trousers. At the same time they let someone walk in wearing tracksuit bottoms and a tshirt! If you have a dress code at least employee people smart enough to enforce it properly. Seems like they havent really moved on since Mr C stayed there.

Stayed: October 2012
9  Thank sjhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fresh from a multi million pound restoration the Hotel and gardens are delightful.
The welcome is just what you'd expect from a classic five star hotel.
We opted for cocktails in the outside gardens on a lovely warm Marrakech evening.
The lavish and vast gardens are worth exploring by day and by night.
The Martini was perfect but for the second round of drinks we opted to go inside and
listen to the piano trio playing light jazz music. The trio played well and at a volume that did not intrude on atmosphere or concentration. The hotel was not busy at all so there was an air of exclusivity and privacy. More than highly recommended for a five star stay, eating, drinking and experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Only go to La Mamounia if you are prepared for the best hotel experience of your life. It is expensive but with every penny. The rooms are beautiful, the three restaurants are all delicious food and the service is the best . The hotel was voted best hotel in The World by Conde Nast in 2011.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool it is quieter than the road
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews