We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in not so quite fantastic city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #121 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
BRATISLAVA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in not so quite fantastic city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The hotel is amazing, which you can see before you even enter. There is a doorman outside, and ocasionaly you may have to walk trough the security area and have your bag checked. I didn't mind, but I didn't expect it since Marocco is not really considered to be under terrorist threats. But there is nothing wrong with an extra security meassure. The check-in went smoothly, the entire staff is very well dressed and everything looks very posh. Most of them speak french and understand english. The room was very specious and had a balcony. My room faced a backyard, however, The rooms on the other side would have a much better view. There is a garden and a swimming pool. One evening I ordered a room service which was brought in prompty and tasted excellent. The surrounding area and the city itself is quite boring, but the hotel made it worth for me to visit. If it wasn't for the great hotel I would have been pretty disappointed. I also wrote to the hotel after my stay regarding the frequent flyer points which I didn't receive and I soon received a phone call from the manager apologizing. He said he would forward my claim to their head office in Paris...but oh well, the french weren't bothered to look into the matter so I never got it. But I appreciated the effort on the Manager's part. All in all, the hotel is a fantastic choice for people who like to relax and a get the same or even better treatment than in any other country in the same climatic area, and of course pay a lot less. Everything, including the room rates, restaurants meals, room service is VERY cheap. I would give the hotel 6 stars.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukino6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    706
    246
    124
    104
See reviews for
462
1,020
89
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the Mdina but it's not a pleasant walk. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. If you want to lounge around a pool, this is the place. It has two large pools with sun beds and loungers better than anywhere else I've stayed. The room (we had a superior room on the ground floor) was rather small but fine. The public bar area is lovely - candlelit at night and very relaxing.

And there's the rub. You need to relax here because the service is not fast. We found the staff generally very friendly and helpful taking your order, but everything took about 30 minutes to arrive. This included tea for breakfast, lunch by the pool, the restaurant, and the bar area. It became very frustrating.

The other problem is the ridiculously high prices at the hotel. Small beer £6. Water by the pool £4. Chicken sandwich £18.00. Oh and don't eat in the restaurant - it looks and is very nice but the food is average and vastly overpriced. We paid £100 for over-cooked duck with sodden vegetables, and about £30 for vin ordinaire.

It's a pity that Sofitel don't bring their prices down to a reasonable (albeit) 5 star level, and teach their staff about good and fast customer service. They'd make a much larger profit if they did. It's a shame - because the hotel situation, building and grounds are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

The pool area, with a variety of luxurious sun beds/mattresses, with space, seclusion and privacy is a delight. The public areas are splendid and all the staff are friendly and efficient throughout...apart from the hotel bar, where service is very hit and miss. The superior room in which we stayed was good, with only the tiniest balcony, which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnylad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Ideal for a longer stay in town owing to the varied and extensive facilities. Extreemly friendly staff throughout the hotel. We only took breakfast which was varied and extreemly well presented. Room though standard was large and comfortable. The hotel is around 15 minutes walk to the medina. All in all a good ambassador for Sofitel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Everything about the hotel is luxury. On arrival we got an upgrade from a Junior suite to a Presidential suite for free; might be worth asking if you visit!

The room was the best we have ever stayed in, with a seperate hall/living area and large bedroom. The bathroom is extremely clean and there was a double balcony overlooking the pool. I imagine all rooms are of an excellent standard. If you are on the 4th floor it is a bit of a walk to the pool.

The pool area is lovely with lots of choices of places to relax, beds, sun loungers, hammocks. Th 2 pools are very clean and lovely to refresh yourself in the hot sun.

We had breakfast included in our package, but would not have paid every day as it was only average.

The main thing which is really disappointing about this hotel is the ridiculous prices of everything.
- pringles from the mini bar £4
- local beer bottle at the pool (£6) -our advice ask a taxi driver to take you to the supermarket and by the same beer for less than £1 a bottle and just 'store them' away.
- Club sandwich -£15
-Hamman for 2 people (£100)-get a taxi driver to Hilton Hamman 5mins away and pay £40 for a hamman and massage.

It is really frustrating as you like to have 'pool 'days, but are really reluctant to buy any food or drink. We had to buy stuff locally and snack in the room.

If you want luxury quite close to the medina (10-15minute walk) it is great. However, either be prepared to spend ALOT of money at the hotel, or not be able to enjoy any drinks/snacks by the pool or in the evening- rip off really sums it up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyrack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Excellent hotel and facilities with luxurios pool area. The service is exellent and the staff very friendly. It should be noted that only use of the gym is included in the price of the room and use of any other facilities (in-door pool, steam room, sauna) comes at an additional cost. Though the brochure says it is paces from the main square it is in fact about 15 minutes walk. Food and drinks are quite expensive but there are good eating places within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Even after taking these factors in to account we would still reccomend this hotel as it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthandKesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wow. Where do I begin? Oh right, let's start with our arrival. I am not exactly a world traveler, but my wife and I leave the US at least once a year for vacation. We had never been to Morocco, and I had never been to North Africa. i don't speak Arabic or French, so we were counting on some help in the form of a pick-up upon our arrival. The Sofitel assured us multiple times that a driver would be waiting when we disembarked in Marrakech. Well, there was no one waiting. That forced me to try and find a phone to call the hotel. Not an easy task. finally, the Budget rent-a-car guy took pity on me and called them for me. after getting transferred twice and hung-up on once, i was told to "stay right there." Btw - every other arriving passenger seemed to get picked up, including La Mamounia ( the nice hotel where we should have stayed ) who's drivers were waiting at the gate in uniform. finally, our guy arrives sweating profusely. his fez was askew. he apologizes. keep in mind, as we later learned, the hotel is literally ten minutes from the hotel. it's not like he had to cross the desert. anyway, we get to the hotel and sat for an hour during the check-in process. finally we are sent to a room with a stained carpet and chair, a broken toilet paper dispenser and no working a-c. this will not do. so, we complained. they moved us to another room on the fourth floor which was apparently being renovated. so, we walked through the hall to find all other rooms on the floor with their doors wide open, carpets ripped up and mattresses lining the halls. it looked like the overlook hotel from that movie "the shining" on the last day of the season. it took us threatening to leave to finally be assigned to a decent room. just an awful experience. the Sofitel really has to get it's act together. the Marrakech experience permanently soured me on the brand. not to mention how much money they charged for breakfast. for those prices, these guys need to step it up. I don't mean to be nasty. I tried to focus my ire at them on an internal company survey, but predictably it didn't work properly. Sigh.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z-mantrvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
4.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing