We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.... better than the service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #110 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in in Sofitel lounge SPA for four days in April 2014. I really appreciate the quality of the hotel, in a great location, just outside the wall of the historical centre of Marrakech (15 minutes walking from Jemaa El Fna square).
A marvellous pool area, one heated pool and one not.
Fantastic breakfast.
Good gym, I didn't tested the SPA.
Special mention for the Concierge: he suggested us always the best possible in relation with our requests. Thanks!!
Said that, I have to underline the absolute inadequacy of all the restoration services: the delay in receiving the food ordered has been incredible, both for dinner at the restaurant and for the light lunch at the pool. Many other customers were unsatisfied....I really don't understand why...apparently there was plenty of workers for every needs of the customers.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear M. Florence,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

However, I am sorry that such services did not meet your expectations especially in term of the pool lounge services ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,844)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 2,844 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

First stay at Sofitel and first time in Marrakesh we spent 10 days here. The hotel was of a very high standard the food was excellent and the staff were too. Only problem we had was the air conditioning in the room which took some addressing, we eventually were offered another room which was better than the original one. The manager and customer service representative were extremely helpfull.All in all a very enjoyable holiday would definetley recomend it.

Room Tip: go for the luxury not the superior room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear M. Anderson;

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Have stayed here more than 10 times and still here when writing this review. This hotel is a joy to stay in. The building is lovely, there are two huge pools, one heated. There is work going on to to build a pool but at this time there is no real disruption, the noisy stuff is finished.the excellent staff really make this hotel stand out, they are all delightfully and seem pleased to give great service. There are neat touches around the pools when staff bring round free plates of chilled fruit and even a man who cleans sun or reading glasses beautifully. There are several restaurants with good mixed menus on offer. The full breakfast is fabulous, if a little expensive. The medina and souk is a five minute walk away , or a £3 cab ride. The hotel is frequently used by film companies whilst in Morocco to house the stars and the cocktail bar is full of their portraits. We have stayed in Riads in the centre but whilst understanding their appeal love the pool options and the tranquility. We love the rush of the souk be really enjoy the pampering and tranquility of the Sofitel, especially the wonderful Spa

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Mr

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Continue to follow all news of Sofitel Marrakech by clicking "Like" our Facebook pages :

Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed a week in the Sofitel we were told by Thomsons a week before we were due to fly out that there was work going on and we tried to find somewhere else with no luck.
The hotel is in a good position as you can walk to the medina & souks. We had a great week with a couple of good trips. The hotel was busy and very french, bonjour, The first room we were in was on the ground floor dark and directly in front of scaffold poles etc they started banging etc early till late. We complained to our rep and got moved which was better but still the noise especially around the pool got really annoying. Downstairs by our first room there was always a conference going on.
Around the pool was cool as they have these big loungers and hammocks with waiter service. The drinks are not cheap, lots of smoking, staff nice most spoke english, the food was very good really enjoyed the food I would say its better to book half board as the prices looked expensive, I didn't manage to get an English paper while I was there which was ok they have the New York times, not much english TV, the club (sol lounge) which you can go in as a guest had a great house band and good entertainment. The rooms weren't bad I dont think they vacuumed very often. the room shelf with the safe on collapsed i just bruised my hand, could have been worse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andythetillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The best hotel you can get in Marrakech, friendly staff and nice resturants full of koskos & Tajeen.
The pool area and garden is very nice & relaxing.
Central position to every place in the city.
Nice spaceous rooms.
Recommended for any one going to Marrakech

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank AhmedBlasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Except for two things, this is a very nice hotel, which enjoys a truly ideal location near the center of Marrakech. I have stayed there at least 3-4 times in the past, but will not return because of the two things mentioned in the title of this review...

First, the corridors and bedrooms almost always smell like open sewers, and the hotel seems unable to remedy this problem. Second, there is a trick they pull when they run an American credit card, pretending to give guests the option to pay in US dollars or in Moroccan dirhams, but actually obliging guests to pay in dollars at a bad exchange rate and a commission of 3%. Although the staff swore to me on check-out that I would be charged in dirhams, this once again proved to be a lie (or perhaps they are just mis-informed) and my credit card company (kudos to Chase Sapphire Preferred) gave me a credit for the 11-dollar difference.

This may seem like a small amount, and it is certainly not worth losing a customer's goodwill over, but this customer does not like being lied to by hotel personnel. And Sofitel does not have a Customer Relations phone number -- only a clumsy e-mail procedure -- so there is no way to give them feedback directly.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 563Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Despite being slightly apprehensive about staying in such a modern hotel in marrakech I was pleasantly surprised by the Sofitel. The staff were all very helpful and were on hand to offer advice about finding our way around the city, this was a nice addition to our stay as we didn't spend our limited time getting hopelessly lost. The Medina and Souks are within walking distance and the hotel are happy to arrange any form of transport you want (Petit/Grand taxi, horse and carriage etc even a limo if you have the funds!) The hotel can also arrange a guide for most trips if you want local information and to be taken to where you actually want to go! Other trips that can be arranged include those outside the city into the desert. The pool area provides a great opportunity to relax from a days sightseeing/Moroccan heat. All in all a beautiful hotel (albeit a modern one) in a city known for its character. The hotel does have some traditional Moroccan touches and when you walk into the Sofitel for the first time you are instantly provided with a lovely scent of (what I think) was orange flower and jasmine. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting Marrakech for the first time who wants a slightly more luxurious stay and is happy to sacrifice staying in the old town for something more modern.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $177 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing