We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star? I don't think so!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #114 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I had read mixed reviews on this hotel and decided to book a week, I think I was blinded by the brand!
It is a lovely hotel on first impression, but is let down on many levels.
We were transferred from the airport and the representative organised the check in which went smoothly as we drank the customary Moroccan tea.
Disappointed in the room, expected more. The beds were so comfortable, that was the best bit.
Seperate toilet was so small, shower average. Carpet was rather grubby.
The service was mixed, concierge was poor, lots of staff but they didn't seem to be doing very much. Breakfast was nice enough, a bit chaotic, the staff are very quick to clear tables but not so hot on customer service. Water for tea is lukewarm and the coffee was average.
The restaurant was extortionate,Dinner for two, two courses, a half bottle of wine and a bottle of water £100!!!
During our stay there was building works going on which was noisy most of the day. No explanation or apology for the inconvenience.
I did not use the spa, charge for the pool and steam room was 2500 dirhams, ridiculous considering this is almost always complimentary in any other hotel I have stayed.
If you are visiting the Sofitel, brush up on your French and prepare to spend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marthaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

we arrived at 2:30pm and were asked to wait until 3pm. Fair enough, we went to the pool side restaurant, service was horribly slow. We got our room at 3:30, it was not worth the wait, small and overlooking the highway. Lots of cars buzzing by late or rather early into the morning.
The complimentary internet was bad, breaking up and loosing connection all the time. I could only get wifi connection in the toilet!
We ordered room service for 6:30am, it came close to 7am.
Guess what, I am definitely not going to stay there again!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirawit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great restaurant. Salah and Abdessadeq where are waiters and they are some of the nicest staff that you could ask for. Very good as we didn't have a booking and they helped us straight away and they attended to everything that we asked for. Great food, had starters, mains, and a bottle of wine for around £80. will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarterInOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic, it is our first night tonight and everyone is so friendly, really helpful and kind. The hotel is gorgeous with well maintained grounds and two pools, rooms are spacious and stunning!! We are staying in a ground floor room with access to our own terrace and the gardens including ponds- great location, so happy we picked this hotel. The only downside I could say would be the prices by the pool for food and drink - 150 dirum for a mojito which is around £13 and it's only a small glass, starters begin at this price too for a selection of small Moroccan salads. Overall we are so happy with the hotel location and overall but are unlikely to eat/drink by the pool again due to the high prices (but I guess it should be expected at a Sofitel/similar hotel) apart from that I could not recommend this hotel enough it is absolutely stunning and the staff are brilliant

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pembroke_lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed for four nights at the Sofitel Marrakech, we pre-booked the chaffer driver from the airport who takes you to the hotel which is 10 minute drive from the airport.

At the hotel you are greeted by friendly staff and the hotels grand reception area.
The rooms are spacious and modern (Brits as this is a French hotel do not expect tea making facilities in the room). Rooms are checked and cleaned atleast twice daily.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic with great choice of foods, the hotel is located close to the clubs and bars for night life and a 10 minute walk from the market and old Marrakech making in an ideal location.

The hotel has a heated pool which is handy as the weather in feb is around 20 degrees and the heated pool is still warm.

Would definatley stay again and all the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble for the concierge.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the atlas mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We resided in this specific hotel towards the latter end of February . façade, very imposing. Arrival, overall conducted in a rather hurried fashion. The front reception staff were not exactly the epitome of embracement .Even although there appeared to be no other guests checking in at that particular time . .We were allocated a room in the lounge and spa area of the establishment .Although the room was rather exhausted in appearance .They were well appointed with the latest mod cons and the usual extravagance of toiletries

Breakfast was a sheer delight .With an array of fresh produce of the highest standard and quality. Staff in the dining area were generally all very helpful and friendly .


Recreational area ; Gardens nice with a multitude of sun bathing option. Staff were always on hand if you required towels , drinks etc .

Generically this is a lovely hotel .Situated in the affluent Hivernage area of Marrakech. Classified as a 5 star establishment coupled with excruciatingly high food and beverage prices . We took the liberty of not dining in the hotel as we calculated that a meal for 2 and a few drinks in one of the Sofitel restaurant's would set you back at least £100.00 . The dining experience outside the hotel was phenomenal . A few minutes walk to the right of the hotel sees a number of top class eateries ( The Pearl hotel and Table De Marche ) which were at least half the price .

Marrakech is an overwhelming experience not to be missed .A bustling, vibrant city that offers an assemblage of accommodation and dining options .Would we return to the Sofitel Marrakech . . Yes , but certainly not in a hurry . We have travelled extensively and stayed in some of the leading hotels of the world which in hindsight were less expensive compared to the Sofitel. Sadly its soaring prices may have a somewhat tarnishing effect on the individual .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This was a well earned 2 night whistle stop tour to Marrakech with my husband. We are both SO glad we chose this hotel. ( with British Airways Holidays ) From the moment we arrived, we were treated incredibly. I had previously read every review, and was prepared for the long check in etc, but we were in our sumptious room within 10 minutes of arrival. We were also given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite, which was immaculate.
We booked the half board plan and every meal was delicious and very generous.
We were particularly looked after by Amine on our first night and Salah on our second night. That said, EVERY member of staff were exemplary and wonderful.
( A wonderful woman checked us in, and I am ashamed I lost the card with her name on). ( I was also made pancakes by the now infamous Fatima, who truly lived up to all her reviews!!!)
Also the house band Seven Senses were brilliant. Both my husband and I are professional musicians and we really appteciated their amazing talent.
We spent a very relaxed afternoon on the terrace drinking Mint tea and drinking in the heady romantic atmosphere.

Thank you Sofitel lounge and spa for an unforgettable stay.
We have discussed it and would find it very hard indeed to find a single fault.
Here's to the next visit. I cannot wait.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lianecarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#192 of 500 in Marrakech
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $170 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing