We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“fantastics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #116 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fantastics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Excellent service by staff especially fatim zohra rachida abderahim hicham abdelilah and querfi redouan nezha all wonderful staff who made our holiday special we are celebratingour 50th wedding anniversary and having a wonderful time pam and bill hancock

Room Tip: 371 lovely view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamh376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    661
    226
    115
    89
See reviews for
427
941
77
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Superb breakfast buffet! Eggs to order, crepes, fresh fruit Hams cheeses pastries and much much more! Excellent staff, Rachida and Fatima especially attentive, indeed all personnel ensured one had a wonderful and stress free start to the day. We will be returning to this hotel without question

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SiBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was the best hotel experience we had so if you are visiting Marrakech this is the hotel you should choose! Thank you for the great service and unforgettable memories! Do not think about skipping the breakfast as this was the most welcome service of it all. Well deserved 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived at Marrakech and were immediately conned by a taxi driver, for our ride to the hotel. We made the mistake of not agreeing a price with the driver. The conman pretended he didn't know English and grabbed our suitcases into his car. Once, the journey was under way he said it was 180 dirham, which is about 130 dirhams too much for a 15 minute journey. Make sure to agree a price with the taxi driver before boarding it. You should pay no more than 100 dirhams, even though the true price is more like 50 dirhams.
The hotel itself is really nice and our standard room was adequate. However, our first night was ruined by some hotel staff cleaning the tables and chairs outside our balcony with a jet washer at 1am in the morning. We spoke to the management the next day and they said that they were not meant to be cleaning at that time of night.
There's a nice heated swimming pool and the entire hotel grounds are nice as you'd expect from the 5 star property. However, only the gym is free in the SPA area. Steam, sauna etc. are chargeable. The prices are a bit ridiculous.
The breakfast is very French. Even though there's plenty of choice and lots of healthy options, being British, I missed the full English breakfast.
It's 15 minutes walk to Medina, where all the madness start at dusk. You cannot walk past a stall, food place or anything without getting hassled. If you take a picture, they demand payment. It was all a bit too much in the end for me, in the end. After experiencing the madness for couple of nights, we decided to stay and relax at the hotel for the remainder of our 4 night stay. You probably don't need more than 3 days in Marrakech. Two nights would suffice.
We asked the concierge at our hotel to arrange a taxi transfer to Agadir and were quoted 220 Euros. So we declined politely and booked something for nearly half the price (115 Euros) with Taxido.net online. The Wi fi is free at the hotel and is reasonably accessible.
My lasting memory of Marrakech will unfortunately be the harassment we got in and around the Medina square area. Beggars start grabbing your arms, as do the street food stall holders, to pull you into their stalls. Not to mention some performers on the square demanding money because I took a picture. It was rather aggressive and I just paid them some money to get the scumbags off my back. We've been to other countries in this region (Egypt, Tunisia, Turkey), but never have we witnessed such incredibly aggressive behaviour by the local people. Nice, is NOT a word to describe these conmen and vagabonds. I am refraining to using profanities in my review.
In conclusion, I would say Sofitel hotel is a fine place to stay, Marrakech is not a place I will be returning anytime soon, or even my lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastsideMassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely hotel, 15 minutes walk from the medina but a million miles away. After the hustle and bustle of the souks it was really quite lovely to wander back to this little oasis. The pool area is gorgeous, plenty of day beds to lounge on. Standard rooms are a decent size and with a lovely balcony.
Breakfast is a treat, seriously good.
The service isn't bad but on Moroccan time.
The Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial shares the same common areas and pool but the accommodation in the Sofitel Lounge and spa is much better.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olm, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our vacations from 22 November 2013 to 29 November 2013 at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa Marrakech. The hotel is beautiful and not far from the Medina. Its location made it easy to get to the souks and other sites in the old city. The swimming pool area was well staffed with lot of space for sun bathing. Spa and gym were first class and well equipped

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Particularly 1) Sarah at check in time in the reception ws very helpful, caring and friendly
2) Kamal and Rashide in the breakfast room - Le Jardin were very friendly, helpful and attentive.

Currency exchange service offered at the reception was at very competitive.

Staff and the food in L'orangerie would require bit of improvement. Quality there was not unto the usual standard of Sofitel. Bed Rooms should be vacuum cleaned daily cleaning

The day time concierge was not very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IkramShakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had a wonderful stay (7 days) at Sofitel in Marrakesh! As soon as I arrived I was almost seduced by the beauty and attention to detail everywhere. The hotel is just gorgeous and the pool area absolutely stunning. The location is great only a short walk to the medina.
There is an army of staff everywhere and thy are extremely polite and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is anything you could hope for and more.
The room was luxurious with all the comforts, cleaned twice daily.
I would definitely return, it's worth it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nektarios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#107 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing