We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Far from the madding crowd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #119 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely hotel, 15 minutes walk from the medina but a million miles away. After the hustle and bustle of the souks it was really quite lovely to wander back to this little oasis. The pool area is gorgeous, plenty of day beds to lounge on. Standard rooms are a decent size and with a lovely balcony.
Breakfast is a treat, seriously good.
The service isn't bad but on Moroccan time.
The Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial shares the same common areas and pool but the accommodation in the Sofitel Lounge and spa is much better.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    681
    230
    118
    98
See reviews for
441
970
80
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olm, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our vacations from 22 November 2013 to 29 November 2013 at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa Marrakech. The hotel is beautiful and not far from the Medina. Its location made it easy to get to the souks and other sites in the old city. The swimming pool area was well staffed with lot of space for sun bathing. Spa and gym were first class and well equipped

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Particularly 1) Sarah at check in time in the reception ws very helpful, caring and friendly
2) Kamal and Rashide in the breakfast room - Le Jardin were very friendly, helpful and attentive.

Currency exchange service offered at the reception was at very competitive.

Staff and the food in L'orangerie would require bit of improvement. Quality there was not unto the usual standard of Sofitel. Bed Rooms should be vacuum cleaned daily cleaning

The day time concierge was not very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IkramShakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had a wonderful stay (7 days) at Sofitel in Marrakesh! As soon as I arrived I was almost seduced by the beauty and attention to detail everywhere. The hotel is just gorgeous and the pool area absolutely stunning. The location is great only a short walk to the medina.
There is an army of staff everywhere and thy are extremely polite and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is anything you could hope for and more.
The room was luxurious with all the comforts, cleaned twice daily.
I would definitely return, it's worth it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nektarios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic stay at the Sofitel, room, spa facilities and staff friendliness excellent. A big thank you to Fatima Zohra, Rachida and Rabii for looking after us and Chef Abdela for the lovely food! Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa. The hotel is beautiful and not far from the Medina. Its location made it easy to get to the souks and other sites in the old city. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Especially Hicham, Rachida, Fatinzehera, Quefi and Hakeem. The gardens and pool were lovely. When we had an issue with our room, the staff fixed it immediately and came back to check to make sure everything was alright. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again the next time I'm in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pool and the gardens. You have more sun and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech during a 2 week small group tour of Morocco. We typically do not stay in large, upscale hotels, but found the Sofitel excellent. The buffets which are usually so hum drum at most large hotels, were just outstanding. The dining room decor was elegant and the choices that the food stations offered were staggering. I could not help taking photos of all of them! The service was also excellent with free WiFi and the front desk even offering to make change when we needed smaller bills and coins (a rarity, we found, in Morocco). The location was excellent for visiting the souks, walking to both the medina and into the new town as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent 6 nights in the Sofitel Lounge and Spa in Marrakech last week while there for conference. The fact of the matter is this hotel looks great from the lobby and public areas, but the rooms are just standard hotel rooms.

Check in was a disappointment since I arrived at 3pm and my room wasn't ready until after 5pm. Considering that check out is 12pm and that check in is 3pm, this is just unacceptable.

The room itself was neither a disappointment, nor a surprise. Very standard size and furnishings. There was a flat panel TV, but this is standard everywhere now. The Bose stereo system was a nice touch - it was easy to charge my phone and listen to my music at the same time. The workspace was adequate, although the chair at the desk had no back. I would prefer an actual office chair. Nice big bathroom, but still didn't have a separate bath and shower. Water pressure was terrible. Worst thing about the room was the bed. It was so horribly soft that I had serious back pain every morning. For some reason they soften it up by putting a feather comforter on the mattress. You sink into this thing like its quicksand. Horrible, horrible bed. One of the worst hotel beds I have ever slept on.

The breakfast was very good - everything you could want. Coffee's pretty awful, but I accept that Moroccans might like their coffee that way. I had the buffet lunch on my first day - barely ate anything, was ridiculously expensive. 50 Euros for a nothing fancy buffet.

Public areas in the hotel are very nice and very fancy. Its a shame the rooms aren't renovated to reflect the opulence of the property in general.

Location is very good - its a 5 minute walk to the Medina, and its also in the middle of the action in the Hivernage area.

All in all I think this is a good place for you if you want to stay in a property that feels 5 star, but you don't have the big money to pay for a real 5 star hotel. It is after all significantly cheaper than other 5 star hotels in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#153 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing