We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #115 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Sofitel is a gorgeous hotel with spacious rooms and a fantastic pool area. We stayed here for a week in February and were greeted upon arrival with delicious mint tea and refreshing towels. The hotel is located within walking distance to many great restaurants. We were even able to walk to the souks from here. The drinks are very expensive. However we found a grocery store, also within walking distance that sold everything from food, to liquor and beer. We had breakfast included in our rate. it was very good but sometimes it took awhile to get coffee. and when we requested bottled water to drink at breakfast, we were given a pot of hot water for tea. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our breathtaking view from our room of the Atlas Mountains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    661
    226
    115
    89
See reviews for
427
941
77
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent staff and service especially achraf from the palais darkum Always helpful and smiling. The food was the best Moroccan traditional available, two pools one heated and on cold with a nice fire in the evening. And top up on those complementary freebie drinks in the lounge and 11.30am at poolside

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zed147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the sofitel in February for 4 days and where impressed by the staff, the location and the restaurants and pool. The staff are very polite and attentive, whilst the restaurant food is delicious and tasty, although very overpriced. The pool was beautiful and there is choice of 2. Location is brilliant in the new city, circa 10 mins from the airport and 15 min walk to the old city square. Only issue is that we had a room where the air con was not working and the portable device did not work well - so good luck in the hotter months.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with working air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJA0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here on business/ pleasure in November 2008. Lovely, grand hotel with really attentive staff.
Rooms big and plush and great room service. Pool area very relaxing. Spa treatments also very good.
Hotel only a very short taxi ride from the souks.
As work were paying for the trip dost didn't really come into it however I understand that the hotel is quite expensive. If you have the money to spend however I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the lounge and spa side and we didn't regret , it's the modern part of the hotel , the room are spacious and bright with a modern decoration , we had a beautiful pool view . The breakfast buffet was amazing , And there is a beautiful restaurant called orrangery that I would recommend . The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff , I want to give a special thanks to all the staff of the hotel especially Saad from the reception , farah from the garden and nisreen from the room service who spoke perfect English and was very attentive and helpful .

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa in September and I could not have been happier with my choice.

I was travelling alone, and as this was my first visit to Marrakech, I wanted to make sure that I stayed somewhere close to the hustle of the medina, but also removed enough that if I wanted a quiet day to relax by the pool I could do that as well.

The hotel is conveniently located in Hivernage and a short walk from the gates of the medina. It is situated in its own grounds and has two lovely pools. Upon arriving at Marrakech airport I was met by the hotel limo and driven directly to the hotel where I was greeted by the guest services manager. As I arrived slightly earlier than standard check in time, I was shown around the hotel and facilities and invited to relax by the pool while my room was being prepared.

The room itself was spacious, with a HUGE bed and decorated in a Moroccan style. The bathroom was big as well and very clean.

The pools are lovely and the perfect place to chill out. Make sure you get there early though as it can get quite busy, and you might have to get a lounger further away from the pool.

The hotel also boasts a number of restaurants and a nightclub. The food is of a good standard, and not overly expensive. I was also lucky enough to be invited to a private event hosted in the night club, with a special guest of honor...whom I met. All done very well and I greatly enjoyed the night.

All in all the hotel was very good, what you'd expect from an international chain such as Sofitel, and the staff were very attentive. If you are travelling to Marrakech for the first time I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great 5 days at Sofitel Marrakesh. The rooms are large and comfortable with big balconies and the facilities are excellent. Pool heated to 30 deg for winter bathing. The best aspect though was the friendly and attentive staff. We had dim lighting in our room and when we commented on this they put in additional lighting within the hour. My wife had a birthday during our stay and the hotel provided roses, a birthday cake and a tray of goodies. Excellent buffet breakfasts. Can't compliment them too highly. The only reason I do not rate them 5 star is the exorbitant cost of the spa. But you can find alternative facilities down town at half the price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#105 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing