We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Moroccan Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camel Safaries

Camel Safaries
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour to Essaouira from Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the beauty of Moroccan cities, mountains, and deserts that will captivate and inspire you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Moroccan Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friend and I recently returned from Morocco and went on the 4 day/3 night desert tour with Camel Safaries. Our initial research proved most companies in Morocco follow a similar route so we based our decision to go with Camel Safaries on their friendliness and communication through many email exchanges. Ali, the company owner, was exceptional with answering our numerous questions, responding to emails in a timely manner, and providing us with enough information to feel comfortable and excited for our adventure. Our tour was scheduled with Mohammed and Hamid; they were/are a great team. Each of them have their roles, Hamid, the driver was excellent. Never once did I feel unsafe or uncomfortable being a passenger in the car. Mohammed, the guide, is incredibly knowledgeable and thorough in his understanding and explanations about the various sites along the tour. His expertise is not only tour specific but any questions or curiosities asked throughout the journey Mohammed knew the answer. He is so very kind and always a gentleman. Hamid and Mohammed never rushed us and even allowed us to deviate from the scheduled sites to take in other experiences we saw along the way (a local village street market). The team’s kindness never stopped even after our tour ended. We made new friends in Morocco. Anyone who is planning a trip to Morocco must book a tour with Camel Safaries and even, if possible, request Hamid and Mohammed as your guided team.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ACW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelSafaries, Manager at Camel Safaries, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. It was nice to accompany you during the trip and get to know you in person! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful country! Hope to see you back some time in the Futur Inshallah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morocco vacation with Camel Safaries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our last night in Morocco- we leave tomorrow morning at 2 am from Marrakech to catch a flight in Casablanca. Ali has someone arranged to get us to airport on time...This is just an example of how wonderful Ali Oussou has been throughout the trip. I shared our itinerary with friends who have been to Morocco and they cant believe how much we have seen and enjoyed in just one day: all the imperial cities, the high Atlas mountains, the beautiful valleys and gorges in the south, camel safari and night in Sahara! But we never felt rushed or exhausted because it was so well organized. The Riads were beautiful and we couldn't have asked for better food at each meal. The price very reasonable but the highlight of the highlight of the trip is definitely the warm, friendly hospitality of Ali. It made a huge difference to no French and Arabic speakers to have someone like him through out the trip and explain the wonderful history and culture of Morocco. I would recommend that you check out Camel Safaries if you are planning to come to Morocco.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Baishakhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fantastic Camel Safari with Ali & Team!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Thank you Ali and your fantastic team for making our first trip to Morocco one of a 'lifetime'! Your expert guidance and easy nature brought light and humor throughout our journey and eased any worries we may have had as first time visitors. We saw and experienced so much on our way to the desert that we almost could not believe the tour 'could' get any better. Then we met our camels (Omar Sharif & Jimi Hendrix) and our wildest expectations were eclipsed! It has been three weeks since our return and we continue to fondly reminiscence about our great adventure! We look forward to the opportunity to return again with family and friends to join in on your incredible tours!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sebek_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sleeping under the Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We heard of Ali, Camel Safaries through a friend. So when we arrived to Morocco we called him to set up a desert trip. He picked us up at the Riad and off we went. We took this trip out to the desert with Ali, a driver and 2 other people we be-friended on the trip. It was a beautiful drive into the desert, stopping along a few towns to explore and eat. The drive deeper into the desert was very hot. At one point we pulled over to chase a huge yellow lizard. It was quite fun. Once we arrived we each got into a camel and Ali put us into the care of a guide who took us into the desert sand dunes to a camp site which was already set up. There we settled in. We played music with our guide, drank wine, and the guide made us an amazing Tagine in the desert sand. The best I've had! We all decided to sleep side by side outside under the stars because the tents felt very dark. At some point in the middle of the night we saw comets and shooting starts.... We watched the sun come up and then we prepared to explore a bit before returning to meet Ali. It was amazing! I did however think, if our guide happens to drop dead, how would we leave this place??? I guess Ai would have come for us. :) It was one of the best experiences ever.... And Ali is great. Very informative, fun and accommodating.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Famsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelSafaries, Manager at Camel Safaries, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
That great to hear you had a wonderful time in Morocco and your Desert Trip with Camel Safaries was your highlight. I appreciate your kind review and I'm looking forward to see you back again! In fact I had a wonderful time with you guys! Brad and Lili was interesting people to share the tour with. Good Luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Imlil Day tours and trekking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thank you and your staff very much for a delightful and highly enjoyable trek. Jamal is a good Mountain guide.He did a great job and the trek around Toubkal exceeded my expectations. Thank you for your terrific service

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Verate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelSafaries, Manager at Camel Safaries, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate your kind review about Camel Safaries regarding your Day tour to Imlil with Our Mountain guide Jamal. We are so glad that you are happy with our service and you enjoyed your trek..Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camel Safaries also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Camel Safaries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing